Penny & Christopher Jan

  • Royaume-Uni
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (2)

Top Workawayer

Voir ma vidéo de profil

Please accept marketing-cookies to watch the video.

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, nous sommes

    en voyage

  • Description

    Hi, Penny and Jan here.
    Having both quit our full-time UK desk jobs in February we have spent the past few months fulfilling a lifelong dream travelling around southeast Asia.

    We love discovering new places, meeting interesting people and experiencing different cultures. Whilst we have done all of the above over the past few months backpacking we would love the opportunity to step off the tourist path and see more of the world from a different perspective; learning new languages, trying different types of jobs, developing new skills and hopefully forming great friendships.

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Soin des plantes
    Sports d'équipe
    Dev. personnel
    Dev. durable
    Activités en plein air
    Dessin et peinture
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Cuisine et alimentation

    montrer plus
  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Turc: Courant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    Ce workawayer a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa ou ses propre(s) langue(s) ou en apprendre une nouvelle. Veuillez le contacter directement pour en discuter.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Ça nous intéresse :  

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aider dans une ferme
    Aider à la maison
    Accueil / tourisme
    Entretien général

    Nous avons des connaissances :  

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Travail associatif

    Nous pouvons apprendre aux autres:  

    Projets artistiques
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    - Both creative and have a good eye for design - we both studied design and engineering degrees and together set up a business making and selling our own handmade products (
    - Practical - there is no DIY job to big or small once we have a saw, screwdriver, hammer and paintbrush.
    - Great cooks - we have some great British, Italian and Turkish dishes up our sleeve and are interested to learn about local dishes and food.
    - Enjoy gardening and being outside - experience working in the UK and Turkey
    - Hardworking and quick learners!
    - Both very physically fit - we both have experience working in manual labour jobs.

    Work/Study Experience

    🖥️ Senior Project Engineer - Koolmill Systems, UK - 2.5 Years
    🛠️Founder of DIYWomen Workshops - UK - 1 Year
    👩‍🔧Masters in Product Design Engineering (MEng) - University of Glasgow and Glasgow School of Art, Glasgow - 5 years (Distinction)
    🇨🇳 R+D Engineering Intern - Mettler Toledo, China - 3 months
    👷‍♀️Event Crew - Gallowglass, Scotland - 1.5 years (manual labouring, setting up and disassembling events/equipment)
    ⚙️ Mechanical Design Engineering Intern - Pubinno Inovasyon, Istanbul - 3 months
    🙋‍♀️President of FemEng (Female Engineering Society) - Glasgow - 1 Year
    🦾 Handprints e-NABLE (3D Printed Prosthetics) Publicity Manager - Glasgow - 1 Year
    🇮🇳International Citizen Service VSO Volunteer - India - 3 months
    🏊‍♀️Lifeguard/Swim Coach/Children's Counsellor - Camp Eagle Hill NY, USA - 3 Months
    🧹Accommodation Services Assistant (Housekeeping) - Gleneagles Hotel (5 Star), Scotland - 3 Years
    🍷Bartender and Public Relations - Viper, Glasgow - 2 years
    🛍️Retail Assistant - Baxters, Scotland - 2 Years

    🖥️ Architectural Designer - Waldo Works, London - 2.5 Years
    👨🏽‍🎓 Masters of Architectural Studies - GSA, Glasgow - 1 year (Distinction)
    👨🏽‍🎓 Exchange student - Pratt, NYC - 5 months
    👨🏽‍🎓 Interior Design Student - GSA, Glasgow - 4 years (1st BA Hons)
    👷🏽‍ Event Crew - Gallowglass, Scotland - 1.5 years (manual labouring, setting up and disassembling events/equipment)
    🎪 Oxfam Festival Volunteer - WOMAD, England - 1 week (setting up temporary spaces,working in the shop, stewarding)
    📚 Oxfam Shop Volunteer - Glasgow - 3 years (working behind the till, stocking the shop, setting up window displays, customer service)
    📐 Architect and Design Intern - Waldo Works, London - 2 Months
    ✏️ Architect and Design Intern - Interior Visions, Bangkok - 3 Months

    What we have worked on together!
    👩🏻‍🎨🧑🏽‍🎨 wee stüdyo - UK - 2 years (designing, making and selling handmade colourful objects using 3D printing and Jesmonite)
    🪚🛠️🖌️ Pop-up bar - UK - 1 week (commissioned by a client to design and build a mobile pop-up bar for their drinks company)
    📱Shop Small Glasgow - 2.5 years (During Covid we built a social media brand and platform to promote small independent businesses in Glasgow)

  • Âge

    26 & 26

  • Autres infos...

    Having spent the last 2 years largely behind a laptop we are both hungry to get our hands dirty and hopefully work outside with people as this is our happy place.
    We love art and being creative!

    Penny - “I’m my happiest with a pair of goggles on swimming, getting lost in a book and making stuff”
    Jan - “I love music, design and sports, particularly football and F1!”

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial