Mark

  • Royaume-Uni
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (2)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    à la maison

    Ma prochaine destination :

    France - du Sep 2022 au Nov 2022
    Voir tout
  • Description

    Usually known as Fletch, I haven't spent more than six months at a time in the same place for over fifteen years, living, working and travelling in Switzerland, France, Spain, New Zealand and SE Asia. It's been planes, trains and buses. Living out of a backpack, suitcase, or both, depending on the circumstances.

    Winter seasons have mostly been spent in the Alps, filling various hospitality roles in ski resorts. Some years I have taken a break from this work, choosing to travel and enjoy the climate in the southern hemisphere.
    During the summer months, I was initially plying my trade as a mountain guide, but since 2014, I have been working for a UK company, at their outdoor activity holiday centres on the Costa Brava, and southern France, employed as Driver/Maintenance. Without guests for the 2020, 2021 and 2022 summer seasons, I have been fortunate to remain employed for some of the time, performing general site gardening and maintenance tasks that are numerous and varied. This will pause for a period from September 2022...

    ...so I'll be on the road again in my campervan conversion project, with the abandoned cat that adopted me seven years ago in Spain. I hope to find hosts to stay with during this time, close to nature, to enjoy the peace and quiet. (My time at nightclubs has passed!) I have a strong work ethic, prefer working outdoors and can do this independently or with others. In my own time I always have things to do. This winter there are some small changes to my campervan, the continuation of design projects and some upgrade work on my website.

    Before this nomadic existence, I wore a variety of hats at a small Horticultural Biochemistry company, developing organic nutrient solutions for hydroponic cultivation.

    My long-term goal is to buy some land, build a place to call home, and live off-grid, so I am always interested in learning more about this way of life and the challenges involved.

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Montagne
    Nature
    Camping
    Sports d’hiver
    Activités en plein air
    Vie en van
    Ferme
    Jardinage
    Dev. durable
    Animaux
    Animaux de compagnie
    Art et design
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Musique
    Photographie
    Astronomie
    Histoire
    Dev. personnel
    Soin des plantes
  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Éco-projets
    Pratique des langues
    Projets artistiques

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider dans une ferme
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide informatique / Internet
    Accueil / tourisme
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    During the several years working as a chalet manager, I put my observational skills and attention to detail to good use, ensuring guest rooms and communal areas were spotlessly clean. I also became a reasonably good cook, serving three course menus to families and adult groups of up to twelve people, and also catering for larger school groups.
    I have assisted a friend in New Zealand (4 months in 2016/17, 5 months in 2017/18), renovating his house and landscaping the garden. This included removing a WC and relocating the next door utility room to the garage, and then converting this new space into a bedroom, replacing an external porch with a new floor and exterior wall to the house, thus creating an interior seating area.
    In the garden, we built a number of retaining walls, creating a new lawn area and flower beds, and constructed raised wooden walkways, staircases and a decked seating area. In addition, my recent employment at holiday centres in northern Spain and southern France, has required me to use basic skills for the maintenance of grounds, accommodation and equipment.
    I enjoy physical labour because it helps keep me fit. I also have some IT experience, designing and building my own website.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    My French needs improving! I'm also learning Spanish.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    51

  • Nationalité

    British

  • Autres infos...

    I am particularly interested in conservation, sustainability projects and the environment. I prefer to be outdoors, and enjoy walking long distances (up to 3000km), on my own, carrying all that I need in my backpack, and camping wild along the way. You can read more about this by visiting my website. http://islandlimits.com

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      No

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      No

Feedback



Amis

Photos

Feedback