Nate

  • États-Unis
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Amis (1)

Profil relié à

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    en voyage

    Ma prochaine destination :

    South Carolina, United States
    Voir tout
  • Description

    Hello!
    n8 here- I'm a mellow, thoughtful, kind fellow who loves to learn and explore the universe! I enjoy quiet mornings with tea, journal and book, but also embrace dance parties and the infinite goof.

    I am pretty adaptable to my surroundings, and tend to observe and go with the flow rather than directing the show (I don't like being the center of attention). I am hard-working, but know how to relax when it is time. I have a community of amazing friends scattered throughout the world and we love to rendezvous when we can...

    I'm currently taking a break from the New York winter where I work seasonally on a small family farm and a world-class méthode Champenoise winery. My partner, Jillian, and I are driving our way down to Florida and looking to soak up some sun and saltwater. We would love to spend some time working and learning on a small-scale farm, preferably with a permaculture/biodynamic/sustainable bent.

    We'd also love to work in exchange for time on a sailboat and/or with an eco-tourism outfitter. We are currently traveling in Jillian's Subaru and are comfortable sleeping in our tent, or simple housing. Our schedule is quite flexible, and we're not due back to New York until mid- to late April.

    I've had a career working with wine and in restaurants (front and back of the house) for 15+ years, and am moving more in the direction of farming full-time (well, 9 months of the year which gives me 3 months for another passion- travel!).

    Farm life provides a much healthier lifestyle, and I take great satisfaction in both the labor and the fruits! I love to cook and ferment, and am constantly learning/experimenting with homesteading skills. I love most all animals, especially cats, working dogs, goats, mini horses, kune kune pigs, sheep, turkeys, and ducks. I have been studying herbal medicine for 3+ years, and am fascinated by plants...

    I am detail-oriented, and value simplicity and efficiency- "mise en place" is a concept/practice that has proven its value in my life- be it in the kitchen, behind a bar, on a sailboat, on a farm, on the road. I am patient and observe before jumping into an endeavor. I like to be shown what to do and how, but am a fast learner and enjoy the freedom to improvise on the spot...

    I am most comfortable in warmth, sunshine and salt water. I appreciate snow and mountains, but feel more at home on a sailboat, beach, or desert. I have explored much of the US, some of the Caribbean, and a little in Mexico/Canada and am excited to see more of the world! I speak passable Spanish/English, enjoy being shown different perspectives/cultures/lifestyles, and cultivate a practice of compassion...

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Plage
    Nature
    Camping
    Voile / bateau
    Sports nautiques
    Yoga / bien-être
    Cyclisme
    Danse
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Ferme
    Jardinage
    Menuiserie
    Dev. durable
    Animaux
    Animaux de compagnie
    Langues
    Architecture
    Art et design
    Dessin et peinture

    montrer plus
  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme
    Travail associatif
    Pratique des langues
    Projets artistiques
    Enseignement
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    English/Spanish, 5+ years farm experience, cooking/fermenting, light carpentry, painting, operating tractor/skidsteer, wine & beer knowledge, 15+ years in service/hospitality industry, sailing/boating, PADI certified, extensive repertoire of bad jokes, actually enjoy doing dishes...
    I have worn many hats:
    Counselor at an outdoor adventure camp for kids in Salisbury, MD
    Deckhand on a sailboat in the US/BVI
    Sommelier in a fine-dining restaurant in Santa Fe, NM
    Prep-cook at a French bistro in San Diego, CA
    Wine buyer for a boutique wine shop in Portland, OR
    Farm hand on an animal rescue farm on Maui, HI
    Caretaker of a 14 acre estate in the Blue Ridge Mountains, NC
    Bartender at a Tequila bar in Baja, Mexico
    Restaurant manager on Long Island, NY
    Farm-sitter on a biodynamic farm on the Eastern Shore of Virginia

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    Interest in all languages, especially practicing Spanish and learning ASL

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    39

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      no

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      no

Feedback

Amis

Photos

Feedback