Lauren

  • Royaume-Uni
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    en voyage

  • Description

    Hi! I'm Lauren - I'm 28 and from the South of England. I really love people and animals and have been lucky enough to work in schools delivery wellbeing sessions with Daisy, the therapy dog (ideal colleague!). At the moment I am also tutoring English online to adults and children all over the world. I really enjoy teaching languages and meeting people from different cultures!
    I enjoy travelling and seeing new places especially when I can spend longer somewhere and see more than just the busy tourist parts. I much prefer to explore 'off the beaten track'! I also love waterfalls (A LOT) and have travelled to Iceland and Croatia just because of this!
    I've volunteered before in Kenya and Morocco and really enjoy hands on work especially when part of a team. After speaking to a Workawayers in hostels I immediately loved the sound of it. I've enjoyed the jobs I've had but think I would be missing out on a lot by continuing working full time and staying in England! i feel like I need to explore more!
    I stayed and volunteered on a Quinta in Portugal, helping water trees, cut back invasive plants, gardening and planting a food forest, painting a large mural with eco friendly paints, interior painting and cooking veggie meals. Also, generally living in nature and learning about permaculture.
    I have workawayed on vineyards in Portugal during harvest season - so I'm not afraid of hard work! This also involved working in a B&B, serving guests meals and drinks, room cleaning and general meet and greet/ customer service.
    I love to paint, sometimes patterns, florals and abstracts but I have taught myself calligraphy and lettering so LOVE to paint signs. My most recent workaway, which I will return to, was working painting signs for a campsite. (I have some photos!)
    I feel that painting / teaching English are my most valuable skills - and what I enjoy most!
    I am happy to help in other ways too :)
    Also I am triple vaccinated and also recovered from Covid in Feb 2022, so I am low covid risk!

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Montagne
    Plage
    Nature
    Voile / bateau
    Sports d'aventure
    Sports nautiques
    Yoga / bien-être
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Bénévolat
    Ferme
    Jardinage
    Dev. durable
    Animaux
    Animaux de compagnie
    Art et design
    Dessin et peinture
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Végétarien ou végan
    Culture

    montrer plus
  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    I'm trying to learn Spanish - but at the moment only on Duolingo! I'm very much a beginner but would love to learn more. I also would enjoy helping others learning English - particularly since trying to learn Spanish myself, I have a new appreciation for how tricky it can be!

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Jardinage
    Entretien général

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Tenir compagnie à une pers. âgée
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme
    Travail associatif
    Langues
    Aide informatique / Internet
    Enseignement
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Projets artistiques
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    I am very much a 'people person' and have experience in waitressing, bar work and working with the public in a friendly way.
    I have been working with dogs and children in my previous job as an animal assisted wellbeing practitioner and have had experience as a mentor for young people. I speak fluent English and would enjoy helping people improve their English - I've been told I'm very patient!
    I enjoy art, watercolour painting and calligraphy - so if there's any signage I could help with I'd love that. I have painted a mural in Portugal and would enjoy doing this again. I
    I really enjoy working as part of a team and find hands on work satisfying. This is something I've missed in my last job!
    When volunteering previously I did lots of different jobs around construction and plastering, this was a while ago so I am certainly not an expert! However, I did pick everything up quickly and really enjoyed learning new skills and getting involved.
    I would say I am a very positive person, easy to get on with, tidy, polite and keen to give things a go and learn new skills on the way.

  • Âge

    28

  • Autres infos...

    I'm a big lover of dogs and art - I've just recently started painting more and really interested to learn more where I can.
    I know I currently don't have many reviews on workaway and I'm more than happy to chat/ video call potential hosts as I completely understand it is a big deal to welcome someone into your space!

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      No

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      Vegetarian (will eat fish and not fussy/ strict - I don't mind others eating meat)

Feedback


Amis

Photos

Feedback