Origine: Royaume-Uni

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte individuel

  • ...


    Allemagne, Autriche, Belgique, Bosnie-Herzégovine, Croatie, Espagne, Hongrie, Irlande, Islande, Malte, Norvège, Pays-Bas, Pologne, Portugal, Roumanie, Suède, Turquie, États-Unis

  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    23.06.2017 - 31.03.2020

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    I have a dream of self sufficiency but need to find if it would be possible and practical. I am a retired nurse.
    With grown children I am out to enjoy my freedom with travel and new experiences. I am receptive to most ideas, even if I do not follow them in my own life.
    Home hobbies- gardening, seeking out bargains, doing up my own house-a recent course in interior design has taught me the principles though I haven't the money to apply them, I aim for a cultural day once a month!
    I am a background person and people watcher rather than the life and soul of the party.
    Since my first visit to help with an olive harvest I have had over 20 different adventures , and love the experience and the travel. I would love to find a community under blue shies(well bluer than UK) where I could join and share those old fashioned values of mindfulness. and a simple living. I do not count myself particularly spiritual but want to work with nature but not reinvent the wheel,.. hot water, effective heating and access to washingmachine are all essentials for me. I embrace technological developments to make life easier.

  • Type d'aide

    Aide aux personnes âgées
    Cuisine / courses
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Aide à la ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Travail associatif

  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    make all my own soft furnishings
    gardening can recognise british weeds as seedlings and have a theoretical knowledge of permaculture.
    fully competent with first aid
    had a great time helping with the olive harvest in mid Portugal during November and also spent a lovely fortnight in Italy June 2013 though the cherries failed this year- there was a very good crop of wild strawberries!.In these times I have made compost heaps, did some gardening-planting lettuce and carrots in November!!out of season for me. as well as weeding , hoeing and strimming, though I do require someone else for the pull cord. Helped gather the sheep and stack hay bales.
    I have helped on a farm during lambing-the maternity bit was not for me ; but I was quite happy mucking out the stalls and feeding the lambs.
    I also helped demolish the interior of a boat shed, so that a boat could be brought in for repair.
    Spent 6 months helping with changeovers at appartments for curists and tourists in the Pyrenees, and gained great insight into the hospitality business; a lot harder than it looks. my hosts made it look so easy. 2015 has been a busy year with gardening and an unorganised attempt at English teaching, at 4 different places in Spain, so returned to the garden again in Italy, before finishing the summer by lazing on a boat in Turkish waters as a companion. A wet and windy end of the year saw me helping out with B&B accommodation in Northumbria. bring on drier weather !!!!
    2016 Well not much drier than Tenerife 3 damp days in 6 weeks again helping out with cleaning accomodation. As a working mother of two now adults, housework and daily organisation is very familiar. Eviction of the hundreds of spiders in Italy did not phase me! and just did the same again at my sons accomodation in Wales. A trip to the USA did not quite work out as planned but I met 3 lovely host families which turned out to be as satisfying. House sitting in Bulgaria and Italy. Curtains in Ireland where I was introduced to spiritual aspects of life that I have engaged more in since. Fence painting and picking poo from the fields in Cornwall, Gardening in Spain and Italy,
    i have made repeated trips to hosts in France and Italy and although they and their homes are lovely I have lost y heart to northern Spain.
    I have a lifetimes experiences with human nature, and have a quiet competence. I am happy working independently, but at the same time am happy to receive direction as I know for many and myself- nobody else will do the job as good as you yourself.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    Spanish: Courant
    French: Courant

  • Âge


  • Nationalité


  • Autres infos...

    I am just looking to achieve a range of experiences that will sustain me in later years. Retired from regular employment my time is not so constrained, and would appreciate longer stays to get a greater flavour of the locality. I have recently started travelling out of Britain and am interested in travelling anywhere- but preferably with a bit of sunshine. I do not mind working hard and am willing to try most things as it will be completely different from my normal routine. As they say a change is as good as a rest!.
    I consider myself low maintenance BUT do requirehot water and the accommodation heated to 17C while I am there, by whatever means.
    I am very grateful to those who have already hosted me, and hope I have left as positive impression with them as they have with me.
    Unfortunately languages do not come easy to me, and I end up not learning much more than please and thank you.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      no- very limited alcohol intake