Erin

  • États-Unis
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Information du profil

  • Mon statut

    en voyage

  • Description

    Hello there! I am an environmental engineer that has 14 years work experience in the oil refinery and oil&gas industry as an air quality compliance specialist, working with computers and in processing units. I'm especially nerdy with MS Excel and have hosted a lot of training using MS Powerpoint when needed. I was a licensed P.E. and have previously managed staff as well.

    About 10 years ago, I agreed to help my best friend with her publishing project and consequently became familiar with book editing and layout in MS Word as well as tax reporting for a small business in the US that never seemed to make money. I also published a book of poetry! During this time, I traveled a lot, planned a lot, moved several times, and edited children's books for a friend of mine. I also became a certified yoga instructor.

    About four years ago, I left my career behind to be an environmental Peace Corps Volunteer in the Philippines. I worked on environmental education in the local schools and generally tried to convince anyone who would listen to make less non-biodegradable trash and start composting. I also worked closely with an organic farm near where I lived on various projects, including establishing a tilapia fish pond, constructing a seed nursery, and learning about mushroom production and creation of saleable mushroom products. I learned about seed saving, the importance of heirloom varieties, and the need for resiliency in the face of a changing climate.

    My two years in the Philippines inspired me to continuing learning more, especially in the realm of agriculture, and I would like to use this workaway experience to enable that learning process. So far, I've worked at a Buddhist retreat center, an olive/cherry farm, a yoga retreat center, a goat dairy farm, a wilderness/adventure lodge, and sold honey/bee-related products through this site. I'm looking forward to meeting you and trading skills!

    PS I grew up on commercial construction sites, as I was raised by a busy dad, so I'm comfortable with tools and construction but not especially skilled.

    I've also been around dogs and/or had my own dog responsibility from childhood until moving to the Philippines. Now that I've made it back home, I'm loving the dog companionship!

  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Jardinage
    Tenir compagnie à une pers. âgée
    Accueil / tourisme

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Travail associatif
    Pratique des langues
    Aide informatique / Internet
    Enseignement

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    MS Office
    Planning and Organization of Data
    Writing
    Editing
    Dogsitter
    Environmental Education/Training
    Baking
    Cooking
    Googling

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Tagalog: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    Ce workawayer a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa ou ses propre(s) langue(s) ou en apprendre une nouvelle. Veuillez le contacter directement pour en discuter.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    40

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      No

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      Pescatarian/Vegetarian

Feedback



Amis

Photos

Feedback