Origine: Allemagne

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte individuel

  • ...


    Bosnie-Herzégovine, Grèce

  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    09.02.2018 - 01.02.2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello dear hosts,

    I am a keen traveller and volunteer and love getting to know a country and culture by living and working together with locals. I believe that by meeting each other in this way, with an open mind and heart and true interest in and tolerance for our similarities and differences we build lasting bridges of peace.
    I thrive in nature and simplicity and enjoy a balance of sharing in community and time alone. Some of my Inspirations are 'Peace Pilgrim', Anastasia (Ringing Cedars), indigenous cultures, Ecovillages, Permaculture, cocreating with nature intelligences and the many wonderful initiatives and people who make this world a wonderful and wholesome place to be.
    I was born and raised in Germany but have been traveling and living in many countries in Europe, Asia and Oceania since 1994. My 19 years old daughter Manuka was born in New Zealand and we have been living in Australia all her life. Since she has finished school now we are spending some time in Europe each doing our own thing.

    I have been exploring the richness of workaway life full time since February 2018, generally staying for several weeks or months in one place. I am currently sharing life with around 70 refugees - mostly families - and volunteers in a house in Bosnia-Herzegovina, teaching English and German and helping with whatever is needed. It's a precious time of growing understanding of the sorrows and dreams of my fellow humans. A time of deepening connections through the discovery of the common feelings and needs we share and enriching, mind-opening differences we have.

    When looking for hosts I feel particularly drawn to working with refugees, in the field of natural beekeeping (bee sanctuary), in wildness camps, in Permaculture or biodynamic projects or in alternative approaches to mainstream schooling.

    Some of my most treasured experiences in my life are:
    - international workcamps in Bangladesh and India in my early 20s
    - 7-month tour in 2012 with the choir and music group 'Wayfarers Australia' in Australia, Asia and Europe,, together with my daughter. We taught and performed music and musical theatre in Steiner Schools and elsewhere and made deep and most heart-warming connections with our amazing hosts in each country.
    - walking the Camino de Santiago from Geneva to Santiago de Compostella in 2015, for which my daughter joined me on the second half.

  • Type d'aide

    Baby-sitting / garde d’enfant
    Aide aux personnes âgées
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Cuisine / courses
    Aide à la ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux
    Travail associatif
    Aide avec les langues
    Projet artistique

  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    I trained as a peadiatric nurse. I resonnate most with a holistic approach to health and have worked in an anthroposophical hospital (Rudolf Steiner) and anthroposophical home for young people with disabilities.
    I have also studied TCM and Shiatsu for a year.
    I studied Steiner education and worked as a class assistant at my daughter's Steiner school. I play various recorders, some guitar, can knit, crochet, felt, sew, love cooking and baking, organising things, experimenting with new ideas,, hiking, the outdoors, building things, learning new skills,...
    The last 2 years I was part of 'ACT for bees' a Canberra based group who educates about the importance and health crisis and needs of bees and pollinators. During this time I have developed a deep love and respect for these amazing insects and have built with a friend several native bee hotels.
    I have also had the pleasure to assist for 2 years my dear friends at the l'Arche community in Canberra, a community for people with and without intellectual disabilities.
    What I really love is working in the garden. I am a self taught gardener and have learnt lots through trial and error, friends and books. I have set up lots of vegetable patches but have still much to learn and also things to share in this regard.
    During many volunteer experiences over the last 32 years I have tried lots of new things, from building work, farming, sheep milking and cheese making to co-managing a Vipassana Meditation Centre for 6 months, caring for the dying, teaching recorder, music and swimming and assisting in Steiner Kindergartens etc. I enjoy learning, learn best through doing and love taking initiative and working autonomously where this is appreciated as well as working as part of a team.

    I have a driver's license but do not feel comfortable driving unless it's short distances in the countryside with little traffic or on the farm.

  • Langues parlées

    English, German, French

  • Âge


  • Nationalité

    German / Australian

  • Autres infos...

    As a response to the dire state of our planet and sad condition of animal farming I have chosen a vegan and where possible organic diet. I respect others' dietary choices and understand that in the vast ocean of things that need our attention to support our planet to thrive we each have our little niche that is particularly close to our heart and are able and willing to focus our energy. I celebrate each person's generosity and effort in their chosen area and trust that the pieces put together will make a wholesome world.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial


Touring with Wayfarers Australia 2012: Orkney Islands
On the Camino de Santiago 2015
Camino de Santiago 2015: Spain, with my daughter Manuka
Mein Bienenhotel
Workaway with Solawi Zabergäu 2018: buidIng a sand pit.
Solawi Zabergäu: Our international volunteer group.
Workaway at Baiereck 2018: Cuddly 'Nase' 😊
Baiereck: Breakfast Time! 😋
Baiereck: Autumn walk with Mucki. It's so beautiful here!
Baiereck: Morning routine in the horse stabile.
Cleaning out the sheep stable at the Mühle January 2019