Brydon & Channah

Origine: Australie & Pays-Bas

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte duo

  • ...

    Destinations

    Allemagne, Grèce, Pays-Bas, Portugal, Turquie

  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    01.02.2020 - 22.06.2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Notre statut

    en voyage

  • Description

    Hello, we are Brydon and Channah!
    We are both change makers and activists, currently embarking on a learning journey that is centered around regenerative practices and culture. We are both trying to build a vision of the future, and develop the skills to begin bringing it into existence.

    About us

    Brydon
    Last year i was doing a PhD in agricultural biotechnology in the hope that i could help improve sustainable farming practices, but as i began to engage more fully with the issues of our times, i began to realize that the problems of growing food cannot be addressed in the lab. So i resolved to learn more about regenerative practices through practice, so i dropped out of my PhD, and enrolled in a permaculture design course. Since then, i have spent some time WWOOFing on a few different farms in Australia, learning more about alternative living, growing food, and permaculture design. I have come to europe to continue this learning process with Channah.

    I am interested in continuing to learn more about permaculture, and community living, in both urban and rural contexts, as well as the intersection between these things and how they relate to changing society as a whole. So i'm especially interested in places that also engage in education and/or political activism as well.
    At the moment, i'm also specifically interested in learning more about agroforestry, food forests, and mushroom cultivation, and integrated system management.

    Channah
    Holadiyee, I just finished my bachelor degree Liberal Arts & Sciences. My focus in this was on integrating knowledge from different disciplines and worldviews – from engineering to social science, from technocratic thinking to environmental philosophy - to make urban communities more resilient and sustainable.
    The current plans solidified when I returned from a very impactful 8 months studying & climate justice activism in Australia (obviously there I convinced Brydon to come to Europe 😉 ). I realised it’s about time to complement all this academic learning with experience-based learning, and bring it more in touch with the heart and the hands, by enrolling in the “university of the world”. My overarching learning goal is: how do we build communities that are regenerative, place-based, contribute to social and ecological justice, and have the potential to transform the wider societal system?
    In this, I want to develop more knowledge and skills in these more specspecific topics I want to develop more knowledge and skills in are: community living, permaculture, radical inclusivity, (sociocratic) facilitation, non-violent communication, practical decolonization, growing food, construction and building.

  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Ça nous intéresse :  

    Projets artistiques
    Enseignement

    Nous avons des connaissances :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    Aider à la maison

    Nous pouvons apprendre aux autres:  

    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Brydon can give workshops/skillshare on:
    * An introduction to permaculture
    * Hollistic Decision Making
    * Mushroom Foraging and identifcation (if the season is right)

    Channah on:
    * Self-Organising Systems & Sociocratic decisionmaking
    * Deep Listening
    * Singing & violin

    As we have been learning together, there is obviously a large degree of crossover between our skillsets, so i have lumped them all together. As we travel , we are continuing to gather knowledge and learn, so our skillset is continuing to evolve and is in various stages of proficiency.

    - Permaculture design and systems thinking
    - Pruning fruit trees
    - Propagation
    - Caring for and loving animals, some knowledge about Natural Dogmanship
    - Market gardening
    - Basic construction
    - Basic mechanical repair and maintenance
    - Alternative technology
    - Alternative economy
    - Fermentations- beer, bread, pickles, cheese
    - Mushroom cultivation
    - Cooking ( we love to cook)
    - Organisation, facilitation and sociocratic decision making processes
    - Running workshops and presentations
    - Active listening & Nonviolent Communication
    - Sewing, knitting
    - Music and singing

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Allemand: Intermédiaire
    Hollandais: Intermédiaire
    Français: Débutant

  • Âge

    26 & 22

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      Mostly vegetarian

Photos

Feedback