Alexis & Victor

Origine: États-Unis & Colombie

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte joint

  • ...



  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    01.04.2020 - 09.09.2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Notre statut

    en voyage

  • Description

    **COVID-19-related note: We were both in MN with family from before the start of the US shutdowns until April 11, when we started at a small homestead in Albuquerque. We have been quarantined with them since then.
    We are a young, active, vegan/vegetarian couple traveling around in our van! Projects that interest us most are planting trees, gardening, cooking, animal care, and anything else physical and/or outside. Experiences that allow us to stretch or add to our spirituality are always a bonus!
    Small jobs along the way are our only income, so we generally go for placements that help us keep going financially, though we will take a week or so unpaid when a unique opportunity comes about. We are always looking to learn new skills to challenge ourselves, so we are not intimidated by trying something for the first time.
    (Since we live in our van, we do not need a place to sleep! We do feel it is the most fair trade-off for food for all three meals to be provided by unpaying hosts, even if we have to do the cooking. Oh, and we do like to shower sometimes.) :)

  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Tenir compagnie à une personne âgée
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider dans une ferme
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme
    Travail associatif
    Pratique des langues
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / Internet
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    We are both open to learning anything new. We like to work physically but have creative opportunities as well.
    Since we both worked on cruise ships for a few years, (how we met) we are extremely flexible* with schedules and activities changing by the hour. *Alexis will not be involved in the procurement of any animal products, but will feed and groom them. We both enjoy spending time with animals, but prefer working with plants. Other than this, we are really up for anything!
    Alexis is a licensed Health Teacher with nearly a decade of experience with children in some capacity, but wants to try something new. After university, she moved to Korea to teach English. Upon her return, she was a substitute teacher of all ages and subjects while also working with kids and adults with a range of different/disabilities, Next, she worked in the Kids' Club/nursery onboard cruise ships, and most recently, she taught English online to students in China while backpacking around Europe for 8 months. (One-year return to ships, then purchase and renovation of van!) Alexis can check/update grammar of profiles or other documents if desired.
    Victor has worked many jobs in a variety of fields, mostly sales and communications. After high school, he was in the Colombian Police Force before starting on ships. There, he worked in different sales departments; his favorite was in the art gallery. He speaks multiple languages and loves to practice them with anyone he can! Victor's greatest skills to be utilized are his attention to detail and persistent focus toward a goal. Any technological, organizational, or cleaning task given will be executed thoroughly.

    **Workaway-specific experience: With past hosts, we have done: weeding, (of beds/gardens as well as general property weeding) weedwhacking, planting of seeds and transferring of smaller plants into gardens and beds, watering, construction of planters/large beds with power tools, painting, and more!

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    Spanish: Courant
    French: Courant
    Italian: Courant

  • Âge

    28 & 26

  • Autres infos...

    In between work experiences, we like to hike, bike, swim, kayak, read, write, cook, learn languages and instruments, meditate and practice yoga, and cook some more.
    We enjoy discussing poetry, philosophy, spirituality, space, travel, you name it!
    We love games! Board games, card games, word games. We keep several in the van at all times. Victor is a chess champion. Alexis almost always wins Connect 4, though.
    Other preferred sedentary time passers include reading, writing, coloring, yarn crafts, etc. We are not screen people.
    Besides Workaway, we are also frequent users of TrustedHousesitters to enjoy a bath, bake using an oven, wash our clothes, freeze some bananas, and cuddle other people's animals. We use Couchsurfing, Meetup, and Facebook groups to meet other travelers. We try to mix up our experiences to enjoy the areas we visit, the people in them, and the beauty and excitement made possible by the way we travel.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      Between vegan and vegetarian. We only volunteer with non-paying hosts who offer all three meals (or at least "raw" foods in the fridge and cupboards with which we can cook.) We will pay for some food/meals with a paying host.