Unna & Eemeli

  • Finlande
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (4)

Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, nous sommes

    en voyage

    Notre prochaine destination :

    United Kingdom
    Voir tout
  • Description

    To clarify the matter, the profile is shared with my mother due to the fact that in 2018 we travelled with her together in South-America but Right Now I am looking for volunteer work alone :)

    I am 19 years old second-year media-student. I study Game Art; game design, game graphics, audiovisual communication and beyond (2D and 3D art skills working in video game projects) but the studies includes also making media productions and services etc.
    At school, a big part of our studies includes working with a computer. And we use a lot of English in our studies.
    I speak English so and so, but I want to become better and that's why I am taking private lessons to improve it.
    I have studied some Swedish too

    I am taking now a gap year since I'm really not sure yet what would be the best field of occupation for me.
    I am polite, honest, responsible and trustworthy, and I think I have a good sense of humour :)

    I love to go to the cinema a lot, I relax by walking in nature. I enjoy swimming and I have done some interesting woodwork too, like carving knives. I also enjoy taking photos of everything I find interesting around me. Sometimes in my spare time, I like to just sit in a coffee shop and spend some time, drinking my favourite cafe latte. It's just great!
    I like meeting new people, and look forward to working with new friends, to exchange experiences and culture.

    I have a very big passion for animals. We have always had dogs at home so they have a very special place in my heart. We have had many rescue dogs too. It's very rewarding just to be with them, give them some extra love.

    I think it is important to see a different kind of life and work, especially while young. I'm interested in all kinds of work, but I would like to learn new skills. I'm not afraid of hard work!
    I believe it is important and rewarding to get different experiences for the benefit of my future and to become the person I want to be.

    Unna, 55,
    I am an artist, mainly a painter, but I also draw and do some photographing.
    I have 4 children: two adult girls (aged 30 and 27) and two younger boys (21 and 19).
    My youngest son Eemeli is still living at home
    I try to live respecting our planet earth and have done my best to raise my children to do so too.
    Dogs have always been a big part of our family. We have often had also street/ rescue dogs from Spain; dogs who are abandoned, mistreated, even tortured. Fostering a dog is very rewarding.
    We have also had a farm with horses and sheep and I have also worked milking with cows. I love working with animals
    I am a happy, caring, trustworthy and responsible person. I enjoy good company, good coffee and long, thoughtful conversations - I think these things can make the world a better place.
    I keep being amazed by all of nature´s wonders and its inhabitants, biodiversity. I think it is very important that we understand and respect each other as human beings, and our colourful cultures, because everyone is unique and special.
    I love to learn new skills, to get new experiences and meet new people. I want to understand life and planet earth, our home, more.
    I want to help other people and give from myself the things and blessings that I have received from others.

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Yoga / bien-être
    Animaux de compagnie
    Art et design
    Dessin et peinture
    Végétarien ou végan
  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Ça nous intéresse :  

    Travail associatif
    Pratique des langues

    Nous avons des connaissances :  

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider dans une ferme
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / Internet
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Currently, alongside my studies, I am working in Kino Tapiola which is a great arthouse cinema as an assistant for their cashiers and projectionists.

    2015 I started fostering street dogs as volunteering work in Finland
    2016 summer I worked in a pet accessory store.
    2017 I did plastic covers for boats as a summer job. I also worked in a supermarket shortly.
    2018 I was volunteering in South America
    2019 summer I worked in elderly care, mostly spending time with the elderly, as a summer job.

    I have done some general cleaning for neighbours for some extra earnings; I have cleaned stairs, corridors and saunas.
    I love being around animals. We have always had dogs and we have fostered many rescue dogs from Spain over the years.
    I’m interested in all kinds of work and I am not afraid of hard work. I wish to get experiences and learn new skills,
    I get along very well with smaller children.

    Summer 2018
    - Peru: in a dog shelter for 5 weeks.
    - Ecuador: in a Guesthouse for 4 weeks. There I did maintenance work, helped in the kitchen making and serving breakfast and general assistance with tourists.
    The Guesthouse was also an unofficial dog/cat rescue shelter.
    - Ecuador Banos: 2 weeks in backpackers hostel; there I cleaned the rooms and did other things related to the work of the hostel.

    I can teach art, help people to express themselves, and to see things differently and from a different point of view.
    I have worked at a farm with cows, chickens and sheep, even horses. I am not afraid to get my hands dirty – I love it!
    It's so rewarding to see what you have achieved and who you have made happy at the end of the day.
    We have lived in the countryside for several years, so I have spent a lot of time building and renovating our country house.
    For several years I was a football coach for young kids, and obviously I played football myself too. I have worked as a recruiter for UNICEF, and while there I learned how to get along with different kinds of people. I have also worked in a coffee shop for a while and done some housekeeping in a hotel. I have worked in two rescue dog shelters, and I have experience from my own dogs too :)
    I have worked for an organization for handicapped people as a volunteer. It was an amazing place, a huge biodynamic farm, where I was responsible for one household with seven handicapped adults. My tasks included I preparing dinner, organising events, administering medications, shopping and taking care of the house and the people in general.
    My WorkAway experience:
    2018 we were in Peru and Ecuador for 6 months with Eemeli: first in a dog shelter for 5 weeks, then Ecuador Guesthouse for 4 weeks. The Guesthouse was also an unofficial dog/cat shelter.
    And lastly two weeks in Banos in a hostel.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Finnish: Courant
    Sami: Courant
    Allemand: Intermédiaire
    Swedish: Intermédiaire
    Espagnol: Débutant

  • Âge

    57 & 21

  • Nationalité


  • Autres infos...

    We love WorkAway!!

    We think it is very important that we understand and respect each other as human beings, and our colourful cultures, because everyone is unique and special. And we want to help and give the blessings we have received from others.

    Eemeli: Instagram @turku_O_O , facebook
    Unna: Instagram @unnaelisabethgirs, @unnagirs and @avointaidekoulu

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      Unna is Vegetarian