Alison

Origine: Royaume-Uni

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte individuel

  • ...

    Destinations

    Tous les pays

  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    15.03.2018 - 15.04.2018

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • Mon statut

    à la maison

  • Description

    I'm a translator and occasional writer from the UK, aged 60. Over the past 18 years I've worked as a volunteer all over western Europe (initially for the WWOOF organisation on organic farms) and in a couple of countries in eastern Europe, as well as in India and Nepal. Having worked for many different hosts, I'm well used to getting on with other people and fitting in with their lifestyles.
    I grew up in the wilds of Wales so I'm not bothered by isolation or tough conditions. I've done farm-sitting and house-sitting in the UK, France and Italy and am happy to work on my own when required.
    As well as travel, my interests include writing, reading, cinema, art and architecture, and hill-walking. I like to cook (particularly vegetarian/vegan and making preserves and desserts). I'm always very interested to experience new cultures and ways of life.

  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Travail associatif

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Entretien général
    Éco-projets
    Accueil / tourisme

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Jardinage
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider dans une ferme
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Pratique des langues
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    As a long-term Workawayer, WWOOFer and HelpXer, I've had experience of animal husbandry (sheep, goats, pigs, cattle, horses and ponies, hens), gardening, crop care, woodland clearance, strimming and brush-cutting, etc. I've worked as a lambing assistant for 2 months (2009, Gloucestershire) and 6 weeks (2011, Cornwall) in the UK, and on goat farms in Ireland, Spain and Wales.
    I've helped out several times in B&Bs in Italy and France, too: my first experience as a helper was spending 4 months in Tuscany as a kitchen assistant/chambermaid/gardener. I've also learned a good deal about growing vegetables, flowers and some fruits from working on an allotment in England.
    My native language is English; I speak good French and Italian and a little Spanish. I have an English teaching qualification (Cambridge CELTA) and am happy to help hosts and their families improve their English. I also have first aid certificates and a driving licence; I've recently learned how to use a sewing maching and upcycle clothes, and I'm always keen to learn new skills.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    French: Courant
    Italian: Courant
    Spanish: Débutant

  • Âge

    62

  • Nationalité

    British

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      Mainly vegetarian but very flexible.

Feedback