Thomas & Sarah

  • Belgique
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Amis (2)

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, nous sommes

    en voyage

    Les activités qui nous intéressent :

    Currently in Portugal helping a family with natural building. We're really interested in natural building, permaculture and wood work. Towards the end of May we're heading to Picos de Europa in Spain.

  • Description

    Hi we're Tom and Sarah!

    We're a couple of ten years, and have been spending the best part of a year exploring Europe in our van. We've had great fun hopping about everywhere but are learning the best way to really discover a place is to spend some time there. So here we are on workaway...

    We both love the outdoors, and love outdoor sport. At the top of the list are wild swimming (even when its freezing), trail running, hiking and climbing.

    The main purpose of our trip was to find a new place to settle that fits our outdoor lifestyle, where we can live in companionship with nature. We'd love to learn more about permaculture, sustainable living and have the opportunity to sharpen up our DIY skills. Helping you puzzle through your project and learning with you would be a real pleasure.

    We're independent, responsible, social and open, and as a couple bring a variety of different skills with us that we could share with our host. We also have bucket loads of energy, so where we might be lacking in experience we definitely can make up for with enthusiasm. We're also two individuals, so here's some brief highlights that make us who we are.

    Up until 2018 Tom was working as regional manager across Belgium and the Netherlands in retail. No longer finding value in the work, and after going through an early midlife crisis, he quit and cycled from Antwerp to India. When he got back, he started his own small business teaching his passions to others: yoga, natural movement and breathwork.

    Sarah worked eight years as a photo and film producer in Antwerp, and spent a lot of time both in the office and travelling across the globe to produce advertising images and films for brands. The pandemic gave her a bit of time to think and pause, and she realised she was ready for a break.

    So, we set off in April 2021 to get some new inspiration for how we can shape our life going forward.

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Montagne
    Plage
    Nature
    Camping
    Sports d'aventure
    Sports nautiques
    Sports d'équipe
    Sports d’hiver
    Yoga / bien-être
    Cyclisme
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Vie en van
    Bénévolat
    Ferme
    Jardinage
    Dev. durable
    Animaux
    Langues
    Art et design

    montrer plus
  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Ça nous intéresse :  

    Jardinage
    Éco-projets
    Aider dans une ferme
    Travail associatif

    Nous avons des connaissances :  

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Accueil / tourisme
    Enseignement
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / Internet

    Nous pouvons apprendre aux autres:  

    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider à la maison
    Pratique des langues
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Tom
    Having spent 11 years in management and leadership, I have strong communication, leadership and organisational skills. I really enjoy bringing out the best in people, and whilst this made me successful in my career it also translated really well in to teaching yoga and movement, and hosting workshops and retreats.
    From end 2019 until April 2021 I ran my own business teaching yoga and movement. I know what it's like to work independently without the support of peers, and to keep myself motivated through goal setting. I also learnt a lot during the pandemic about being flexible in the way I could interact with my clients.
    Outside of my professional experience, I developed a lot when I left my career job in 2018 and went bicycle touring for a year from Belgium to India. I learnt the value of hospitality and of sharing what you have even when you don't have much to share. I learnt to be self dependent, but also to ask for help from complete strangers when I needed it, and this brought me so many rich experiences. In this sense, I know there's a lot behind an individual, and I love meeting new people and discovering what they've experienced in life.
    I love to cook, and have done so since a young age (my dad was a chef and got us involved from the time we could chop veggies). I love to share what I've learnt in sport and movement, but above all I like to learn new ways to challenge myself. I'm particularly interested in learning more about managing a garden so I know where to start when one day I get my own.

    Sarah
    During the eight years I worked as a photo and film producer, I have developed excellent planning and organisational skills. I'm also a strong verbal and written communicator, and know the ins and outs of using social media as a platform for promoting a business and interacting with clients. I was also responsible for budget and financial planning, so I'm very comfortable around numbers and an excel sheet.
    I travelled a lot during my career, organising and managing shoots in many different countries in and out of Europe. I am patient, and confident in working with changing teams and new people.
    At the moment, my personal interest is in finding a new way of life. Travelling by van with Tom is a way to gain inspiration for a new place to settle. I also have a dream to start my own small bed and breakfast one day so me and Tom can host people and share our way of life. I'm looking to learn how it all works, and want to immerse myself in a place that shares my values where I can learn all aspects of hosting guests.
    I really enjoy keeping a space tidy, clean and organised, whether that's at home in our apartment or in a tiny space like the van. I love finding creative, homemade and eco-friendly ways to make a space more efficient and comfortable. Working as a waitress when I was a student in a small fine dining restaurant helped develop these skills. Environmental awareness has always been very important to me and I take this with me in everything I do.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire

  • Âge

    37 & 31

  • Autres infos...

    We're very active and love sports! We always jump at the chance to get involved with something new, and love to share what we already do. That is: climbing, cold water swimming, yoga, handstanding, meditation, breathwork, trail running and hiking, snowboarding.
    Sarah is also an aspiring amateur DJ, she doesn't need any encouragement to get people up and dancing!
    We're specifically interested in learning more about permaculture, sustainable living and sharpening up our DIY skills.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial

Feedback

Amis

Photos

Feedback