Elliot & Hannah

Origine: Royaume-Uni

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte duo

  • ...

    Destinations

    Espagne

  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    01.07.2017 - 15.08.2017

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • Notre statut

    en voyage

  • Description

    Both of us are teachers from Yorkshire, Hannah has been working in a care coop designing, developing and delivering social impact curriculum across the UK, Elliot teaches Maths and has lots of curiosities in Data, Programming, Coding, Systems and Complexity, Fungi, Trees, Ecology, Conservation. We're easy going folk, never afraid of trying something new and interested in exploring where ever we find ourselves and usually laughing as we do.

    We are both very interested in learning more about how people can have a more sustainable lifestyle in general, especially agriculturally. Hannah has worked with permaculture at UK festivals and is interested in extending that experience through Workaway. Elliot has previously been involved in sustainability projects on a 2 year stint of volunteering.

    We are interested in long-term projects and short-term projects. Our intention for this second Workaway journey is to explore the British Isles and the communities and people that live on them with the hope of discovering somewhere we can relocate to. So, the longer the stay the better really because it would give us an opportunity to learn more about the local area, meet neighbours, make friends etc.

  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Nous avons des connaissances :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Tenir compagnie à une personne âgée
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux
    Pratique des langues

    Nous pouvons apprendre aux autres:  

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider à la maison
    Accueil / tourisme
    Travail associatif
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / Internet
    Enseignement
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Hannah: Poetry, singing, art in a variety of mediums, looking after animals. In previous projects I've been involved with cooking has been at the core of my role. At festivals I have managed the crew catering feeding up to 80 people 3 times a day. I was responsible for recruiting staff, ordering food, ensuring there was enough food, recruiting people to help out with tasks. Because of this I feel i've developed good skills in communicating, I'm very happy to try my hand at anything, learning as I go. Something I'm fascinated with is a more sustainable agriculture. I'm very passionate about learning more about this. Through my life I've worked alot with people, elderly and young so feel very able helping out with childcare/people care.

    Elliot: Previously on workaway I was involved in many different construction projects from the totally regular through to straw bale housing to building an earthship just from a manual. I wouldn't call myself an expert in any area but found myself capable at most things I turned my hand to and I am very happy to learn as I go. I'm also fascinated by the possibilties of a more sustainable agriculture although I have worked less in this area I have some skills and knowledge of plants/horticulture (and I can use a chainsaw). Obviously I like to think I am decent at maths teaching if this is something you want. Things I do in my own time which I am happy to contribute with are music (saxophone, rapping, DJing), poetry, juggling, cooking, IT skills.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Français: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    We would both like to get better with our spanish.

  • Âge

    31 & 29

  • Nationalité

    British

  • Autres infos...

    We are both qualified teachers but we have become disillusioned by the education system and generally, the systems we are bound by...economy, work, food etc.
    So, we invest our time in the things that matter most to us; storytelling, story listening, reading, painting, singing, dancing, cooking, baking, walking, making music, foraging, laughing. Elliot loves to climb but hasn't been able to since Covid and climbing walls becoming risky places. We both love to travel and have explored many places.
    We are both interested in Social Ecology and Systems and Complexity thinking. Hannah has just finished a scholarship studying the latter.

    We both have a curiosity for exploring the British Isles and discovering local stories, meeting and learning from different people and communities and deepening our understand of the land and relationships with the planet and other humans. Part of our journey with workaway this time, is to explore places around Britain to help us find a place we might eventually want to re-locate to.

    Elliot loves board games, Hannah would rather paint or cook or listen to stories :) That being said, Han is very happy to team up with Elliot if allowed :)

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      Hannah is allergic to wasps and to penicillin

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback