Origine: France

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte individuel

  • ...


    France, Royaume-Uni

  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    30.09.2015 - 01.10.2020

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer

Watch my profile video

  • Mon statut

    en voyage

  • Description

    Returning to UK march 2020
    I have more than 30 years experience running my own small 'hands on' UK business concerned with renovation, alteration and repair (often to other people's DIY)😉 of old and new property. Others say I am good at recycling and innovating, but specific skills I have are: dry lining walls, carpentry, tiling, painting & decorating.
    Although 75 years old I am extremely fit and still walk at least 5 km almost every day.
    I read a lot, enjoy good conversation which for me consists of listening as well as talking, (which explains the 3 star review😉) I don't watch television, pay particular attention to real food and cooking.
    Returned to UK in April 2019, bought a van and spent the next few months converting it to a campervan, After a brief tour to Wales and East Devon, I will be crossing the channel on the 23rd of October in search of the 🌞
    Arrived in Fuerteventura December 15 2018 expecting to stay for a few weeks, but with interesting work, (See photos of The Shed) a most agreeable host, wonderful weather, I stayed 18 months!
    In 2014 I concluded that the particular rut I was in had become very boring and uninspiring so after much reflection (and even more anxiety) I decided to sell my house (privately, having made a website) give away almost all of my possessions (very 'uplifting'!) and go travelling. At first I was unsure how I was going to finance the high costs involved for accommodation and food but then a friend put me on to Workaway and I immediately realised here was the answer.
    During my five and a half years travelling I have visited several continents, met many interesting and inspiring people, and helped with many different projects from installing an IKEA kitchen, restoring antique furniture, creating a BnB website, to sweeping leaves cutting firewood etc etc.
    Please scroll down to read my reviews.
    I keep myself very fit by walking and cycling and access to a bicycle on workaway projects is always appreciated.
    My WhatsApp phone number is:
    07543 879 017

  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    S’occuper des animaux
    Travail associatif

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Tenir compagnie à une personne âgée
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / Internet

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Since joining Workaway I have been involved in: carpentry, plumbing, masonry, adobe earth plastering, tiling, painting decorating, wallpaper hanging, asphalt roofing, cutting, splitting logs, dry stone walling, dry lining, ... etc
    I am computer literate and have made websites which I have been able to get on the front page of google (that's the difficult bit!!)
    I cook and eat healthy food.
    I have worked as a 'leader' with UK Woodcraft Folk with young people from ages 7 - 16. While in France I was a volunteer at a playgroup for children from 5 - 9 teaching arts & crafts and English and also teaching English to adults and teenagers for three years one evening a week.
    For two years I was a part time volunteer warden at a hostel for homeless men with alcohol problems.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    French: Intermédiaire

  • Âge


  • Nationalité


  • Autres infos...

    I consider myself a gregarious person whose interested in, and enjoys talking to, people from 'all walks of life'. I genuinely believe that we can learn something from everybody we meet and although I am open to new ideas I am also open to new thinking on old ideas!
    I first went traveling when I was eighteen and hitch hiked with a friend across Europe to end up working on a kibbutz in Israel for 1 year before travelling on to other middle eastern countries. I caught the bug and spent the next four years traveling intermittently while working in the UK to fund the next 'adventure'.
    At the age of 30 I went with my wife and two young children to newly independent Zimbabwe where I was responsible for the Appropriate Technology Department of a rural training centre set up by English Quakers. (I am a Quaker 'attender') During my 2 years I initiated centre based and outreach courses of mud stove building which were incorporated into the training programme of local Primary Health care workers and low cost appropriate building methods as well as advanced thatching techniques more suited to the now sedentary local rural community.
    At 33 I spent a few months in Bangladesh helping on an appropriate technology project.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial


Hilltop historic town of Gordes in Provence
Fuerteventura March 2019
Demountable work bench made from recycled materials.
July 2015 France
Stripping out, renovation, decoration, installation of new IKEA kitchen
Cupboard made from new / recycled materials
Sept 2017 Squaring an arch
Carcassonne 2017
Fuerteventura shed 'before'
Fuerteventura shed 'after'