Saskia

  • Canada
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    en voyage

    Les activités qui m'intéressent :

    Love to share my adventures with others!
    Love to meet new people! (And inevitably be inspired by them)
    Love climbing, cross country skiing, running, and hiking!
    Love food!
    Love to dance!

    Ma prochaine destination :

    Portugal - du Nov 2022 au Déc 2022
    Voir tout
  • Description

    Hello everyone!

    My name is Saskia, and I am taking the next year to travel and volunteer in Europe and South America. I began my travels in Serbia, and have worked my way towards the West, spending time in Hungary, Italy, and now Spain! I plan to spend the month of November in Portugal, and then to end my travels in Morocco.

    I’m on Workaway to find opportunities to have a sense of home in new countries; to be able to put my mind and body to work; to be able to challenge myself; to be able to meet wonderful and likeminded people; and to be able to afford travelling for as long as possible.

    I grew up in a small village in Quebec (Canada), running around in bare feet and spending my days in the river that ran through the town. At eight, my family moved to Mexico City. Mexico brought upon a whole new way of life—I could no longer swim in the river, but could instead play with friends in the courtyards behind buildings; I couldn’t walk alone in the streets, but could instead roam around bustling markets with company; I couldn’t speak English to many, but instead worked on my Spanish…

    Coming home from Mexico City, I truly recognized the beauty of my hometown. I felt incredibly lucky to have friends and a place that felt like home in Mexico, and began wishing to both return to Mexico and to travel elsewhere. This desire has stuck with me. From the age of twelve my savings have been for travelling. And now I’m going to spend em!

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Montagne
    Nature
    Camping
    Sports d'aventure
    Yoga / bien-être
    Danse
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Bénévolat
    Ferme
    Jardinage
    Dev. durable
    Langues
    Dessin et peinture
    Écriture
    Livres
    Musique
    Photographie
    Cuisine et alimentation
    Politique/justice sociale

    montrer plus
  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    I am very interested in learning as many languages as possible! I've picked up languages quickly in the past. I am interested in teaching English.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Jardinage
    Travail associatif
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Accueil / tourisme

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Éco-projets
    Projets artistiques
    Aider dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    I am a very social person, and can both make friends and work with others easily!

    By far my favourite working experience has been tree planting (which I have done for the last two years). While tree planting, I would live in my tent for three months, spending nine hours a day working in land to replace cut-down forests. This job suited me well seeing as I was able to get extremely close with around forty five other tree planters (who were crazy enough to leave society and service behind for months!), and was able to push my body and mind as hard as could be.

    I also really enjoyed my time working in a museum as a guide and event organizer. This job involved a lot of socializing with strangers, and a lot of team work. As an event organizer, I became quite comfortable with being in a leadership position, but also knowing when to follow orders from others. I organized many music events (my favourite events to host), local foraging excursions with large groups, and meet and greets.

    One of my first jobs was working in a bakery, where I learnt to handle the pressure of a kitchen and to communicate efficiently with co-workers and customers alike. I’ve been working since I turned fourteen in order to travel after my studies!

    I am extremely driven and hard working, and have pushed myself to excel in all of my jobs and in my academics (95+ student).

    In terms of languages, I am fluent in English and almost fluent in Spanish and French (having gone through most of the school system in French and having lived in Mexico for four years). I'd love to learn more though, and know that the very best way to learn a language is to be immersed in it!

  • Âge

    20

  • Autres infos...

    For the last two years, I have lived in Montreal and have been studying Arts, Literature and Communications. I'm a huge fan of reading and writing and will absolutely bring books for exchanges!

    I am very interested in portrait photography, and have created a small business in Canada where I take portrait shots in exchange for art or a small amount of money--while travelling though, these will be FREE!

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial

Feedback

Amis

Photos

Feedback