Paul

Origine: États-Unis

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte individuel

  • ...

    Destinations

    États-Unis

  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    16.09.2020 - 31.08.2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Mon statut

    à la maison

  • Description

    hello future host(s)!

    After spending the majority of my life navigating the education system, as a student then educator, I am excited to embark on this next journey of learning and growth. I am eager to work with my hands and body to acquire life skills and experiences that I have wanted to but relegated as secondary. The global 'pause' of COVID-19 gave me the clarity I needed to finally pursue these interests and passions, and I am excited to learn all that I can from you!

    I am looking to spend at least the next year doing this, so longer stays welcome.

    I am an extremely inquisitive person who is open to learning almost anything. Some of the things I am most interested in: carpentry, woodworking, construction, bioconstruction, gardening, farming, alternative energy systems, irrigation systems, cooking, working with animals, sustainable living, and so forth. This list is far from exhaustive!

    I have a degree in Peace & Conflict Studies from UC Berkeley, where I also taught a course for a year, and have taught Peace & Conflict Studies at a high school in Jerusalem. I then worked at an NGO/research organization dedicated to sustainable development before deciding to move back to the US. I spent the next year as a server at a fast-paced restaurant. I grew up between California and Palestine, and have travelled in Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.

    I have positive energy and am full of life and love, and look forward to pouring them into my work :)

    My first workaway experience was helping to build an earthbag house, which involved 4-5 hours/day of physically demanding labor under the sun in the middle of August, with temperatures reaching 90+. Putting my body to work, as it was meant to do, is something I very much enjoy and look forward to.

    Can you communicate directly, respectfully, and clearly with me? Are you passionate about what you do? Are you ready to not just tell what to do, but also show me how and explain to me why?

    If it sounds like I could be a good fit, please get back to me or reach out!

  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général
    Aider dans une ferme
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Éco-projets
    Aider à la maison

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Pratique des langues
    Aide informatique / Internet
    Enseignement
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Though I have limited specific skills, I have all that it takes to acquire them. I am self-motivated, extremely inquisitive and excited to learn all that I can, smart, a critical thinker, a hard worker, passionate, in good health, strong, physically active, ready for a challenge, reliable, a great communicator, independent, a lover of the outdoors, and committed to learning the fundamentals of sustainable living.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Arabic: Courant
    English: Courant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    Ajoutez un commentaire ici pour indiquer aux autres membres quelles sont les langues qui vous intéressent

  • Âge

    27

  • Autres infos...

    Some of my hobbies include hiking, climbing, dancing, connecting with others, portrait photography, learning to cook healthy & tasty meals, and pondering the deeper questions of life.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial

Photos

Feedback