Mark

  • Australie
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    en voyage

    Ma prochaine destination :

    Australia - du Avr 2021 au Mai 2022
    Voir tout
  • Description

    (Only looking for Australian Hosts at the moment, when I have time off work).

    I am a husband to Trish and father of Lachlan, but travelling alone for workaway. During a normal week at home, I work in an office as a project management, but on my time off I make and fix minor and major projects around the house/garden for family and friends. I've been looking for adventures where I can experience a different culture and life experience and be able to help those that need it. I also try to incorporate items on my ‘bucket’ list while travelling (Eg. Free diving with whales, skydiving, jungle surfing, shark dive, seeing a live volcano, etc).

    As a project manager and DIY'er, I have attention to detail and provide the best result with the materials I have. I enjoy figuring out how to make and fix things. I have built garden beds, decks, large toy boxes, trellises for vines to grow on, work benches, a bike trailer for a kayak, wooden school desks, milking pale for goats, pallet wood corner seat with under-seat storage and much more. I have also fixed and repaired more things than can list. I also make small metal sculptures (planes, scorpions, car, etc) out of scrap/recycled steel which I sell in a Canberra shop. I have a photo portfolio of what I have built, upon request. I'm hoping to find a friendly relaxed host who allows me to work for them on the things I enjoy, while experiencing their life style, culture and country.

    Since 2020 (with limited travel opportunity) I have volunteered locally at the Wildlife Reserve, doing animal research counts, animal tagging, fence repairs, planting trees and assisting tour groups through the reserve.

    Pre-COVID, I've spent seven weeks in rural Cambodia volunteering at an English school and building a hostel with local and international builders. I enjoyed the culture, living in the back streets(although challenging at times), sharing the life style and learning from the Khmer people. I found their happiness and resourcefulness inspiring.

    I have also spent three weeks working on a miniature goat & cattle farm in Queensland Australia where I made and repaired many farm items/equipment, provided landscaping and cared for animals.

    During 2021 I spent one week working on a family in the Victoria High Country (near Tallangatta) doing property maintenance and job around the house and one week working at property in Sutton Forrest (a sculpture park) doing property maintenance and preparation for some sculpture installations.

    I can arrange references from these if you like.

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Montagne
    Plage
    Nature
    Camping
    Sports nautiques
    Fitness
    Cyclisme
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Bénévolat
    Ferme
    Jardinage
    Dev. durable
    Animaux
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Dev. personnel
  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Éco-projets

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider dans une ferme
    S’occuper des animaux
    Travail associatif
    Aide informatique / Internet

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    - I hold an Australian 'Working with Vulnerable People' card.
    - COVID-19 Fully Vaccinated. Certificate available via check-in app.
    - Qualified Project Manager.
    - Mig, Arc and thermal welding certificate (old, but the skills are still in use), long time DIY'er.
    A photo portfolio is available upon request of all the DIY projects I have built, some of which are listed in the "tell us about yourself" section above.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Âge

    46

  • Nationalité

    Australian

  • Autres infos...

    I'm happy to try any type of food and there's not much I don't eat. I like the outdoors and enjoy hiking, camping, swimming, mountain biking, wildlife, gardening and adventure. I am conscience not to consume my volunteer hosts time, so I can work independently in the background when required or in a group and I’m fine to rough-it and get dirty.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      no

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      no

Feedback



Amis

Photos

Photos concours

Feedback