Nicole & Gijs

  • États-Unis & Pays-Bas
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (4)

Explorer
Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Information du profil

  • Notre statut

    à la maison

  • Description

    We are an adventurous couple, who originally met in Budapest, Hungary in the summer of 2015 while traveling. Over the course of two years we maintained a long distance relationship between Czech Republic and Netherlands, during which time we traveled, camped, hitchhiked, and backpacked around Europe together. In 2018, we lived together in Prague, where we taught English and Elementary education. We like to spend our free time hiking/walking, camping, cooking (and even more eating!), practicing yoga, reading, learning, and attending music festivals. We are both eco & health conscious. We enjoy forming deep connections with our environment while exploring new places.

    We have been on the Workaway platform for quite some time, backpacking Latin America from Guatemala to Peru from September 2018 until February 2020. Our latest adventure finds us back in Europe, as live-in caretakers for a Bed & Breakfast in Amsterdam, where we have been stationed for nearly all of 2020. This has given us a tremendous amount of experience in running a hotel, as well as in organizing and hosting a variety of social events to support our local community of artists and in operating social media accounts. We also manage and operate a community urban garden attached to the hotel, as well. We continuously look forward to forging new friendships, embracing unexpected opportunities, indulging in novel experiences, and immersing ourselves in the cultures of the communities we will help & live in. :)

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Plage
    Nature
    Camping
    Cyclisme
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Vie en van
    Ferme
    Jardinage
    Dev. durable
    Animaux
    Écriture
    Livres
    Photographie
    Cuisine et alimentation
    Végétarien ou végan
    Politique/justice sociale
    Culture
    Histoire
  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Ça nous intéresse :  

    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux
    Travail associatif

    Nous avons des connaissances :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider à la maison
    Projets artistiques

    Nous pouvons apprendre aux autres:  

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Accueil / tourisme
    Pratique des langues
    Enseignement
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Nicole: TEFL certified, Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education, Food/Service/Hospitality
    Gijs: Bachelor of Science in Economics, Business, & Life Science, Food/Service/Hospitality, English teaching, Fluent in Dutch, English, Spanish

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    Nicole is a certified TEFL teacher and public school teacher. Gijs is fluent in: English, Dutch, and Spanish (with the ability to teach English)

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    40 & 25

  • Nationalité

    USA & Netherlands

  • Autres infos...

    Nicole enjoys writing and Gijs is persuing the world of circularity. He is currently leading a startup company which seeks to filter/circulate grey water/wastewater through a green "living wall" on the facade of residential, urban buildings. We are very passionate about sustainability, food sovereignty, and environmental justice.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      Nuts

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      Mainly vegetarian / vegan when possible

Feedback



Amis

Photos

Feedback