Monique & Greg

Origine: Canada

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte joint

  • ...

    Destinations

    Canada

  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    15.11.2020 - 30.04.2021

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Notre statut

    à la maison

  • Description

    Updated October 29th, 2020 ~ We are seeking short-term and/or long-term Winter and Spring opportunities. Please feel free to message about our specific availability.
    Our profile is also active on HelpX and Wwoofing. I apologize if you find our profile a little lengthy.

    Bonjour Hosts, Host Families and fellow Workawayers,

    We are a dedicated, respectful, honest, positive, hard-working and adventurous husband and wife team, seeking a short or long-term placement with a family, a couple or an individual. I am a Veteran and my husband Greg, a mechanic by trade, completed 6 years of employment on September 18th, as a quality control inspector/labour claims analyst with an after-market suspension parts company located in North York.

    Greg is now an FNTI/Canadore College student and is enjoying the Mental Health and Addictions program. Due to Covid-19, his program is delivered online, with one intensive and condensed course per week, thus 2 weeks of schooling per month. He is available to help for 2 weeks straight each month.

    At the end of April 2019, we relocated from the city to our seasonal trailer just outside of Orillia, and I must say it was the best decision for many reasons.

    From November 2019 to mid-May 2020, we were invited to reside with a local Host Family and very much enjoyed our busy time with them. We mainly worked outside in all types of Canadian weather, were primarily responsible for Fall yard work (16 acres of Maple trees!), clearing snow on 2 properties, light sanding and painting, house cleaning, decluttering and organizing, grocery shopping and meal prepping, laundry, dog sitting, occasional childminding, Spring yard cleaning, and last but not least, all tasks related to maple syrup production! Our time spent with this Host Family is an experience we will forever be grateful for. We had great talks with our Host, fun games of basketball with their son and were invited to go watch several of his hockey games!

    We would appreciate the rewarding experience of helping out another couple or a family, preferably at a resort or on a farm where we can continue to learn new skills and spend time with animals. We envision having our own homestead one day. At our seasonal trailer, I enjoy quiet time and tending to my herb garden, pepper and cherry tomato plants.

    Having spent my childhood years in a small village in Northern Ontario, I am an outdoor enthusiast, a 4-season playground and nature lover. Although Greg grew up in Mississauga, he enjoys small towns and like me, exploring the countryside. I love farms (who doesn’t?) and gardening, I love all animals and I love most people. Lolol Just kidding. Both Greg and I are very social and friendly people, and I would say I enjoy a healthy balance of solitude and interaction with others. We both have extensive experience in volunteering in various and diverse capacities.
    From my own backyard chickens and huge garden growing up, to mowing the lawn as a young child, to helping my aunt and uncle and cousins on their farm, I have some experience in the area of farming, but would like to learn more. I take my responsibilities and chores seriously and complete them to the best of my abilities with minimal to no supervision.

    In August of 2018, we were blessed with a lifetime opportunity to spend 3 weeks in Bosnia-Herzegovina! It was a memorable ‘journey’ back to 1994-95, where I had spent 6 months in the Mostar area, as a Peacekeeper at the young age of 22. We explored and ‘revisited’ many of the places where I had served during the Balkan war. We also spent a lot of the time volunteering at Nasa Djeca, a residential group home for former orphans and street youth. We helped with structured outdoor and indoor chores, meal preparation and gardening and picking fruit. We enjoyed fellowship and visiting with elderly neighbours, as well as taught basic english to the resident young adults and took them bowling!

    In the Fall of 2018, I enjoyed my time helping out at a small permaculture farm in Dundas, Ontario, as well as at a small poultry farm near Rockwood, Ontario.

    We are a Christian couple who love, love nature and continually strive to be good stewards of the earth and its' valuable resources. We are extremely grateful to live in such a beautiful province and country! We are thankful for our freedom too! We are family-oriented and are open-minded about discovering other cultures. We are respectful of and open to all faiths. We attend Church on Sundays. I very much enjoy cooking, food preparation and creating new dishes and Greg enjoys the challenge of fixing cars and minor home repairs, and is getting back into playing his guitar.

    We envision this new season in our lives to be an interesting chapter of travels, new opportunities for learning and for ‘giving back', and of challenging experiences and fun adventures! Our summer holiday this August was spent with a lot of alpacas - 81 fuzzy and funny ones - dogs and cats and a turtle, at a beautiful place named Old Mill Alpalcas. Unique experience and a lot of hard, rewarding work. We had 2 crias born during our time there! Our human friends are a little envious. Lol

    In October of 2020, we spent a fun and productive workweek with a lovely family of young children, at an apple orchard. We learned lots and are eager to return in the Spring.

    Thank you for your time and we look forward to hearing from you!
    🙂

    Warmly,
    Monique

  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Ça nous intéresse :  

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Éco-projets

    Nous avons des connaissances :  

    Jardinage
    Tenir compagnie à une personne âgée
    Aider dans une ferme
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / Internet
    Enseignement

    Nous pouvons apprendre aux autres:  

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider à la maison
    Travail associatif
    Pratique des langues
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    In addition to the above-mentioned chores that interest me, I would also like to offer help in the following areas:
    • decluttering/organizing
    • deep cleaning/light cleaning
    • conversation in French and English
    • cooking for small or larger groups
    • hosting theme dinners and small gatherings
    • fundraising
    • serving at community dinners
    • proof reading in French and English, and revising for grammar errors

    Greg would be willing to fix vehicles from time to time.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    French: Courant
    Bosnian: Débutant
    Spanish: Débutant

  • Âge

    48 & 45

  • Nationalité

    Canadian --> Monique: French-Canadian, originaire du Nord de l’Ontario. Greg: Born and raised in the Toronto area.

  • Autres infos...

    At this time, we are looking for a placement only in Ontario, within a few hours’ drive from Barrie.
    Dates of availability throughout the year can be flexible. Please don't hesitate to ask!

    Thank you,
    Monique & Greg :-)

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      no

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      Monique brings her own gluten-free foods

Photos

Feedback