Maria

  • Royaume-Uni
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (2)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    en voyage

    Ma prochaine destination :

    Costa Rica
    Voir tout
  • Description

    Hi everyone I'm Maria, my friends know me as Maz! I quit my job in the UK and sold all my belongings to fulfill a lifelong dream of world travel! I've always loved travel and experiencing new cultures. I've been lucky enough to visit Africa, Brasil, Costa Rica and Mexico so far on my journey around the world!

    I love the experience that workaway offers. Since I started my trip in May 2019 I have volunteered at a yoga retreat in Costa Rica writing marketing material for social media platforms and brochures. I've worked as a receptionist at a beach hostel checking guests in, keeping the booking system up to date, taking payments, cashing up and ensuring guests had a truly wonderful stay! I spent a month helping a super host at an air b&b in Queretaro Mexico, preparing rooms to a high standard, organizing laundry and greeting guests.

    I really enjoy the mix of community life and meeting people from all over the world; and I believe we can all learn something from each other.

    I'm drawn to natural, open environments and I love to be around nature. I've been part of volunteer schemes for animal/conservation projects while travelling and have found this a very rewarding way of giving something back to the environment and local communities. I've really enjoyed these experiences; I've learnt so much and made many new friendships :)

    My skills are in customer services and hospitality, project planning, writing content for marketing material, orgainsing and delivering events. I'm also fully TEFL trained to teach English and have a qualification with the TEFL Academy.

    In 2015 I decided to learn something new and started a course in swedish massage and foot reflexology. I'm now fully qualified in both of these and I've been able to offer this to guests where I'm staying as a nice treat!

    I signed up for workaway to have new experiences, learn about running a business and meet new people. So far it has exceeded my expectations and I've made many life long friendships.

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Plage
    Nature
    Fitness
    Yoga / bien-être
    Cyclisme
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Bénévolat
    Jardinage
    Animaux
    Animaux de compagnie
    Langues
    Dessin et peinture
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Écriture
    Films et télé
    Cuisine et alimentation
    Culture
    Dev. personnel
    Événements/vie sociale

    montrer plus
  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Jardinage
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Éco-projets
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme
    Travail associatif
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / Internet
    Pratique des langues
    Aider dans une ferme

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Enseignement
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Experience in the hospitality industry including customer facing and behind the scenes.
    Planning, organising and delivering events. Delivering projects, big and small!
    Writing content for business documents and marketing material, e.g., content for online/social media channels, newsletters, training material, press releases etc.
    Charity fundraising and promotion.
    Fully qualified in swedish massage & reflexology.
    Volunteer work with animal charities.
    Gardening and home cooking.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Âge

    48

  • Nationalité

    British

  • Autres infos...

    When I'm at home I love to cook and be with my animals (a Bengal cat and Staffy/Pit cross, both turbo charged!). I'm passionate about health and fitness, and feel my best when I'm eating tasty natural foods and moving around! I do have an insane sweet tooth though which always catches me out!

    I love to keep fit and active, and wherever I travel I try to join local classes, such as yoga and pilates, which is also a great way of meeting new peoole.

    I love animals! In my spare time at home I regularly help out at a local cat shelter and at the RSPCA walking dogs at the weekend and lending a hand with admin. I'm also a member of a group that fundraises for a local Alzheimer's charity.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial

Feedback



Amis

Photos

Feedback