Mary

  • États-Unis
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (3)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    en voyage

    Ma prochaine destination :

    United Kingdom - du Mar 2022
    Voir tout
  • Description

    𝐖𝐡𝐨 𝐚𝐦 𝐈 & 𝐖𝐡𝐲 𝐈 𝐓𝐫𝐚𝐯𝐞𝐥: My name is Mary and I’m a traveler, writer, and theater artist, although not always in that order! I travel slowly in order to broaden and challenge my understanding of the world, and form unforgettable memories. In life, we move cities, change jobs, enter and exit relationships. All those things happen during travel as well, but expedited. I like to think that traveling is a fast-forwarded version of real life, and consequently I learn myself and others at a much higher capacity. I bring to all my Workaway experiences my passion, drive, creativity, communicativeness, and hunger to learn.

    𝐖𝐡𝐞𝐫𝐞 𝐈’𝐦 𝐟𝐫𝐨𝐦: China (birth) → Canada (childhood) → USA (adulthood). Because I moved frequently as a kid, it’s impossible to pick the country I most identify with as home!

    𝐖𝐡𝐞𝐫𝐞 𝐈’𝐯𝐞 𝐛𝐞𝐞𝐧: All over Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Greece, Ireland, Netherlands

    𝐖𝐡𝐞𝐫𝐞 𝐈’𝐦 𝐠𝐨𝐢𝐧𝐠: United Kingdom in March 2022

    𝐄𝐝𝐮𝐜𝐚𝐭𝐢𝐨𝐧 & 𝐢𝐧𝐭𝐞𝐫𝐞𝐬𝐭𝐬: I graduated from University of California, Berkeley with a degree in English and minor in Theatre. I have a deep appreciation for the arts and storytelling, and love meeting other writers and creators! I’m also interested in spirituality, plant-based nutrition, the outdoors, organic farming, horses, yoga, and films.

    I love the city and the countryside equally and I love being stimulated by ever changing environments and people. I appreciate critical thinking and empathy probably more than any other trait in people, and being able to dive straight into a deep conversation with someone (skipping past the small talk) brings me endless delight.

    𝐇𝐨𝐬𝐭-𝐖𝐨𝐫𝐤𝐚𝐰𝐚𝐲𝐞𝐫 𝐫𝐞𝐥𝐚𝐭𝐢𝐨𝐧𝐬𝐡𝐢𝐩: I’ve found that I work best with hosts who communicate their expectations for hours and tasks early on. I know inviting strangers into your home can be weird and potentially vulnerable, so I'm more than happy to do a video chat or answer questions to gauge whether I'd be a good fit. In addition to reading feedback from my past hosts below, I invite you to check out my Couchsurfing profile: https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/mary-zhou-2. Click the References tab to read more reviews about what I am like as a guest.

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Plage
    Nature
    Fitness
    Yoga / bien-être
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Bénévolat
    Ferme
    Jardinage
    Dev. durable
    Langues
    Art et design
    Arts du spectacle
    Dessin et peinture
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Écriture
    Livres
    Films et télé
    Musique
    Cuisine et alimentation

    montrer plus
  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Jardinage
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Travail associatif
    Projets artistiques

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Aide informatique / Internet
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    𝐖𝐡𝐚𝐭 𝐈’𝐯𝐞 𝐝𝐨𝐧𝐞: Writing & editing (a lot of it!), website development, cooking, weeding, taking care of animals, nannying, cleaning & administration work at hostels

    𝐒𝐤𝐢𝐥𝐥𝐬 𝐈 𝐰𝐚𝐧𝐭 𝐭𝐨 𝐝𝐞𝐯𝐞𝐥𝐨𝐩: Knowledge of sustainable farming and animal care (in particular horses)

    𝐖𝐨𝐫𝐤𝐚𝐰𝐚𝐲 𝐞𝐱𝐩𝐞𝐫𝐢𝐞𝐧𝐜𝐞𝐬:
    I spent a month in Prince Edward Island (Canada) at a backpackers' inn and another month at a Newfoundland (Canada) hostel, where I cleaned rooms, made booking reservations, performed guest check-ins, and other office work.

    I then made my way to Toronto where I stayed with a single mom and helped her with painting, weeding, and house maintenance.

    In Edmonton, Alberta I stayed with a busy family of 4 and helped with cooking, cleaning, and walking their dogs.

    In British Columbia I performed housekeeping on a dude ranch, then moved to Vancouver Island where I took care of 30+ animals on a homestead. I also spent 4 months in Vancouver taking care of 3 year old twins.

    𝐉𝐨𝐛 𝐞𝐱𝐩𝐞𝐫𝐢𝐞𝐧𝐜𝐞𝐬:
    I have mostly worked in either editorial or marketing capacities at publishing houses and theater production companies. For anyone out there who is artistic or in need of someone with a creative mind, I’d love to help you! I’ve worked in many storytelling mediums, including screenwriting, playwriting, spoken word, journalism, and copywriting. See my full resume here: www.linkedin.com/in/mzhou94.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Débutant
    Chinois (mandarin): Débutant

  • Âge

    28

  • Autres infos...

    Favorite quotes:
    "Nothing is to be feared, only understood."
    "If heaven were to exist, I imagine it as a place where people love each other perfectly. And Earth is the place where we get to practice that."
    "Anything worth doing is worth doing badly."

    Favorite books: Little Women, Anne of Green Gables, Mrs. Dalloway, Fahrenheit 451, The Husband's Secret, The Great Gatsby, The Book Thief, Open City, The Nix, Conversations with Friends, 1Q84, Three Women, Untamed

    Favorite movies & TV shows: Mustang, Fruitvale Station, Cloud Atlas, American Beauty, Belle, Me and You and Everyone We Know, The OA, Gilmore Girls, Fleabag, Normal People

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      I'm sensitive to synthetic fragrance in detergents.

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      I loosely follow a principle of eating clean (no processed/refined foods). A few years ago I used to vegan, now I describe myself as a flexitarian.

Feedback



Amis

Photos

Feedback