Martin & Stella

  • Royaume-Uni
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, nous sommes

    en voyage

    Notre prochaine destination :

    Wales, United Kingdom
    Voir tout
  • Description

    We both love nature and being outside and are excited to be exploring parts of the UK (having recently left our jobs and life in Bristol) with the intention of buying some land to build a house and have our own growing space. We enjoy going climbing, walking and watching birds and other wildlife whenever we get the chance. We care about the environment and sustainable living and try to support small local enterprises where we can. We have taken part in volunteer days helping out at Sims Hill Shared Harvest, a community growing scheme in Bristol where we used to get our weekly veg box. We both really like cooking, baking and making tasty edible things with foraged fruits and seasonal vegetables!

    Martin - When I was a child I enjoyed helping on the family allotment which we ran on no-dig organic principles. More recently I’ve left my job to study sustainability at postgraduate level at the Centre for Alternative Technology in Mid Wales, and been part of the reserve volunteer team at RSPB West Sedgemoor in Somerset, where I’ve done lots of practical jobs such as coppicing, hedge laying, path maintenance and habitat management.
    I’d love to live and work in the outdoors more in the future, and am committed to leading a more sustainable lifestyle.

    Stella - I did WWOOFing while in Australia on a working holiday in 2009/2010 and found it a great way of seeing new places while learning more about the culture and meeting local people. I helped harvest veg and maintain growing spaces and learnt about beekeeping. In the last few years while in Bristol I have volunteered at Windmill Hill City Farm as part of the gardening team. Here I have been involved in the whole annual growing process of fruit and veg from planting to harvesting. This February to July I completed an evening course in organic gardening which included some outdoor practical sessions. I am a qualified textile conservator and enjoy making things. I have also recently got into upholstery and have completed several chair projects.

  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Ça nous intéresse :  

    Éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux
    Travail associatif

    Nous avons des connaissances :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aider dans une ferme
    Aider à la maison
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / Internet

    Nous pouvons apprendre aux autres:  

    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Stella - Gardening, growing, looking after chickens & beekeeping while WWOOFing in Australia. Volunteer for gardening team at Windmill Hill City Farm, Bristol. Completed course in Organic Gardening (Feb-July 2020)

    Martin - Studying an MSc in Sustainability at CAT. Volunteer with RSPB in Somerset doing various reserve tasks to include coppicing, fencing etc.

    Since we left Bristol in September and started volunteering we have helped clear and mulch vegetable beds, built a pond cover, built an apple arbor, built a raised wall and door for a fruit cage, organised several wood sheds to include log splitting, stacking and building a saw horse, carried out general farm/smallholding maintenance, repaired a dry stone wall and completed other garden tasks.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    Ce workawayer a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa ou ses propre(s) langue(s) ou en apprendre une nouvelle. Veuillez le contacter directement pour en discuter.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    41 & 37

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      Vegetarian (but eat fish)

Feedback

Amis

Photos

Feedback