Marissa

  • États-Unis
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Amis (3)

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    en voyage

    Ma prochaine destination :

    Italy - du Mar 2022 au Mai 2022
    Voir tout
  • Description

    I am a recent graduate looking to travel the world! Through my school, I've been able to take short trips to England, France, and Romania, and I also spent a semester studying abroad in Scotland. I've been wanting to get back to traveling ever since I left! I am open to going anywhere and doing just about anything.

    A large part of my interest in traveling stems from my interest in language. I enjoy studying linguistics and language change and I am eager to learn how to speak another language. I would love to share my knowledge of English with anyone who wants to learn!

  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Tenir compagnie à une pers. âgée
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Accueil / tourisme
    Travail associatif
    Aide informatique / Internet
    Entretien général

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Pratique des langues
    Projets artistiques
    Enseignement
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Service: I worked in customer service and retail for two years, so I am experienced in interacting with people and trouble shooting in these situations. These jobs also prepared me for possible behind the scenes work at hostels such as keeping organized documents and answering phones.

    Content Development: I wrote and edited my college newspaper for four years. In this role, I also created the layout of the paper using Adobe InDesign and Photoshop and created a news website on WordPress. I would be happy to use these skills to assist an NGO or hostel in advertising.

    Tutoring: I have been tutoring since high school. During my years in college I held campus jobs as a note taker for students with disabilities and as a consultant at the writing center. Since graduating, I have continued to work as a tutor for a company that has matched me with ESL students looking for help with anything from daily conversation skills to English proficiency test prep, and other students looking for help with middle school, high school, and college English courses. All in all, I have 8+ years of experience teaching varying levels of English grammar and have also worked with students on higher order concerns such as writing style, so I would be happy to work with beginner or advanced English-learners.

    Teaching: In college, I took linguistics courses that helped me understand the difficulties of learning a second language and a course focused on how to teach reading. After graduating, I got certified in Teaching English as a Foreign Language through myTEFL, which trained me in teaching strategies and curriculum planning methods. I also held an internship for which I created online learning content for middle and high school students by researching writing and rhetoric topics and then creating lesson plans that included activities, questions, and real-world examples for students to consider as a supplement to a video that I had created about the topic. As a tutor, many times I am more of a "teacher," as I create my own lesson plans for my ESL students.

    Childcare: I have had experiences working with children as a babysitter and through volunteer work. During my university years, I worked with a local elementary school to provide after school activities for children with working parents.

    Arts: I took dance lessons from the ages of 2-18 and continued dancing throughout college. I also have some knowledge of music from my family traditions and from my experience as an alto saxophone player throughout my years in grade school and college. In my free time, I love experimenting with ways to be creative such as painting and drawing.

    Animal care: I have experience taking care of birds, dogs, cats, bunnies, hamsters, and fish. I would LOVE to learn how to help with any other kind of pet or farm animal!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Italien: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    I can teach English and would love to learn any language

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    23

  • Autres infos...

    One of my main goals in traveling is to make connections with people from all over the world--so as a Workawayer, I would be sure to make the most out of any experience and truly value the people that are a part of it :)

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial

Feedback

Amis

Photos

Feedback