Marije

  • Pays-Bas
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (1)

Good Workawayer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    en voyage

  • Description

    Hi everyone, my name is Marije and I'm eighteen years old. I'm from the Netherlands and I’m currently in my gap year.

    Nature is something that always brings me happiness. Climbing in trees, rolling through mud, becoming one with the ocean and building my own shelter with a campfire. These are all things I loved to do as a child and still love to this day. I always had big dreams about saving all animals and becoming this cool biolistist who walks through the jungle and swims with whales. There aren't a lot of people who want to become the same thing as their 10 year old selves, but I guess I'm one of the people who does. The only part of the plan that has changed is that I found another study besides biology that I think brings me closer to my goals of saving nature. This study is environmental sciences. This study focuses more on all sciences related to environmental problems instead of only one. And because I’m so broadly interested this is perfect. My plan for next year is therefore to do this study. If I look furter in the future I think I will end up specializing in finding solutions to save the ocean. Although I love every part of nature and I want to learn as much as possible about all the problems that are going on, the ocean will always have a special place in my heart. There is just something about it that always draws me back to it. The quote “The best way to observe a fish is to become a fish” I can take a little too seriously sometimes. I will spend hours and hours snorkeling, watching the sea life, and recently I got my scuba diving license that brings me to a whole new world to explore. I also love to feel the energy of the waves while I’m surfing or feel the sea breeze on my face while I’m out sailing. I recently bought my own surfboard and I’m so stoked to get better at it. And slowly but surely I also get more experienced in sailing. When I was fifteen I joined a trip where I crossed the Atlantic on a tall ship and later I also sailed a week in England with the same ship. I’m also working on my skills in the smaller sailboats. I have a few beginner certificates and with my last workaway I also sailed a few times in Norway on different sailboats.
    Although I love the ocean I’m also passionate about bushcraft and survival which are more focused on the mainland. As a kid I would spend hours trying to make a campfire or build a shelter. And if I wasn’t doing that I was probably walking around looking for plants that would be edible or had healing powers. I loved to read as many books about those topics as possible and I even did a first aid course to be better prepared for if anything would happen. Although I really need to refresh my first aid knowledge I still dream about doing big expeditions where I would meanly rely on nature. Meanly for this purpose I also try to learn about the concepts of reading the weather and navigation with the stars. I started both journeys but I’m still far away from mastering those skills.

    As you might have already guessed, I love adventure and I'm a little bit of an adrenaline addict. The idea of jumping out of a helicopter or swimming with sharks actually excites me. I love everything that's active and I guess that's one of the things I am looking for this year. Being active in nature. I’m also quite used to hard work. When I was younger I did rowing on a national level, which meant training seven times a week with various intensity levels. I also just recently spent a few months in Norway where I helped clean up the coast. It was hard and tiring work, but it also gave me so much joy. Working outside with amazing people is just the best.

    From time to time I love to spend time with myself. I think it’s very important to become best friends with the only person that is going to be in your life forever. But I’m also quite used to living in big groups. In Norway I lived with twenty four people in one house and when I was fifteen I lived on a tall ship for seven weeks. This meant sharing a rather small place with a lot of people. And I know it can be hard at times, but honestly it’s my favorite way of living.

    The last thing I want to mention is that I’m very fascinated by living a healthy and sustainable lifestyle. I’ve been vegan for nearly four years now and I love to experiment in the kitchen with new recipes. Especially cooking with other people brings me a lot of joy. Apart from that I’m trying to teach myself the art of journaling, yoga and meditation, but I’m still in the early stages of that. So I’m very open to learning as much about it as possible. Also learning about permaculture and becoming more crafty (for renovating my own van or sailboat in the future) is still on my bucket list.

    There are so many more things I like and that might be relevant, but if I write them all down right now, it will become a little long-winded. This is why I will stop here. If you have more questions, feel free to ask them by sending me a message.

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Montagne
    Plage
    Nature
    Camping
    Voile / bateau
    Sports d'aventure
    Sports nautiques
    Fitness
    Yoga / bien-être
    Cyclisme
    Danse
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Vie en van
    Bénévolat
    Jardinage
    Dev. durable
    Animaux
    Art et design
    Dessin et peinture

    montrer plus
  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme
    Travail associatif
    Pratique des langues
    Projets artistiques
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    If I think about skills, I think about something you're excellent at. Something where you surpass others. So if I have to write down my own skills, I find it quite hard. Sure, I like a lot of things and there are a lot of things I have done in my life. But if you can call them skills? I don’t know.

    For everyone the word skills has a different meaning, so all the things I’m going to write down are from my own point of view.

    To start with one of my greatest skills (if I say so myself). I’m talking about the skill to learn. I love learning new things. It doesn’t matter if they are mentally or physically, I like both of them. My skills don’t really come in an order, but the second thing I can think of is creating new ideas. My mind is constantly thinking about everything and nothing, and although this is not always in my advantage most of the time it leads to pretty cool ideas. This is how I ended up making my own fantasy school in my head when I was young (and crazy enough I was late in reading Harry Potter). Teaching and presenting staff I’m interested in is also something I really like to do. For me it's all about sharing information and my own point of view in a fun and engaging way. After this I love to debate about other people's point of view, the meaning of life and other really interesting questions.

    Other skills I have, mostly have to do with water. The first one is swimming. I absolutely love swimming. I never really did competitive swimming, but I focussed more on rescue swimming and snorkeling. I even have my snorkling certificates. Most people are probably wondering why you need certificates for snorkeling, and my answer is simple. You really don’t, but my ten year old self was very happy with them. Another more useful certificate I recently obtained is my open water diving certificate. Which I’m really excited about. It allows me to explore the underwater world even more, and maybe one day I will even teach others how to scuba dive. Another skill is sailing. Yet again I have some basic certificates, but in the real sailing world they don’t really make a difference. I stayed on a tall ship for a total of seven weeks, where I learned a lot and I even did a kind of internship for bosom. So I’m not a beginner, but I’m also definitely not an expert.

    A few skills that are still really in the early stages are navigation with the stars, reading the weather and knowing that plants are edible or have healing powers.

    There are so many other things I like to do that might be considered a skill, but it’s just simply too much to write down. Maybe that's the last skill I will mention. The skill of loving a lot of things. From sports, to music, to other forms of art. You name it. And I can tell you that it’s an absolute gift to love so many things, but it makes deciding what to do with my time also a lot harder.

    These are all the skills I can think of for now. Of course it isn’t really in depth or I might have missed a few. So feel free to ask questions.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant
    Allemand: Débutant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    I would really like to learn spanish.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    19

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      I am vegan.

Feedback

Amis

Photos

Feedback