Karen & Vincent

  • Australie
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, nous sommes

    en voyage

    Les activités qui nous intéressent :

    travelling around Tassie for the summer, looking for a Workaway or two along the way :)

  • Description

    We are an adventurous/happy-go-lucky/down-to-earth Australian couple.

    Karen grew up in the Byron Shire in northern NSW on 15 acres. I grew up helping my parents grow food, and running around the paddocks, generally being a little bush kid. I am graphic designer/book designer/illustrator. I have run my own business for 10 years, and will continue to do so to a limited capacity while we are travelling doing workaways.

    Vinny grew up in Melbourne and has cooked professionally for the last 5/6 years, with a similar amount of years spent slinging beers behind the bar before that (whilst earning a bachelor's in IT/Business which he's decided never to put into use, as he likes to work with his hands). Despite growing up in Melbourne, he's always been fond of nature trips be them camping, hiking or just a day trip to the beach & got to spend half his Melbourne youth living in the gorgeous suburb of Warrandyte / visiting family in more rural NSW.
    Having worked in several medium-large establishments and seen first hand the food/plastics wastage that is prolific in the industry he is passionate about not working with businesses that have such poor environmental practices anymore. Making a move to get closer to farm to table cooking practices & learning to grow/raise his own produce, or at least gain a much better understanding of the processes is something he is very eager about... he'd also like to learn some building/restoration skills, as it is this area in which a career-change may lead him someday.

    We have been together for 4 years during which time we have mostly lived in Melbourne but also have travelled together quite a bit - be it backpacking on the cheap for months in Thailand/Malaysia, or visiting friends & family/ new cities around Europe.

    Our pre-covid plan for 2020 was to head to Canada on 2 year working visas, aiming to work (or do workaways) away from the larger cities... As that is no longer possible, we have decided we would like to spend the next year seeing some more of our very own country whilst meeting new people and learning skills.

    We both have a keen interest in learning about permaculture as we would like to one day have our own property where we can practise a sustainable life. Neither of us grew up with farm animals (Karen had chickens and a cow growing up but its been many years) so we are really keen to get involved and learn practical skills for farming & animal care. We are both also interested to learn some building & restoration skills as part of our dream is to one day build our own home together.

    We are both very empathetic people who value deep connections with people and a sense of community.

  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Ça nous intéresse :  

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux

    Nous avons des connaissances :  

    Jardinage
    Aider à la maison
    Aide informatique / Internet

    Nous pouvons apprendre aux autres:  

    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Accueil / tourisme
    Projets artistiques
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Karen:
    Graphic design
    Teaching design/software skills - I have run tutorials on how to use InDesign/Photoshop etc.
    Project management
    Gardening (I don't know a lot but I LOVE growing food and have had small herb/vegetable gardens in every house I have been able to since I was 19. I also have in built knowledge from growing up in the garden)
    Animal care - again, what I lack in practical experience I hope I make up for with a deep love of animals and desire to learn)
    Cooking
    Painting/drawing
    Sewing

    Vinny:
    Cooking (and inevitably cleaning kitchens).
    Barista/Bartending.
    IT/business - (although I've never worked in the sector, some of the knowledge has stuck around).
    Helping with Tourists (I've spent a summer working in a hostel in Budapest, helping guests with all their needs & queries about the city & it's sites, housekeeping, leading tours, etc.)
    Cabinate making - can't really claim this as a skill, but I spent a summer working with a cabinate-maker when I was 18 and thoroughly enjoyed the work :)

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Âge

    36 & 33

  • Autres infos...

    When not working we love card nights, digging into novels, beach time, river swimming, bush walks, listening to music, seeing live music, enjoying outside fires, camping and travelling.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      Karen is gluten free, but apart from that... we eat everything :)

Feedback

Amis

Photos

Feedback