Jason

  • États-Unis
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (2)

Top Workawayer
Explorer

Amis (1)

Information du profil

  • Mon statut

    en voyage

  • Description

    Fully Vaccinated and Delta Resistant

    I took time off to explore parts of the US I haven't experienced yet. For this trip, I'm focused on minimalism and people. I am hitchhiking for transportation as much as possible. Conversations with those who have given me rides has been endlessly fascinating, and their spontaneous selflessness and kindness inspiring. Also, I'm staying with people via workaway and couchsurfing to experience people's lifestyles, and facilitate an understanding of how their minds work. And in the process, better understand my own. One of my goals for this trip is to support a successful public policy career by better understanding the people policy is supposed to serve. That being said, I approach each person and family I stay with as a human and friend first, anthropologist second haha. I've also been making sure to have a lot of fun along the way. I started in Texas and have made my way up to MN. Where next? Whichever way the wind blows.

    I'm motivated by the opportunity to expand my understanding of people, how they live, and getting to experience their lifestyle with them. I treat journeys as an end in and of itself. I enjoy experiencing new geographies, both urban and natural. I am most happy when in the company of people who are living their full genuine, driven lives in freedom. My professional background is in geography and sociology, but I'm moving into policy/advocacy/local gov't. I'm clean, conscientious, respectful, adventurous, and openminded.

    I enjoy playing sports & games of all kinds, conversation, listening to stories, reading, learning, exploring, hiking and other outdoor activities.

    Being respectful of my hosts and their home is something I take seriously. It's important to me for both of us to feel all the better for the experience.

    https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/jasonwencak?action=show&controller=user_profiles
    linkedin.com/in/jasonwencak/

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Plage
    Nature
    Camping
    Auto-stop
    Fitness
    Yoga / bien-être
    Cyclisme
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Ferme
    Livres
    Cuisine et alimentation
    Politique/justice sociale
    Culture
    Histoire
    Événements/vie sociale
  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Travail associatif
    Projets artistiques

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Tenir compagnie à une pers. âgée
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Enseignement

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Accueil / tourisme
    Pratique des langues
    Aide informatique / Internet
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    I have experience with a variety of tasks, notably in agriculture and house renovation. I’m always open to working on new tasks and learning new skills. I also have experience caretaking elderly and young family members, and tutoring.

    Agriculture Experience:
    WWOOF France, 5 weeks: vineyard maintenance, cattle and pig feeding and maintenance of living spaces, built pig shelter, etc.
    Summer Camp Farm in New York, 1 month: harvesting, redesigning beds, stonework, drying and de-stemming herbs and berries, mulching, orchard maintenance, manure application, winterizing fields, etc. Gardening, planting, plant maintenance, etc.
    Goat Farm, North Little Rock, AR, 1 month: cleared goat field of dead trees, fed goats, donkey, llama, chickens, general farm maintenance, vegetable, fruit, and herb caretaking and harvesting, goat fence installation, animal habitat and shelter maintenance

    House Renovation Experience: Painting, door replacement, insulating, wallpaper and mirror removal, shelving installation, organizing/interior design, etc.

    Landscaping: Tree removal and pruning, hedge trimming, wood splitting, gardening, building garden beds, weeding, mulching, mowing, weedwacking, operating 20" chainsaw, reciprocating saw, auger, 8’ wide front loader, 4-wheeler, etc.

    Meal Prep: assisted with meal prep and presentation as a server and kitchen supervisor at a farm-to-table restaurant

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Français: Débutant
    Chinois (mandarin): Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    I'm happy to learn any language, practice French, Spanish, or Chinese with another learner, teach English or beginner French, Spanish, or Chinese.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    34

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      No

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      No, I like everything.

Feedback



Amis

Photos

Feedback