Ian

  • Royaume-Uni
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (1)

Good Workawayer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    en voyage

    Les activités qui m'intéressent :

    Currently near Barnstaple in North Devon

    Ma prochaine destination :

    United Kingdom - du Jun 2021 au Avr 2024
    Voir tout
  • Description

    Hello dear potential host/friend, I'm English born and raised originally from Wolverhampton but currently based out of a cider vinegar mill in Barnstaple. In 2018 I started Wwoofing full-time to get as much experience as I can in all aspects of farming and homesteading. 3 months later I was certain that the lifestyle was definately for me, so in March 2019 I got my amazing border collie 'Freya'. She is super obedient and a very calm but needs to run on a field everyday. So far we have woofed/workawayed for over 22 different hosts around the UK doing all kinds of things like traditional forestry, milking cows(assisting castrations too), chainsawing tonnes of logs, tree felling, driving tractors, telehandlers, landrovers, quad bikes, carpentry, fencing, planting, building, roofing, growing, demolishing, mucking out, caring for pigs, horses, alpacas, chickens, cows and a bit of lambing. I'm also really good with people who have learning difficulties because of my patience and understanding.
    During this time I've come to realise that what makes me the most happy is just to help good people in their own pursuit of self sufficiency.

    Before woofing these past 4 years I have worked a wide variety of jobs including RAF serviceman with honorable tours of Iraq and Afghanistan, a SCUBA instructor working in Thailand and the Philippines, a HGV driver and an office clerk to name a few. I'm a fast learner, a good laborer and a naturally hard worker. I'm a fairly competent carpenter, and stick welder, but with the help of YouTube I can teach myself anything. I have good prolem solving skills and was told by the military that I have an eidetic memory so rarely forget anything. I can bake enormous and tasty loaves of bread and my pizzas are sublime. I can grow plants and manage a poly tunnel, operate ATV's, strimmers, mowers, chain saws, log spliters, angle grinders and table saws etc. I also have some arty skills too if any decorating, drawing, painting or sculpting should come up.

    I enjoy the outdoors and researching many things of interest. I lead a quiet and simple life and never get bored. I have a strong work ethic and can take instruction and think for myself, work in a team or on my own. I drive a van and have some of my own tools. I have a 4 m diameter canvas bell tent with wood burning stove for the milder months. I have no dietary requirements but the fresher and happier the food the better. I have no medical problems or allergies. I have worked, lived and travelled with many different types of people and many cultures for a number of years so I have a broad perspective on the world. I'm easy going, stress free and patient and like to work with people also like this. A good motto to live by 'if it's not fun you're doing it wrong'.

    Please don't hesitate to ask for more details.

    Thanks for reading

    Ian and Freya

  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux
    Travail associatif
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Entretien général

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Projets artistiques
    Tenir compagnie à une pers. âgée
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Please read profile description

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

  • Âge

    38

  • Autres infos...

    I like to run Freya often and an open space close by is always a blessing.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      no

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      no

Feedback

Amis

Photos

Feedback