Digby

Origine: Royaume-Uni

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte individuel

  • ...

    Destinations

    Portugal

  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    01.12.2019 - 31.03.2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Mon statut

    en voyage

  • Description

    Hello, I’m Digby, I’m from Cornwall, England. I would say I’m easy going, hard working, up for anything kind of person. This my first time using workaway, I’m really interested traditional carpentry and natural building and it seems like it is a great opportunity to get involved with some really interesting projects! I love surfing, skateboarding, fishing, wood work, meeting new people and just being outside. I wanted to go a trip go on a trip where I could include all of these things And the Atlantic coast has always been somewhere I have wanted to explore more of. So far it has been great for doing lots of it all! Starting with converting my van this summer before I set off, which was even more work than I anticipated but a good experience that taught me a lot. I have spent the last 4 years learning traditional timber frame carpentry where I found a real passion for working with wood. As much as I have wanted to travel I didn’t want to leave my work in till I felt accomplished and had learnt the trade and some useful skills and knowledge. But this summer I decided it was time to go, and hopefully take what I have learnt elsewhere! I have been driving along the coasts of France and Spain since the beginning of September, i have spent November in Galicia and am soon to head to Portugal for the winter and it’d be great to stay a bit more settled and help out with an awesome project!

  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    I studied art and design for 2 years where I focused on 3D design and sculpture, most of all it taught me a lot about design and drawing in a way to think about what and how I would like to make things.
    I have just spent 4 years learning/working, making traditional green oak timber framed buildings. I did a lot of large scale workshop joinery and raising small and large timber frame structures, I’m competent using hand tools and power tools and some other general carpentry. I love working with wood and am also interested in natural building. On and off I have been helping out with building a cob house, so have some experience mixing and building with cob, digging, groundwork/ landscaping and also laid a patio there. And I have done lots of general labouring. I really enjoy working outside and on buildings whatever the job may be! I also like to cook and am more than happy cooking, cleaning and helping out around the house and garden

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant

  • Âge

    23

  • Autres infos...

    I am travelling in my van and am more than happy to sleep in it, if this makes any difference to you and having other people stay :)

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial

Photos

Feedback