Derrick

  • États-Unis
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (1)

Good Workawayer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    à la maison

  • Description

    Hi! My name is Derrick and I live in a beautiful 90 acre forest in Western Kentucky. For over 20 years I worked with my family doing commercial real estate development and managing a 400 acre farm, some of which has been in my family for over 160 years.

    In 2015 I got my bachelor's degree in biology and spent several years working on research projects involving biodiversity studies and parasites of insects. During this time I was fortunate enough to be a part of projects in the Alaskan Arctic, Ecuador, the Galapagos Islands, and Mammoth Cave National Park. Between 2017 and 2019 I managed a research lab at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee. During that time I became very interested in regenerative agriculture.

    The last two years I have been transitioning parts of the farm to regenerative practices with help from the Organic Association of Kentucky. A few of these practices include composting, vegetable production, and forest farming.

    I did my first workaway in western France during March - April of 2022. It was a great experience and I am still in contact with some of the people I met. I would really like to experience more of what other people are doing to make their properties/communities healthier and more productive.

    Hobby wise, I spend a lot of time outdoors. Love hiking, kayaking, camping, scuba diving... Also, like to read, cook (only a decent cook but enjoy trying new things), watch movies, and practice mindfulness techniques. Definitely love meeting new people!

    I am used to very hard work and look foreward to learning and participating in other peoples visions! Will be happy to answer any questions and provide references for potential visits. Thank you! Derrick

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Nature
    Camping
    Yoga / bien-être
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Ferme
    Jardinage
    Dev. durable
    Animaux
    Langues
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Cuisine et alimentation
    Culture
    Dev. personnel
    Soin des plantes
  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Allemand: Débutant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    Would really love to improve on German and Spanish.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Langues

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    Aider à la maison
    Accueil / tourisme
    Entretien général
    S’occuper des animaux

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Enseignement
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    A few of the things I have experience with are livestock management, fence building, drystone wall construction (took classes and have done my own projects), operating many types of farm equipment, and organizing group projects.

  • Âge

    49

  • Autres infos...

    I am very interested in learning more about building with natural materials, especially stone and cob.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      No

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      No

Feedback

Amis

Photos

Feedback