Darien

  • États-Unis
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (3)

Email verified
Explorer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    en voyage

    Les activités qui m'intéressent :

    Any or all of: gardening, farming and permaculture; eco-projects; cooking and hospitality; photography; computer and internet help; possibly more - I love learning.

  • Description

    I’m looking for an adventure. I don’t know what it looks like specifically, but in general, it involves helping with tasks I’m already capable of doing, learning new ones, and improving my skills in general. It may be a matter of a few weeks; it may be longer, it may be shorter, though I prefer a week or longer due to travel requirements. Great scenery is a real plus.

    I'm a consultant and academic transitioning my environmental science, psychology, and planning and policy scholarship and skills into new uses and places. I'm also a former sous-chef and professional baker.

    In addition to specific skills, I bring curiosity, adaptability, and an enthusiasm for sharing learning, self-sufficiency, and helping communities.

    Curiosity - I would love to learn more about many things, especially practical aspects of sustainability, food, and culture. I would particularly like to find opportunities that allow me to:

    1) grow my practical knowledge of permaculture, off-grid living, and other aspects of sustainability, climate change adaptation, and community empowerment;
    2) expand my cuisine repertoire with regional cooking and baking;
    3) continue to learn and grow in other skills including language skills (French, Spanish, German beginner); and
    4) learn more about eco-design, innovative building, and novel solutions to traditional challenges
    5) use my hospitality experience from working at a retreat center;

    Adaptability – Most things interest me. In 2019 I learned to drive a small off-road work vehicle complete with winch and helped to clear hillsides that presented a California fire danger. In 2020, I was taught to operate a log splitter, and I earned my drone pilots’s certificate in October. I’m also learning about artificial intelligence applications.

    I am a semi-professional photographer, most interested in landscape, wildlife, and macro photography, but with experience in architecture, event, and wedding photography.

    Originally from Wisconsin, I have visited all 50 states and over 20 countries in North America (Canada, Mexico), Asia (Hong Kong, Korea, Malaysia, Singapore), and Europe (Austria, Belgium, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, Scotland, Slovakia, and Sweden), both for pleasure and work. I have lived in Australia (3 years) and England (5+ years) as well as the US, and spent several months each in France and Mexico.

    I am looking forward to unique scenic, cultural, and culinary adventures wherever opportunities take me!

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Vidéographie
    Films et télé
    Montagne
    Activités en plein air
    Événements/vie sociale
    Écriture
    Soin des plantes
    Musique
    Histoire
    Cuisine et alimentation
    Photographie
    Bénévolat
    Dev. durable
    Animaux de compagnie
    Danse
    Jardinage
    Dev. personnel
    Langues
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Architecture

    montrer plus
  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Allemand: Débutant
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Français: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    Ce workawayer a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa ou ses propre(s) langue(s) ou en apprendre une nouvelle. Veuillez le contacter directement pour en discuter.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme
    Langues
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / Internet
    Enseignement

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Entretien général
    Aider à la maison
    Travail associatif

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    I can do almost anything, except fly a kite. Mostly, I excel at cheesecakes, chocolate truffles, breadmaking, other good food (I have cooked and baked professionally), gardening, basic repairs, and other things my father thought a girl should know about. I am a product of his feminist vision for me - basically, he raised me with the idea that I could do anything and I have done my best to prove him right.

    I love to take photos, but hate having mine taken. I prefer landscape, macro, wildlife, and urban/architectural photography but also like to capture humorous images no matter what the subject. I have edited a restaurant cookbook for some friends, have managed my own consulting businesses, and spent nearly 9 years overseas as an academic. Growing up in Illinois farm country my typical chores included gardening and helping my parents at their university laboratories. Over the years, I have earned three degrees in different subjects so I am quite adaptable and adept at learning new skills.

    One caveat: I have bad knees so any situation requiring me to climb lots of flights of stairs or steep slopes or do heavy lifting is not likely to be a good fit, though often accommodations can be implemented (finding other routes to get around climbing up steep slopes, for instance).

  • Âge

    67

  • Autres infos...

    I like exploring, especially with my camera.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      soy

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      no soy except fully fermented soy sauce, soy oil and soy lecithin

Feedback



Photos

Amis

Feedback