• Canada
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    en voyage

  • Description


    My name is Daniel! 28 years old, I graduated this past winter with a degree in political science, minor economics.

    It's hard to describe myself concisely as I'm still growing and learning every day, and there's no one version of me - who I am is often a reflection of those around me. But I'll try.

    First things first - I'm fascinated by the more timeless disciplines of humankind - philosophy, politics, history, economics. What pulls me in about these is the insights they can generate about how and why we behave the way we do, how we interact with ourselves and others, how we organize ourselves into communities - and how we might work together to avert the troubling future that seems to be brewing on the horizon.

    If I had to choose three philosophical viewpoints that best describe me, they would likely be Existentialism, Epicureanism, and Stoicism.

    What I value in life is authenticity, simplicity, balance, and enjoyment of the present moment. I grew up as a middle child which also gave me a strong appreciation for fairness, as well as a strong sense of self-awareness and ability to read the mood of the room.

    On a more concrete day to day level, I love to spend my time reading (fiction and non-fiction alike), writing, playing card/board games, conversation over a glass of wine (or beer, or whisky, or...), listening to music, enjoying nature camping, hiking, or just sitting quietly to drink it all in.

    I also absolutely love everything food and drink, and am an avid and experienced cook. My repertoire contains dishes from all over the world; French, Italian, Vietnamese, Chinese, Eastern European, Mexican, Indian... the list goes on. I'm just as comfortable cooking for 15 people as I am for 2, and cooking over campfires or with limited materials.

    I'm fascinated by every culture on the face of the earth, and I'm always ready and excited to learn about new people and places.

    I started on my current trip in August of 2022, and plan to keep traveling until the same time in 2023. This is sort of my post-graduation reward, but also an opportunity to get some distance and perspective from my day-to-day life, and figure out what the next chapter of my life will hold.

    I'm mostly travelling on savings, but I work about 10 hours a month writing blog articles for a Marketing agency back home in Montreal. I'll be ramping up my freelancing efforts when I slow down my traveling in November.

    That's about all from my end, but feel free to send me a message if you have any more questions or would like to chat.

    I look forward to meeting you!

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Voile / bateau
    Sports d'aventure
    Activités en plein air
    Cuisine et alimentation

    montrer plus
  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    Interested in learning almost any language! Particularly Spanish, as well as a Germanic or Slavic language. I can teach English and French, and a bit of Spanish.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Aider dans une ferme

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Bricolage et projets de construction

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Accueil / tourisme
    Aide informatique / Internet
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    I consider myself something of a jack-of-all-trades. In essence, I am usually very quick to pick up on new things, and tend to find ways to make things more efficient and effective.

    The skill that I feel most proficient in above all others is cooking. It is my longest lasting love affair, and will be with me until the day I die. This includes menu planning and creating spontaneous meals based on limited ingredients.

    Aside from that, I really like to write and take pictures, so I'd be happy to help with anything related to that, and I'm in pretty good shape so have enough energy and strength to get through a day of most manual jobs :)

  • Âge


  • Autres infos...

    I can't really think of anything I didn't put up top! Maybe a few of my primary travel inspirations:

    A big one is definitely culinary, in that I love discovering new eating cultures, new foods and drinks, and learning new recipes.

    Another very big one is historical - I love to get up close and personal with tangible examples of humankind's long history on this earth, whether it be the ruins of Machu Picchu or sailing the same Mediterranean sea lanes that the Romans did.

    Another big one is interpersonal. Though I can sometimes be a bit shy and reserved, I love to meet new and interesting people, and I warm up quite quickly (especially if there's wine involved 😏). Part of the reason I'm traveling is to try and become a more open and sociable person.

    The list can go on and on. New and meaningful life experiences, challenges and hardships, a stronger appreciation for living in the present moment...

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial