Rosie & Daniel

Origine: Royaume-Uni

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte joint

  • ...

    Destinations

    Espagne, France, Portugal

  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    17.10.2018 - 01.08.2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    My partner Dan and I are quitting our jobs and leaving the UK to develop our skills and learn new ones. We live a vegetarian, fairly green eco lifestyle. We enjoy learning about permaculture, growing and harvesting organically and the process of becoming more sustainable. We are healthy people and happy to help with physical tasks in both the home and garden as well as helping out with cooking, refurbishing, animal care, planting and construction jobs.
    We are hoping to gather more knowledge and experiences that will improve our skills, whilst also developing new ones that we can take away with us to help make our lifestyles more sustainable. I am particularly interested in sowing, planting and harvesting in gardens, especially produce that can be sold locally. Whilst my partner wishes to learn more about wood working, construction and the process of becoming self-sufficient.

  • Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Cuisine / courses
    Aide à la ferme
    Eco-volontariat
    Aide avec les animaux
    Travail associatif
    Aide avec les langues
    Projet artistique
    Enseignement

  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    I have used HelpX to volunteer across several countries in Europe, including Greece, Croatia, Slovenia, Austria, Czech Republic and the Netherlands.
    My time spent in these countries was mostly based on organic farms where I was involved in planting and harvesting, caring for animals, construction projects, cooking communally and living alongside other volunteers. Some HelpX experiences involved caring for young children as well as supporting older kids with the farm work.

    Dan has not used HelpX before but he has volunteered at a variety of places in the UK and abroad. In India, Dan helped at an organisation that includes an orphanage and a sexual health awareness clinic amongst many other projects. Whilst there he taught a small group of children how to improve their English as well as helping out with field work and other manual and construction projects.
    In the UK Dan has volunteered with LEPRA, a charity that works to eradicated leprosy, TB, and HIV and Oxfam, who work internationally to combat poverty.

    We have been in India now for 3 months and have used HelpX to volunteer at a number of different projects: an orphanage in Tamil Nadu where we taught English and Maths in the school and helped around the farm; a adults English school in Kerala where we improved students English for their IELTS exams and learnt a lot about Keralan culture; a small organic Farmstay in Karnataka, where we helped with planting, watering, maintenance of the treehouse structures and fences as well as helping the host with his ecotourism events; and finally we volunteered at a eco cafe/garden/homestay in Goa where we helped in the cafe and kitchen, as well as maintaining the garden and surrounding farm.

  • Langues parlées

    English, learning French and Spanish

  • Âge

    26 & 26

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      No

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      Vegetarian

Photos

Building irrigation pit for mango trees
Teaching maths in India
Foundation building
Farming in Nepal
Home growing
Harvesting for dinner
Volunteering in Tamil Nadu
Rosie feeds goats in Croatia

Feedback