Damelie

  • Pays-Bas
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (1)

Explorer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    en voyage

  • Description

    Hi there! My name is Damelie and i am nineteen years old. I'm currently taking my second gap year after graduating high school: pre-university education, or VWO (Voorbereidend Wetenschappelijk Onderwijs) as we call it in the Netherlands.

    I've always been a very adventurous person, which is why i'm planning on discovering more of this world instead of going straight to university. However, i do love education and specifically enjoy learning about the arts, history and languages. I love being around people: dinners, parties, good conversations, anything and everything. Same thing goes for all kinds of animals; especially dogs, cats and horses. I've also been horseback riding since i was eight years old.

    The one thing that brings me the most happiness is spending time outdoors with my friends, preferably while travelling. I definitely thrive in sunny and warm environments; that's why a year outside of the Netherlands would be quite an improvement for me. If i could, i would spend all my days at the beach. Although i've realised that i can also enjoy a good ski season, after spending half my gap year in the French Alps ;).

    This year i'm mostly passionate about discovering different cultures and travelling solo. Getting to know new people, music, dances and discovering what i want for my future are my main goals. For example, i have a strong gut feeling that i should move to Italy one day, even though i've never actually visited there. I hope travelling with Workaway will grant me the opportunity to find out what i would potentially like to do, and where i'd like to live in the future.

    I'm definitely willing to put in the work in exchange for my stay via Workaway, but i would love to combine it with some sightseeing and recreation. That's why i'm also open to travelling with a companion, if you happen to seek good times and adventure like me!

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Plage
    Nature
    Auto-stop
    Voile / bateau
    Danse
    Activités en plein air
    Vie en van
    Bénévolat
    Ferme
    Animaux
    Animaux de compagnie
    Langues
    Art et design
    Arts du spectacle
    Dessin et peinture
    Écriture
    Livres
    Films et télé
    Musique
    Photographie

    montrer plus
  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire
    Allemand: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    I would love to learn whatever languange is spoken in the country that i'm visiting. I'm leaning towards French, Italian and Spanish, but open to everthing. If there's a desire to learn Dutch, i would also be willing to teach some of my native language!

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Travail associatif
    Projets artistiques
    Accueil / tourisme
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Enseignement
    Éco-projets
    Aider dans une ferme

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Langues
    Tenir compagnie à une pers. âgée
    S’occuper des animaux
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Aider à la maison
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Entretien général
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    I've had many different part-time jobs so far.
    I started working at a McDonald's restaurant at the age of fifteen. I worked at all stations: McDrive (taking/coördinating orders), serving people in the restaurant, helping customers at the register, drinks & ice cream station, preparing coffee/pastries, cleaning. I definitely learned how to deal with a stressful work environment and improved my social skills. Despite the stress, i did enjoy working there because of my young colleagues and being on the move all day.
    My second job was delivering food on a moped for a takeaway restaurant. I learned how to find my way in an unfamiliar area via Google Maps and improved my driving skills. I think i enjoyed this job the most because i got to be outside all day, and listened to music while driving around.
    The next job was bartending, serving, and sometimes delivering food at a different restaurant in my neighbourhood. I mostly served drinks from behind the bar, which i really enjoyed during busy evenings.
    My first full-time job was at Tzorg (home care), where i cleaned houses for people that are elderly, disabled or ill. We usually drink a cup of tea and have a nice conversation with them too. It's a very rewarding job: i made meaningful connections with a lot of clients, and everytime i went home it felt like i was making a difference.
    After working full-time for a few months, i got the opportunity to go to France (via Workaway) for the winter season, where i worked as a server in bar/restaurant Le Dahlia. I improved my French, enjoyed the beautiful ski slopes, and learned how to serve (and survive ;)) hundreds of people every single day. I've never worked as hard in my life, but i wouldn't trade the experience for the world. The days (shifts from 9-10 hours) started with coffees, then the rush with about 250 lunches, and ended with a busy apres-ski (which we luckily got to take part in too). The latter was my favorite part of the day; having drinks with the guests, enjoying the music, chatting with everyone, and then off to the bar after closing. We worked hard day after day, but we enjoyed every second of it and made some friends for life.

    In conclusion, my jobs mostly taught me how to deal with customers and adapt to new/stressful situations. I'm an independent person that quickly 'integrates' into a new workplace, which is why i'm not worried about moving around and learning different skills with Workaway.

    Outside of work, my 'skills' include horse riding (specifically dressage) and being creative in general: i like drawing/painting, singing, dancing. It's not that i particularly excel at these things, but i enjoy them a lot! I would for sure be thrilled if my host owned horses and other animals. I used to be scared of them when i was younger, but ironically enough i refused to quit horse riding. After a lot of determination, i eventually overcame my fear during training. Nowadays, there's no place i'd rather be than the stables.

    In school i excelled at learning languages: mostly Dutch and English, and a bit of French and German. Writing essays has always been my strong suit. I did my school research project (a paper every senior has to write) about how internalised misogyny and the patriarchy affect our society to this day. I'm really passionate about this subject and have a great deal of discussions about it ;) I think it's important to have conversations about these topics and to always keep an open mind.

    My last 'skill' worth noting is quickly connecting with other people. Making new friends comes naturally, which is why i thrive at parties and other social gatherings. Like i stated before, i'm open to converse with an open mind about everything, with just about anyone!

  • Âge

    19

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial

Amis

Photos

Feedback