Christopher & Moana

  • Royaume-Uni & Nouvelle-Zélande
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (4)

Explorer
Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, nous sommes

    en voyage

  • Description

    Hello and thank you for viewing our profile. We hope to convey our personalities skillset and what we are looking for in a place to live and work.

    To breathe clean air, drink clean water, hear nature, and eat wholesome healthy food, learn new things, meet great people, and create.

    We appreciate the teachings of Dr Joe Dispenza, Alan Watts, Paul Chek , Eckhart Tolle and many more. We practice mediations, breathing exercises and yoga and like to be in a place that holds space for these activities. We are into providing the best environment for the mind and body to flourish and helping the body do what it does with cleanses, nutrition and also having fun.

    We're travelling up the coast to the Whitsundays, camping along the way🌞

    We have our own vehicle (Ford Territory) that is equipped with a rooftop tent, both have full clean drivers licences and can drive manual.

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Nature
    Camping
    Voile / bateau
    Sports d'aventure
    Sports nautiques
    Yoga / bien-être
    Cyclisme
    Danse
    Activités en plein air
    Vie en van
    Ferme
    Jardinage
    Menuiserie
    Dev. durable
    Animaux
    Animaux de compagnie
    Dessin et peinture
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Écriture
    Livres

    montrer plus
  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Ça nous intéresse :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme
    Travail associatif
    Pratique des langues

    Nous avons des connaissances :  

    Aider à la maison
    Projets artistiques
    Enseignement

    Nous pouvons apprendre aux autres:  

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aide informatique / Internet
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Chris (UK) arrived in Melbourne in March 2020, 2 days before the border closed and worked as a hydronic heating engineer, servicing and repairing systems in domestic properties around Melbourne.

    Moana (kiwi) has been in Australia for 6 years and was managing a mobile panel beating company in an office of 2 reduced down from 22 before the Rona.

    We met and decided to travel around Australia, swapping our time for rent and we have had such an experience for it. At our most recent workaway, we were living there for 10 months after only planning on being there for 3 weeks. Helping look after a 66 acre property with a huge biodynamic garden full of exotic fruits and vegetables, and learnt so much about living semi off grid and looking after the land.

    In the food garden we were wood chipping paths, mulching beds, weeding, rebuilding beds, repairing irrigation lines, learning about loads of different growing techniques and developing our own concept on how best to look after a large food producing garden making the time spent working most effective.

    Moana about me:

    Over the last 15 years I've enjoyed learning the basics of operating a company from working multiple positions including management, admin, marketing, trade, quality control, customer service, promotions. I was mostly managing for the last company I worked at.

    This whole experience of workaway has changed my life from working 9-5 in an office, eating fastfood and playing playstation. To working on the land connecting with what I'm eating and it's resulted in me losing 22kg in the year and feeling better than ever (I haven't been to a gym!) The whipper snipper, wheel barrow and weeds have been my gym. It's been a journey learning about meditation and chakras, which I had no clue about before this journey. Now I spend more time looking at the stars (now I can actually see them outside the city lights) which I've always loved are remembered the names of the constellations, it's a big place out there.

    Being Maori, I've been used to catering for large events (my family is HUGE). At our last workaway the host was an amazing chef and at the beginning I was there to help out in the kitchen to cater for 60 people for 2 weeks. I've also been head chef and helped out at other events. I learnt so much about Asian cuisine, cooking with things I'd never seen before including spices and learning about organicly grown ingredients and what it means for the food and my body. I try to refine many of my favourite recipes to be more healthy like Maori fried bread. I've tried so many types of flour (buckwheat doesn't work well..) We primarily eat organic, vegetarian/vegan meals (we both love to cook!)

    I enjoy working in the garden, the whipper snipper and mower being my favourites. I have learnt how to comfortably drive a manual and can say that I'm good at moving logs with a tractor. I also enjoy spending time in the shed trying out new tools, wood projects and I've started to learn how to stick weld.

    Since leaving the 9-5 I've become alot more creative and we have a craft box with us full of fun things! I've been using my sewing machines to make EMF radiation shielding bucket hats and phone cases as well as festival clothing and bespoke mattress covers. Recently we have started playing with clay if you would like to try yourself. We have pieces which we will be looking for a place to bisque and glaze at some point.

    I'm working on using incorporating my managerial experience and my creative side to start selling my handcrafted products online. It feels like I'm trying to be a whole company by myself which is an interesting learning journey.


    Chris about me:

    UK qualified gas engineer/plumber. I have a first class degree in mechanical engineering and specialise in repairing hydronic heating units.

    I have been interested in living off grid and community living for a while and feel the best way is to go and experience how others doing it. I have learnt and experienced so much about growing food and looking after the land and resources. I have an ability to fix things and have been able to practice over a wide variety of equipment that i had never used before and I'm now familiar with how to repair and service them. Would be fantastic to be somewhere with a well equipped shed.

    Here are some of the things I have become familiar with:
    How the water collection system works, keeping the filters clean, pressure washing the solar panels.

    Mowing, repairing the mowers and modifying the cutting decks for improved strength. We had the luxury of the razorback (probably the best mower out there) which I made a trailer for it and a Toro Xero turn 72" deck.

    The 48 horsepower Kubota tractor that ran on a used vegetable oil and diesel mix. I learnt how to flush the fuel lines when there was too much vegetable oil for it to start, removed and cleaned out the starter motor when it stopped working, got a few more months before it needed replacing, welded up a lovely tractor radiator cover with hearts, repaired the thrasher blade after it's snapped, ended up welding a welding bench. Dug out a pond with the backhoe, pushed in a huge fire, helped pull out the landcruiser that had no reverse countless times. All in all I know what all the levers do and general servicing, changing implements and love using it, would love to get more experience on plant machinery.

    Built an improved wood fired hottub heater to heat a stone hottub that held 3 tonne of water. We estimated it uses 20% of the wood of its predecessor.

    Experience with chainsaws, pole saws whipper snipper, pressure washers using and maintenancing.

    Helped setting up events from building stages, and backdrops to working the door.

    I have my own small bag of tools and have experience with power tools.

    I pride myself in customer service and enjoyed being a volunteer for Bathing under the Sky, portable hot tubs at festivals where I served the guests and spent most of my time working in the VIP section. A friend recently built a mobile sauna and we ended up workings with her at its first festival.

    I've received over 40 5-star reviews on Google from my 2 most recent employers as a heating engineer.

    I love cycling and I've been on a few trips with friends, the most notable are the 700km through Holland, Belgium and Germany over 5 days and 300km through Thailand with +3km of elevation in 3 days. I've repaired many bicycles over the years.

    I've been around boats from a young age and took part in the 2012 Tall Ships race from Belgium to Denmark and was a crew member on the beautiful Queen Galadriel across the English channel. I want to get back involved with sailing it's been a while and would be happy to help with repair and maintenance.

    Since being in Australia I have learnt to play the didgeridoo and enjoy playing.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Maori: Débutant

  • Âge

    30 & 30

  • Nationalité

    British and New Zealand

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial

Feedback


Amis

Photos

Feedback