Carolyn

  • États-Unis
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (2)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    à la maison

    Ma prochaine destination :

    Australia - du Jun 2023 au Jul 2023
    Voir tout
  • Description

    Hello! I am new to workaway and am so excited to be here! A coworker/friend who knows me and how I like to travel thought this would be a good fit, and...they were right! I am an elementary ESL (English as a Second Language) teacher in Wisconsin. I am adventurous and outgoing, and I've lived in other US states and studied or taught in Mexico (6 months), Poland (1.5 years), and Tanzania (2 years). I am very grateful to have traveled off the beaten path to many parts of the world. I could do nothing but travel 12 months a year, and it wouldn't be enough. One of my Tanzanian students told me, "You're an explorer!" and I beamed with pride. But it's not famous monuments or big museums I spend my precious time exploring; I aim to connect with people who I share this planet with. I know that our similarities are greater than our differences, and my life becomes so much bigger when my world becomes smaller.

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Montagne
    Nature
    Yoga / bien-être
    Cyclisme
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Bénévolat
    Jardinage
    Menuiserie
    Dev. durable
    Animaux
    Animaux de compagnie
    Art et design
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Écriture
    Musique
    Photographie
    Astronomie
    Cuisine et alimentation
    Politique/justice sociale

    montrer plus
  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Polonais: Débutant
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    I teach English to people who speak other languages.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Aider dans une ferme
    Travail associatif

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Tenir compagnie à une pers. âgée
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Éco-projets
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Langues
    Projets artistiques
    Enseignement
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    I'm a teacher and absolutely love it! I have taught English and other subjects to both kids to adults. One of my college degrees is in print journalism, and I love to teach writing. I am also very handy and creative with house projects (my house is 100 years old). I recently redid my entire three-season porch, repairing the walls and ceiling myself and making a funky mosaic floor out of pennies. I refurbished all the wood floors myself, and have painted every room in my house (3 with patterns), put up baseboards and crown molding, done tiling in my kitchen and bathroom, and restored two staircases with license plates and diamond-plate rubber flooring. I love to work with my hands and have fun with original projects! I am not scared to try new things, in fact, I love it! I have a passion for photography and have been done it a little professionally, and I recently got an honorable mention in Washington Post's photo contest. Yea! I also like to cook and clean; I am a hard worker and take pride in whatever I'm doing.

  • Âge

    53

  • Autres infos...

    I love hiking, bike riding, doing all kinds of crafts, exploring nature, hanging out with pets, reading, playing cards, and many other things. I love plants! I have over 100 plants in my house and as many as my small yard will hold.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      Seafood, unfortunately. It's not life threatening.

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      Seafood.

Feedback



Amis

Photos

Feedback