Bia

  • Portugal
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (1)

Explorer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    en voyage

    Ma prochaine destination :

    State of Western Australia, Australia
    Voir tout
  • Description

    **** CURRENTLY IN WA****
    Nice to meet you!!
    My name is Bia, originally from Portugal, 27 years old and new made architect before arriving to Australia almost 2 years ago!
    In Portugal I was born in the Azores, an archipelago with 9 islands in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean! There I learned how to live surrounded by the ocean, which became a big part of me.
    When I finished my studies in Architecture I thought I needed a break and to travel the world, my first stop was Australia. And guess what still here! Ahahaha
    Short story about my journey in Australia so far:
    I lived in Philip Island for 1,5 months working multiple jobs (housekeeping, bar and waitressing) to manage to buy my first ever car! After that, made my way to Byron (with my lovely Lucky, yes we named the car! ahaha), however that was when COVID first hit hard and nobody knew what was happening, so after 2 weeks in Byron during the first lockdown our plans had to change and we went to Sandy Beach where we stayed for two marvellous months with an amazing family!
    There I did a bit of everything from casual gardening, mowing, feeding the chickens, homeschooling the kids, cooking dinner sometimes, and in the end me and my travel buddy made a 9mx5m mural for the local shop (owned by the family)! I enjoy painting a lot, and have done this mural and some other in private houses!
    To continue our travels, we made our way to Queensland (when possible with border closures and everything), there I helped a family with some renovations at their place, walked their dog in the mornings, took care of the house when they were away. Lived a bit in Noosa where I managed to save some money and enjoy the Sunshine Coast lifestyle, discovered surfing!!! After that did my 88 days in the Whitsunday where I lived for about 3 months!
    During summer made Launceston, in Tasmania, my new home where I accomplished one of my dreams since living in Sandy Beach: working in an artisan bakery!!
    Recently I've just been living aboard my friend's yatch, sailing from Brisbane to Double Island Point (near Hervey Bay) where we lived for about 3 months learning and improving our surfing everyday! Sailed also the Sandy Straits and spent some time at Fraser Island, whale watching :)
    My last job was at Heron Island, where the reef is beautiful and the surroundings as well.
    However at the moment I was feeling that I need to be more grounded and not work at big companies or resorts, where everything is automated and the small things don't matter.
    During my stay in Australia I found that big cities aren't for me anymore, and that I really enjoy the small town living, close enough to the ocean ideally!! I found that baking and drawing are one of my passions, and that being connected to the earth (literally walking barefoot) and being active around it makes me really happy and fulfilled.
    I am still on the process of learning a lot about everything! However I feel that at the moment I would love to find a place where I could learn new agriculture methods, be in connection with the sun, land, water constantly. I love trying new recipes and learn new things about (fermenting, bread, cakes etc) so if you need a hand with that I am more than happy to help!!
    In general, I am a very creative person, love being connected with nature, learning and arts!

    Hope to hear from you!!

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Plage
    Nature
    Camping
    Yoga / bien-être
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Dev. durable
    Architecture
    Art et design
    Dessin et peinture
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Livres
    Cuisine et alimentation
    Végétarien ou végan
    Dev. personnel
  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Jardinage
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide informatique / Internet

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider à la maison
    Accueil / tourisme
    Pratique des langues
    Projets artistiques
    Enseignement
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Master in architecture (studied in Porto Architecture School)
    Really good effeciency in English, been learning since a kid!
    Can also cook good meals and tasty like lasagna, homemade pizza, all kinds of pasta, homemade crepes and pancakes.
    Big speciality if you're a fan: I make my own Portuguese tarts from scratch! Kind of learning how to be a baker!
    Love food, so cooking is no problem!
    I really enjoy making everything from scratch when it comes to cooking.
    Always keen to learning new recipes as well!
    Really enjoy drawing and all kinds of arts.
    Have done a mural (9mx5m) with a Friend on a previous Workaway, as well as multiple private murals (ocean tematic related normally). But normally I just enjoy to drawn anything related with nature themes.

    Really patience person, eager to learn new skills and multiply my interests!
    Can also drive (as I've owned my own car in Australia).

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Portugais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Allemand: Débutant
    Français: Débutant

  • Âge

    27

  • Autres infos...

    Very creative person who doesn't like to stop!
    Playing games with kids, going for a walk, doing yoga, go for a swim. Or just lay in the sun!

    Building with my hands is something I am passionate about!
    And also, atm I don't have that much knowledge on gardening, on doing some permaculture work as well. But I am very welling to learn because it's something I am really getting super interested in!
    Do love veggies and the magic of growing your own food!

    Just to say we are very eager to learn!!
    I believe life's works with what you can give and receive :)

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      vegetarian but not radical (open to some exceptions)

Amis

Photos

Feedback