Come join our off grid and to-be self-sufficient farmstead in south Lapland, Sweden

Country

Suède

Enregistré comme favori 89 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    15.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 11 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Do you have what it takes to live without modern facilities & running water? Do you want to experience what it's like to live off of the land, gather and fish for your own food in order to survive in one of the harshest climates in the world?
    If so, come & be part of our to-be self sufficient alpine homestead & experience what it's like to live truly off the grid with us!

    We are a Swedish/English couple, Cecilia (28) and Aaron (33), living on a beautiful old private farmstead "in the middle of nowhere" in Lappland, north Sweden. On our farm also lives goats, rabbits, chickens and geese.

    Lapland, despite it's cold and harsh climate, is a place where people have been living self sufficient, as hunter-gatherers, ever since the end of the last ice age when the land became habitable about 10.000 years ago.

    Every day we strive to become less and less dependent on modern society and live off of the land, like we used to do. This means we have to put in a lot of manual work to sustain ourselves, including tending to animals, gardening, collecting firewood, fetching water etc. Therefore it's important that you as a volunteer are prepared that help will be physically demanding at times and also, since we haven't got an income, food will be quite basic at times (fish - perch - and potatoes).

    However, although work can be hard, the rewards of our work are greater - eating fresh fish from the lake, berries from the forest and milk from the goats is luxuries few has access to. And in the end of a working day, jumping in the lake or having a hot sauna as well as cooking on the open fire in the evenings... For the nature and animal lover, this is a small bit of paradise on earth.


    ABOUT US

    Being introspective & curious, Cecilia loves to dig deep into the innovative ways people sustained themselves in this part of the world before modernization and apply it to the farm. Other interests include nutritional sciences, spending time in nature and playing music. Cecilia has done plenty of workawaying in the past during her 2 years of solo backpacking.

    Aaron, having worked in England as a landscape gardener running his own company is a hand on, practical and hard working man. His interests include building, mechanics and generally fixing stuff, but also sports like snow boarding and mountain biking. Plus he's a great cook!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will have the chance to experience for yourself what life was like in Lapland when people lived off of the land in the old days.

    There are no modern facilities here, everything is heated by wood, food is cooked on the fire, dishes are done without running water, there is no shower (just a beautiful cold lake).

    As we are both new to this lifestyle, we are learning new things every day about raising animals, gardening, preserving food etc. in traditional ways. As a volunteer you will have the opportunity to learn many things and even teach us some things. There's a lot to learn, really a lot, and it's very exciting and interesting to discover alternative ways of for example preserving food to last without usage of modern facilities and gardening in ways that yields the greatest harvest with minimal effort and water.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Our main jobs this summer include helping with hay making, different types of garden jobs, helping with the animals (moving fences, feeding etc), berry picking and fishing.
    Daily jobs include fetching water in the forest spring, chopping firewood and cooking over the fire.

    In our closest fishing lake lives perch and we usually put down a cage one day and the next we have got sometimes 50-100 fish which needs degutting and taking care of. There's also another lake with trout where we will go sometimes and fish with rods & put down nets.

    Please bear in mind that we haven't got an income and if any tools or equipment that you borrow breaks when used incorrectly after being given instructions on correct usage, we will kindly ask for compensation. Just make sure to follow instructions and don't be afraid to ask if something is unclear.

    Also we have put down 6 hour as expected work, however that is just a number and in reality it will take more to keep this farm running. Therefore we kindly ask that people who apply ask themself if they are up for helping with the hard work that is necessary in order to experience a self-sufficient life in Lappland.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Swedish: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You can choose between living in your own room with a stove in the old farm house, or there is a traditional Sami hut ("kåta") with a fireplace inside.

    Food we will mainly cook outside on the fire. We eat mainly fish and potatoes in the winter and in the spring/summer we also get milk from the goats and eggs.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our farm is very close to a beautiful lake where you can go swimming or fishing. We also got a boat and a traditional log sauna on the land for use. Around the farm is deep beautiful woods and wildlife here is abundant. Around here lives for example many mooses, reindeer, wolves, wolverines, and even a few bears has been seen (rarely).

    The closest shop is in Åsele, about 35 km away, we won't be going there often but maybe once a week for some essentials. We can pick you up from Åsele where you can go by bus from Umeå, Dorotea and Vilhelmina.

    Its good to bring a sleeping bag, working gloves, good shoes and a maybe a knife. In wintertime a flashlight is very handy and in summertime mosquito nets to protect your head and bigger ones that covers your bed could be useful.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have a desk in the room for volunteers and with the right internet provider there is excellent internet access.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (4.5)







N° de référence hôte : 995788658198