Join our creative family house and help with DIY in Tórshavn, Faroe island

Country

Îles Féroé

Enregistré comme favori 172 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    12.07.2020

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    1599

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 4 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in a 1930's house that needs a complete makeover :) I live downtown Tórshavn and am an educator & event organiser who loves to travel but seldom does. I teach for a living & occasionally rent out rooms. I'm looking for WA's who like pets and have architectual/carpentry/plumbing/DIY/building &/or structural &/or artistic skills. You can expect to do at least some cooking and house chores.

    I enjoy welcoming different types of travelers to my home and do look after dogs and other animals.

    I have a dog and a guinea pig. My name is Sigga and would love to learn Italian.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Cuisine / courses
    Autres
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux
    Travail associatif
    Aide avec les langues
    Projet artistique
    Aide informatique / Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I love living in the Faroes and am quite involved in various parts of Faroese life. I will encourage you to embrace eating the Faroese way with oatmeal breakfast, freezer emptying and lots of bread. I wish that vegetarian WA's are able to occationally make non-vegetarian (side) dishes for the rest of us in the house. I'm ok with eating vegetarian/vegan meals, but I'm not a confident vegitarian chef but I do try.

    I might introduce you to my social circle if it is relevant and do encourage you to embark on your own adventures as well (especially when you're able to bring the dog with you on a leash). When walking the dog you are required to carry poopbags and bag the deliveries.
    - - - -
    Note that this is my private home and that I want you to be aware of the house rules.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I'm living in a No Smoking home that is in desperate need of fixing up and expect that anyone smoking on the premises makes sure that their smoke doesn't get carried into the house. The house is old and rather shabby house but is centrally located. It is frequently quite noisy on weekend nights.

    My house is in need of repair and has a fenced in concrete garden I'd like to eventually become a green haven.

    I'm particularly interested in hosting WorkAwayers who are really good at making a house look and feel like a home.
    Painting, DIY and decluttering is especially useful and of course cooking and cleaning. You also need to be kind to the animals living here, family members and other house guests. Pet, water, feed and pamper the guinea pig and walk the dog. It is a bonus if you are good at training puppies become confident and useful adult dogs through nose work, agility and positivity. I'm looking for WA's with DIY, building, structural and artistic skills. I'd love some help with the house (painting, plumbing, tearing down, tidying, cooking, housekeeping, repairs and decorations), animal care taking and help with the various art & charity projects I'm involved in.

    I'm not very structured and need you to be good at finding relevant ways to help out but I expect you to check with me before doing something permanent. Before or at the beginning of your stay we need to talk about what kind of things you are able to do and make appropriate lists.

    I hope we are able to communicate well. If you are unhappy as a WA at my place I'm ok with you moving on. If I feel I'm the wrong host for you I might ask you to leave - if necessary with a very short notice.

    A 10-year-old child, a guinea pig and not too well trained young dog. They are treasured and their privacy must be respected.

  • Langues parlées

    Danish: Courant
    English: Courant
    Icelandic: Courant
    Norwegian: Courant
    Sami: Courant
    Swedish: Courant
    German: Débutant
    French: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    I live in a non-smoking house with two spare rooms and a living room with an enclove. You will be given a palletbed with a decent matress in a private or semi private room but you are likely to move around in the house if other guests book a room. It is might also be possible for you to be a small group if you are ok to share the accommodation within your group.

    House rules:
    No Smoking House
    No substance abuse
    No random and unwelcomed guests
    Consideration for everyone in the house

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Faroe Islands is a wonderful country with many sights and drinkable tap water. You might be able to plan a trip to Nólsoy, Suðuroy, Klaksvík or go on impulsive local walks when the weather is perfect or decent. Tórshavn's Tourist Information or Visit Tórshavn is a tiny block away and they will be able to sell you tickets and give you plenty of advice to where you can travel. There is a small planted wood nearby, a cinema and a crossfit fitness centre next door, the marina is two minutes away and there is much live music and many cafés.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-6 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







N° de référence hôte : 974945558385