Be a part of our family of seven in Stokkseyri, Iceland

Country

Islande

Enregistré comme favori 34 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    27.06.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    82.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE 9th of May. We need someone last minute!! Please contact me if you are free from this week until the middle of June..

    We are a family of seven living in south Iceland. We have five children; 16yo girl (who has left the nest); 7yo boy, 2yo girl, 1yo girl and a newborn baby girl. We need help around the house and with the kids - mostly in the mornings and afternoons. Someone who likes spending time with children, is patient and likes playing with them would be perfect.

    The family father workers as a fisherman and is away approx half of every month, when he is home the person staying with us could have good time to travel and explore the island would they be interested in that. I (mom) am a teacher and school administrator but will be on maternity leave until January 2023.

    We are a very friendly and relaxed family, we love to travel and drive around Iceland exploring our beautiful home in the summer and whoever would want to join our family would be welcome on those trips would they want to.

    Our kids are happy and active, our boy loves computers and pokemon and the girls love to play outside and have walks around town, especially down by the beach.

    The town we live in is called Stokkseyri and is about a 45 minutes drive from the capital (Reykjavík). There is good public transport in the area and the bus stops near our house. There are many beautiful places near our home and we have access to some land near the volcano Hekla that we use as a getaway for the family from time to time. There is plenty of room there for everyone and some friends as well.

    Our house is by the sea and we have a beautiful view of the beach from our living room. We have a very big garden that the kids love to play in and a garage that doubles as a playroom with a drum set, some sofas and toys for the youngest kids.

    The room we have for the person living with us is on the ground floor, has a queen size bed, a cubby storage for clothes and such, a desk and a tv. There is a big washroom, a bathroom and shower on the same floor.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Enseignement
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Living with us in our home would be a peek inside the normal Icelandic family life. We don't live in the city so the atmosphere is more chill and would be perfect for someone who loves raw nature. Our backyard is basically the sea and beach and near our town are some of Icelands most beautiful natural sights, such as beautiful waterfalls, geisirs and black beaches. The city is near by and it only takes about 45 minutes to travel there by car and 1.5 hours by bus. We have a family car that can be available if needed. The nearest town is called Selfoss (20 minutes by car) and there you'll find stores and many restaurants.

    We also want to learn about other cultures, languages and especially food, as we love to cook. So the person staying with us could share with us some of their culture if they would want to.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The help we need is mostly centered around helping with the children in the morning and the afternoon and in the weekends. The older ones are in school for about 8 hours every weekday so the time before they leave the house and from when they come home and go to bed is the most hectic. Everything listed here would be a cooperation between the one living with us and us parents (mostly mom when dad is working).

    On weekday's it is mostly helping getting them ready for school/preschool and getting them there. They are used to walking but the youngest needs to be walked to preschool by an adult.
    The rest of the day we usually have some cozy time with the youngest ones at home, play and take walks outside and maybe visit grandma that lives close by. Also do some laundry and keep the house tidy. During this time whoever will live with us can take some rest and have some free time for it is not as lively as the mornings and afternoons.
    Then to pick up the youngest ones after preschool and bring them home. Then they have a snack and play until dinner. After dinner they take a bath and go to bed.

    If the person staying with us likes to cook that is perfect and they can help in the kitchen as well, but we cook dinner every night and do some baking in the weekends as well.

    Laundry is a big part of such a big home and sometimes I might need help with washing or folding clothes.

    Cleaning and tidying up is a daily task and would be, like everything else, a cooperation. Once a week we deep clean (usually on Sundays) and then the floors are washed, everything dusted and the bedsheets changed - we usually divide jobs and one of us takes the kids out to play and the other does the cleaning. This would be one of the jobs required, taking up to 2 hours.

    The weekends are usually very chill in our home, we watch tv and play. Sometimes we visit the city or go for drives around our town. We like to bake and cook and have someone over for coffee. Since the kids are all home in the weekends it can get busy sometimes and especially when dad is working. Our oldest daughter also visits some weekends. In the weekends the main task is keeping the kids busy and playing with them.

    Dad works as a fisherman and is home for long stretches and away for long stretches also. When he is home there is less of a need for help with the kids so the person who would live with us would have more free time when he is home (usually for 2 weeks at a time).

    So the person living with us would need to be;
    -Patient, positive and caring
    -Like to play with children
    -Want to play outside and go for walks
    -Be helpful around the house
    -A plus if they love cooking/baking

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Norwegian: Courant
    Danish: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We speak quite good English in our home, the older kids understand and speak some as well. The mother is fluent in Norwegian as well and can communicate in danish and swedish as well. We would love to learn another language or introduce one to our children and can also teach some Icelandic in return.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The person staying in our home will have access to our house as a member of the family. We have a two story house next to the ocean with 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and a very big backyard.

    The room available would be on the ground floor and has a queen size bed, a cubby storage for clothes and such, a desk and a computer. There is a good wifi signal in the room and a possibility to put up a TV if wanted.

    There is a big bathroom with a shower on the ground floor. We use the toilet and shower upstairs so that would be almost private for the person staying with us. Access to everything in the home such as kitchen, a washer and dryer and the family room, we would like the person staying with us to feel at home. If their are more private that is fine and having the room down stairs is fairly private for we spend almost all day on the top floor (living room, kitchen, one bedroom, bathroom and a shower).

    The person would be sleeping in their room on the ground floor, but all of us have bedrooms there (apart from our son who has his room upstairs) so there might be some disturbance at night time if the youngest children are fuzzy. They usually sleep through the night but you never know so better to include that information just in case.

    We would include you in our family shopping and you would have access to our kitchen as a member of the family. If there is anything extra or special you want just for you we can arrange that up to a sertain level or you can buy that for your self. If you want your own refrigerator in your room we can see if we can buy one - but you would be welcome to use the one in the kitchen for your private stuff.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The person staying with us would have a lot of time to travel when the family father is home and we would help with arrangements would that be needed.

    We live in the south and around us are many wonderful places to see and visit. We have access to some land near the volcano Hekla that they would be able to use for free, it has everything you might need for a getaway.

    Living with us can be very calm at times and very hectic also, having so many young children. It is never boring but the days might be filled with routine and things needed to be done at sertain times. In the evenings we like to watch tv and just hang out and we go to bed fairly early. We don't drink or smoke.

    There is a small gym in our town that can be used if you are interested and we would arrange a membership.

    The person staying with us would need to be respectful around the house and clean up after themselves, be honest and open with communicating their needs and letting us know if there is anything bothering them.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a big backyard and enough space for any size of campervan.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 967574577327