Volunteer in the heart of South Sulawesi, Indonesia – Help Teaching English & Share About Environmental Awareness.



Enregistré comme favori 597 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

  • Description



    My name is Faisal. I am a university student and I live in a small town, Bajo. My town is located in Luwu regency, South Sulawesi, Indonesia. I live with my parents (both my dad and my mum), my aunt (my mum's younger sister) and my cousin (my aunt's son). However, I am the youngest of the family, so I am the one that is taking care of my parents while all my siblings are away. Besides that, I love meeting new people, sharing experiences and becoming a part of their life's journey.

    My parents are very special to me and for other people. They are so welcoming and having great smiles to all people. For me, my mum is a great cook. She can cook lots of different things especially local foods from our town. Also, she is a good teacher to anyone who would like to learn how to cook! My dad is a retiree. He used to work as a teacher in an Islamic school. He is very passionate to talk and tell any stories to anyone he firstly meets. Even he doesn't really speak English but he knows some basic ones, such as; how are you, I'm fine, etc. I learn a lot from him and he is actually my great inspiration!

    I recently study at one of the universities in Palopo, a big city in Luwu regency and an hour away from home. I have classes mostly in the morning and usually come to school by a motorbike and sometimes a shared car. I finish my classes in the afternoon and go back home to teach English afterwards. I really love the English language and have a passion for sharing my love of English to others. It was my passion for teaching that led me to open up my own English class at my home in Bajo. In September 2015, our school for teaching English officially opened and we already have over 4 classes with an average of 13 students per class. So far, students' ages range from 7 to 19 but hope to expand that to all ages.

    My method is to make English fun to learn to utilize informal modes of teaching so the students can better understand and perhaps even enjoy the learning process. I started school so that I could share my knowledge of the English language so others may benefit from it and have better opportunities for their future in the job market. My vision is to provide a fun and engaging place for people of all ages to come and learn English.

    In addition to the English classes we offer, an environmental program has recently begun. I believe it is important to do what we can to improve our environment. While parts of Indonesia have very strong environmental programs, here in Bajo in South Sulawesi Indonesia, we are just getting started.

    Our first step to achieving our environmental goals, with the help of volunteers, has been to educate our students about reducing, reusing and recycling. In addition, we have even created our own recycling center here at the school, which is the first in Bajo! Our new recycling center also includes a composting area that will be used to further enrich the soil of our organic farm.

    Looking to the future, our hope is to become the premier recycling center in Bajo. In addition, we hope to begin community programs where our students will organize trips around our town to clean up the streets and parks, recycling trash found on our land.

    To assist in my vision and hope, I invite volunteers from around the world to help, not only with teaching English, but they can also bring their knowledge and experience to our local people.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Pratique d’une langue
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Volunteering in a third world country is very challenging and often a confronting experience. Cultural differences will also require you to be more empathetic and understanding to others. The Luwuness, in general, are very friendly people and aware of your feelings and emotions both good or bad, a smile here goes a very long way.
    As you will be a new member of the village, your attention to those around you will be required at most times. Many questions will be asked and they will want you to share your story, so be aware that a lot of your time and energy will be shared. However, over time you will understand that you have not only come to give of yourself but that you yourself will go home a changed person. Through the challenges, you will experience and your commitment to the program you will grow to understand how important you have been to the children’s confidence, learning and to the growth and development of our program.

    Things you could learn when volunteering with us:

    ~Welcome anyone as a part of our family members.
    ~Give something back to an organisation that has impacted on a person’s life, either directly or indirectly.
    ~Make a difference in the lives of others
    ~Help others less fortunate or without a voice.
    ~Help the environment.
    ~Feel valued and part of a team.
    ~Spend quality time away from work or a busy lifestyle.
    ~Gain confidence and self-esteem.
    ~Learn about a new culture and country.
    ~Satisfaction from accomplishment.
    ~Have fun by meeting volunteers from all over the world.
    ~See a new culture from the inside and not as a tourist.
    ~Be immersed in the Indonesian language and culture.
    ~See the difference you can make.
    ~Challenging yourself, by trying something different.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    We wish for volunteers to help us teaching English and educate the students about the importance of having an awareness to keep the environment clean.

    A daily routine could consist of:

    ~waking up from breakfast in the morning;
    ~If not too hot (maybe) helping with some chores (cleaning out the backyard, painting, building a bottle window, etc) and visiting one of the special needs school in town;
    ~Help prepare lunch (if you are interested);
    ~Rest/read a book/play with the family/ chat in the afternoon;
    ~Prepare for the afternoon lessons;
    ~Teach from 3pm – 5pm;
    ~Help prepare dinner (if interested).

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Indonesian: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    We 3 guestrooms, which accommodates 4-6 volunteers at one time.
    ~Private local style bathroom with shower (buckets).
    ~Clean local style squad toilet and shower.
    ~Bed sheets provided.
    ~Limited Wi-Fi access at the guestroom. (Please bring your laptop).
    ~Laundry facilities.
    ~Help with tours.
    ~Help with Motorbike or bicycle.

    Volunteer Meals:

    All meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) are provided every day.
    Doko-doko (traditional sweets used bananas covered with rice flour)
    Fried bananas and sweet potatoes
    Fresh fruit from our garden; bananas, papayas, etc.

    ~Drink option:
    Tea or coffee

    Rice, vegetables, fish (soup sometimes fried), fried chicken with sambal (sauce), Tempe (soy cake), tofu, and of course tomato sauce.

    Rice, deep-fried chicken, deep-fried fish or vegetables and many more dishes.

    We hope the volunteers can help $3 to cover for the food costs.
    Accommodation is provided FREE in exchange for help with the English and Environmental programs.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our volunteers teach the students between Monday to Friday and then have their weekends (Saturday and Sunday) to discover the beautiful locations around Luwu, Indonesia.
    But apart from teaching the rest of the day is up to you really. Help as much as you want or feel like. We love sharing our knowledge and Indonesian cultures.

    To reach us, there are two options; by an airplane or buses. To go by buses, Makassar has an international Airport, Sultan HasanUddin (UPG). flights from Bali are around $60 and take about 1.5 hours, from Jakarta they take around 2 Hours. I recommend flying with Garuda Airline because it’s meant to be the safest. When you arrive in Makassar, grab a Taxi taking you to Daya Bus Terminal. This is a short ride and will cost you 90’000 IDR ($7). At Daya Bus Terminal, ask for the bus going to Belopa. There is a Bus leaving at around 10 am and a night bus at 8 pm. If you arrive at another time there are cars that can take you to Belopa. But they often stop to pick up other passengers on the road along the way. The whole ride takes 7-9 hours. All options will cost around 150’000 IDR ($11).

    The other option is to take a flight to Palopo. You will find flights on from Makassar (UPG) to Palopo (LLO). They usually have one flight to Palopo and it’s the morning flight only. If you need any help with the booking, please let me know.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have enough space for people to park their camper-vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 3-5 hours in a day 5 days a week

  • ...

    Cet hôte fait payer des frais

    en savoir plus
    $3 per day to help with food costs

N° de référence hôte : 954224148719