Dogsit and enjoy the space and freedom of the Drakensberg on a smallholding in Underberg, South Africa

Country

Afrique du Sud

Enregistré comme favori 93 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    02.12.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We were used to constant travel and suddenly own a smallholding (impulse buy) with donkeys (spontaneous rescue mission) daft dogs, ducks and chickens. Now we’re in, we're in. There's lots to do, especially now with Spring vegetable planting, and we still need to go away sometimes for work.

    We spend a lot of time in the mountains and with Covid restrictions now lifted, travel for work and races is on the cards for us again so our ideal Workaway situation is a couple - or someone very content to be on their own - capable of looking after the homestead should we need to be away for a night or more (ie have dogs take over your cottage, if not your bed) At times this can be for a week or more.

    We’re not brave enough to be real farmers but are trying to rehabilitate the 14ha valley we find ourselves custodians of and by sticking to personal and permaculture-ish principles, manage to grow some food and keep the land healthy. There is a cottage for holiday rent and another we aim to renovate as well as a long ToDo list of ideas to implement, but with other work that often keeps one computer-bound all day it is, frustratingly, forever growing longer.

    Work wise there are endless jobs to do and projects to tackle depending on the season, your abilities, creativity and willingness to leave your mark. Growing food, general land maintenance, building animal shelters, clearing invasives, planting indigenous trees and an orchard, beekeeping. Handyman skills are always welcome! We need you to be able to operate independently most times and stay mindful as though it were your own place.

    We live in the incredibly beautiful Southern Drakensberg region, just outside Underberg town in KwaZuluNatal where all four seasons are evident, often colliding in one day. To fully appreciate the natural beauty of the area you can take advantage of the trail running, hiking, cycling and river paddling opportunities here, and we are happy to share all this with you and encourage a lot of playtime to balance out work.
    It’s also a top destination for flyfishing but we’re clueless on that.
    The birdlife is prolific and wildflowers are spectacular. As Underberg is not known for its pumping party scene, your nightlife is restricted to limitless skies filled with owl and jackal calls.

    Accom in your own basic but comfortable self-catering cottage so you can be as independent as we like to be. We may share a few meals together but overall do not provide food as part of the deal.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are South Africans who, between us, have traveled extensively - one for sport and one for general being, choosing to live and work all over the world and now settled for two years here. We understand the need to be still for a bit while traveling, to have a base from which to properly explore an area and that accommodation is often a crippling expense.
    We have immersed ourselves here and can share a lot of knowledge and experience about the outdoor world but we are also private people and expect you to entertain yourselves with all the opportunities available in the area.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The help options are mostly all outdoors and physical on the 14 hectare land getting dirty and in touch with the earth, and flexible depending on your current frame of mind - do you need to nurture young seedlings or whack out undesirables, build a useful structure or break down an ugly one? There is no set routine. If you have specific skills that you want put to use then we will try find a project for them. You must be content to work on your own at most times.
    (If you have any experience burro racing and want to help train up our donkeys, you're in!)
    Cottage renovation - any architectural/ structural/ brilliant idea/ building experience

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Portugais: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Your own private cottage for one person or a couple. It is open plan with kitchen and lounge area, couch and table. Bathroom with shower. Electric lights and plug points, Gas stove, oven and geyser. There is some cell reception but no wifi.
    We will share some (vegetarian) meals but you will largely be independent. In Summer there is plenty of fresh food from the garden and we always get fresh farm milk from the neighbouring farm.
    The small town is 10km away, easy shopping at a well stocked Superspar.
    A few coffeeshops in the area have wifi.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    This is a great place for athletes - runners, paddlers, cyclists - wanting a place to train and still keep busy otherwise. We sit at an altitude of 1500m with access to the runnable trails of the little Berg and up passes to the Lesotho escarpment with many peaks over 3000m. And also great if you need time and space to write your novel or paint your pictures. It’s a quiet haven and a place to be yourself.
    One or two persons (traveling together) only. So you really should be content without a lot of people around.
    Traveling dogs that can refrain from eating free ranging chickens and wildlife are welcome, but note there is no fencing that will prevent a dog from getting out if they are inclined to runaway.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Very happy for dig nomads to stay however they would have to be independent in terms of data, we do not have freely available wifi.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    15hrs/week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





N° de référence hôte : 934361429996