1 / 5

Come and help us with gardening and eco projects in Pociūnai, Lithuania

  • Lituanie
  • Enregistré comme favori 17 fois
  • Activité récente: 01.11.2022



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    Hi! We are Cat and Ian, a young married couple who decided to move from a large city in the UK to the Lithuanian countryside in 2020. We bought a rural homestead that came complete an old wonky house, hence the name. And now we get to embrace an alternative way of living in rural Lithuania. Our homestead is located in the Ignalinos region in East Lithuania. It is surrounded by beautiful woodland, lakes, and several national parks. Although there are small villages close by, ours is a standalone homestead with no immediate neighbours.

    We want to focus on creating a sustainable and self-sufficient lifestyle. This includes growing our own food, composting waste, repurposing and upcycling materials, and coming up with creative solutions to reduce our carbon footprint.

    We plan to achieve that by incorporating traditional methods inherited from the locals and modern permaculture techniques. As well as enjoying the perks of living in the countryside, we want to make sure we do our part to maintain the balance with nature. A big part of that is to preserve existing nature spaces on our plot, such as woodland, shrubbery, and a pond. The other part of the equation is planting trees to create new habitats for the local wildlife.

    More than anything, we hope to connect with like-minded individuals, both within Lithuania and across the globe. As well as creating an online community, we welcome volunteers for mutually beneficial skill exchange.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    If you want to learn about growing and preserving food, we can definitely show you the ropes. Food will be provided, but if you wish to take part in the cooking process to learn about vegan cooking, you'd be more than welcome. We can also share our knowledge in regards to the more wild aspects of nature. We could take you foraging, and teach you about local fauna and flora. We can teach you how to make a campfire in a safe and efficient way.

    Cat is a yoga teacher, so if you want to practice yoga, or even simply learn more about it, you'd be most welcome. Cat can also teach you to crochet, knit, or cross-stitch, if you're into fibre arts.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    The place is a project in progress, but the land and the house should improve over time. This is why we are looking for people who would like to come and experience the countryside living for themselves.

    There are plenty of things to keep us busy all year around. However, we don’t expect our volunteers to get involved with every single task. No matter which projects you choose, it will create an opportunity for us to improve the space.

    The tasks we need help with include:
    ● Animal care. We currently have goats, rabbits, chickens, and guinea fowl. The main duty related to animals is making sure they have food, water, and access to pasture.
    ● Preparing firewood in advance. Preparation for the winter starts early!
    ● Plot maintenance. This includes scything and mowing grass, pruning trees, shredding branches, and maintaining walking paths.
    ● Vegetable garden. From sowing and planting, to weeding and harvesting, growing food keeps us busy throughout the warm months of the year. On the upside, we can enjoy fresh produce through most of the summer and autumn!
    ● Food preservation. Once things have been harvested, it’s all about making things last. While some foods naturally keep for a long time, others need to be frozen, canned, pickled, dried, or even turned into wine!
    ● General tidying. Unfortunately, this place has stood idle for many years before we moved here. As a result, there is plenty of rubbish to be sorted, recycled, repurposed, or burned.
    ● DIY and construction. If you have experience with carpentry, bricklaying, or other types of construction, there is usually an opportunity to put your skills to work. The relevant projects we may need help with: a greenhouse, animal pens/coops, lean-to storage space, and outdoor seating space. We have quite an extensive collection of various tools that make these jobs possible.

    Once again, we don't expect a volunteer to show up and take over all of these projects. Realistically, we would just benefit from having an extra person/people here to lighten our load. For anyone who wants to volunteer with us, we will provide meals and accommodation. We don’t expect more than 16-20 hours a week, so you will have plenty of free time to spend as you please. We are prepared to offer financial compensation in addition to food and accommodation.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Lithuanian: Courant
    Russe: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Français: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    At home, we mainly speak English, so if you want to improve your language skills, we would be happy to help you. Cat also speaks Lithuanian and Russian, as well as learning Spanish and French.

  • Hébergement


    You will have the choice of staying in a large bell tent equipped with electricity (and heating, if required) or in a part of the house. Full disclosure, the house is a work in progress but we have a spare bed and a functioning kitchen. We are also happy to move to the tent so that you have more privacy while you're visiting. Self-accommodation is welcome. You will have an option to set up your camper van, caravan, car extension, or tent if you prefer.

    We have an outdoor solar-powered composting toilet and an outdoor heated shower. The toilet has a sink for washing hands, brushing teeth etc.

    We have unlimited WiFi with decent speed, which means you can work remotely while you’re here and keep in touch with your friends and family.

    We are a vegan household, so all the food and drinks we provide will be vegan-friendly. We can also accommodate some dietary requirements provided that we have been given enough notice. You are welcome to bring your own snacks and drinks in addition to what we provide.

    You are welcome to bring your pets as long as they are well-behaved and don’t pose danger to our animals. We will provide food for the volunteers but please make sure you can feed your pet.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The two nearest “big” towns are Ignalina (30 km away) and Visaginas (25 km away). They have shops, bars, ATMs, pharmacies, hospitals, vet clinics, hardware stores, and other standard features you may need during your stay. We tend to travel there at least once a week to get food and drinks, so you will have the option to come with us or have us pick something up for you. Ignalina and Visaginas also have train stations with connection to Vilnius, as well as coaches that travel to other parts of Lithuania. If you travel by car, Vilnius is only a 2-hour drive away.

    The official language of Lithuania is Lithuanian, although many people speak great English, especially in towns and cities. Lithuanian currency is EUR, but the prices are lower compared to Western European countries, such as France or Germany.

    Please beware that in the warm time of the year, there are various insects, including mosquitoes, deer flies, horse flies, and ticks. We take care to keep the house as insect-free as possible. Repellent is a must, and if you can get a vaccination from tick-borne diseases, it’s a bonus.

    Other things you can do while you're here:
    ● Ian built an indoor bouldering wall, so if you’re a climber passing by, you will have the opportunity to train while you’re here. Additionally, we have a slackline, a badminton set, resistance bands and yoga mats.
    ● Walking, cross-country running, cycling, foraging - spring through autumn
    ● Swimming, boat rowing, stand up paddleboarding (SUP) - summertime
    ● Skiing, ice skating - winter
    ● Visiting animal sanctuaries, nature reserves and educational facilities
    ● Attending music festivals, seasonal fairs, sporting events, holiday festivities

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have unlimited WiFi with decent speed, which means you can work remotely while you’re here and keep in touch with your friends and family. You'll have the ability to charge your electronic devices needed for work.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    You are welcome to bring your pets as long as they are well-behaved and don’t pose danger to our animals. We will provide food for the volunteers but please make sure you can feed your pet.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 924368574893

Feedback (1)



Gardening in the beautiful countryside of Giedraičiai, Lithuania
Help co-create at our camp in the forest and be the best version of yourself in Zvagakalnis, Lithuania