Help us with some home projects in West Cornwall, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 305 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    26  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    20.01.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    88.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 13 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are three sisters who own two houses in beautiful West Cornwall. Our two homes are connected to one other and set in 16 acres of land in a beautiful valley. We have meadows, fields and woodland and a river/stream running through. Much of this has grown in on itself and the longer term plan will be to clear the land over the next couple of years reclaiming its beauty. Many years ago the land was worked and the main house was built by our parents in the early 1970’s. We were much younger then! Originally the family ran a small Horticultural Nursery business. Over the years the business declined and ceased to trade for a number of reasons.The land has become overgrown in many parts, but many lovely features and shrubs still remain and Angela has a beautiful garden with a lot of semi tropical plants. We have ongoing needs for gardening and general maintenance as we create a Spiritual Retreat. We are currently open to receive couples or friends travelling together. All year round there are outdoor gardening and maintenance jobs. Splitting and moving logs is ongoing work and confident use of heavy duty garden equipment always a bonus but not essential. Gardening jobs are never ending here! Enjoyable but requiring effort and energy. Cornwall can be wet and windy in winter. At the moment we have a need for people to help with painting and decorating indoors on wet days and working outside in the better weather. We have hosted some amazing people over the years and believe our reviews speak for themselves.
    Any painting and decorating skills, cleaning, gardening and general maintenance skills are ordinarily very welcome. Covid however has changed movement and there are restrictions and guidance that we all have to follow. Angela and I are currently not mixing as I work in a setting outside the home that carries some risk. I am very open to entering into discussions with anyone who may be able to travel and work under the current guidance.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Cornwall is beautiful and we are 3 miles to the nearest beach. We are 6 miles to St Ives and only 11 miles to Lands End. Angela and Gabrielle both have teaching backgrounds and are great listeners and conversationalists. They are happy to work alongside, guiding and teaching or more than happy to learn from people who have knowledge and skills to share with them. This placement would suit people who are independent and keen to explore what Cornwall has to offer. Beaches, surfing, rock climbing costal walks are just some of the attractions to this part of the world. There is a bus service from the village which is about a half a mile from our house. Mostly people who have stayed have been keen walkers and we are in a very rural setting.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Painting and decorating and cleaning the house. Landscape gardening, clearing, digging, hedging and logging. Some joinery skills could be really appreciated and general DIY very useful. Help with sharing some of the cooking and housework and general willingness to be flexible essential.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will be staying in either a lovely stone Cornish Cottage or the family main house.There are two cats and a dog also living in the cottage and dog walking is always appreciated. Breakfast-Lunch and evening meal will be provided either shared with sisters or self catering options. Full use of the washing machine and bedding will be provided. We do have some towels for your use. We are happy to cook or to provide the ingredients for you to cook for us! Meals can be discussed and timed round your plans for the day. We can be flexible with times. As long as we agree work hours in advance and keep to a plan, weather permitting !

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are about half a mile from the main road through the village of Crowlas. Be prepared for a bit of a hill to walk up on your way home. There is public transport to Penzance (nearest town) and beyond and buses and trains to St Ives, Falmouth and Truro the capitol City. Cornwall is famed for its light, encouraging and inspiring artists, poets and writers for centuries. There are plenty of pubs, cafes, places of interest dotted all around a bus ride away. On occasion we can drop you off or pick you up by arrangement but mostly your free time is yours to plan and enjoy. We are happy to share our space and time with you but also encourage people to be independent and self reliant.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ohh. Very serious boys.
Last photo of a wonderful Team. brought together by the workaway experience. We have worked very hard and had a lot of fun.
Coffee and cookie time....please don't let Guillem make it any more!
This man Francois celebrating the wonderful achievement of building us a large wood shed and new wood cutting horse. A workaway special moment. Well done!
Our very old greenhouse needing some help cleaning up.
One of historic Tin Mine shafts along the coast, featuring Zac's bike which he loves.
St Michaels Mount. Just one of the views from the house.
One of the garden terraces needing some attention.

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
















N° de référence hôte : 898636429865