Join our sustainable project and experience peaceful living on the hill in Thisted, Denmark



Enregistré comme favori 311 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

  • Description


    My name is John, I am a Dane who has been blessed to work in many different careers paths, like working in restaurants as a chef, or working in forestry. I currently am working as a care taker of the mentally disabled. But after many years of preparation I have purchased my dream home, Daashuset. It is a lovely place rich in history and breathtaking nature. I feel privileged to be able to enjoy this unique spot here in Northwestern Jutland and I am very excited to share it here on Workaway.

    My home:
    Life on the hill has been sweet ! The house was built long ago by cattle farmers, but it has since been renovated to accommodate myself, Mons my cat, one neighbor, and hopefully many Workawayers ! The hill my home is located on is a 46 meter high ridge overlooking some of the finest places in Northwestern Jutland. The ridge is actually one of the tallest geographical locations in all of Denmark and so it is possible to see Feggeklit, Salgjerhøj, and Skarrehage on Mors across the fjord.

    My family:
    I am a father of four lovely children. Lærke is my oldest daughter and already attending college (time sure does fly !), I also have my two other daughters: Velborg and Hedvig and they are still in primary school. Then there is my youngest, my son Sejr who has just started his first year of school, and I am very excited about this. They are not always around but when they are I really like to have a good time with them around the farm or perhaps a trip out to town.

    My project:
    "To share the significance of the natural and cultural heritage of the project and the surrounding countrysite."

    Adjacent to 'Daashuset' is an ancient meeting place and archeological site to the vikings. This project served as a meeting place for discussing disputes. They must have been very clever, who could be angry in such a magnificent landscape? But the winds of change have shaped this location over time into something new and exciting. Today, our home is a unique mixture of unmaintained forests, conventional farmers, and our own style of permaculture. This place is our home and we are inviting you to be our guest and share in our love for this place.

    Our motto is, "Love All Serve All"

    This project endeavors to be a sanctuary to all who seek refuge from the storms of life and want to hear my story of finding peace and happiness upon the hill.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme
    Pratique d’une langue
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    This is a very unique spot with lots of natural wonder that can be found just out the front door. For example, the view from the hill is special considering the low landscape of the majority of this area, the forest, and it's archeological heritage dating as far back as the stone age. In addition, we have a very lovely city called Thisted, not far from where my home is located. So, this place has the best of both worlds. You will be close to nature but have the option of going into town where there are a lot of tourist attractions, history, and nice locals.

    I am a Dane and a local to this area so I could be a great tour guide as well as a teacher in the practical skills needed for running a farm of this nature.

    I want to make sure that all my guests find what it is they are looking for so that it can be a mutual beneficial experience.

  • Aide


    My dream now is to make this place available to travelers near and far, to come and enjoy it's charm and strive for a standard that is eco-friendly but most importantly sustainable. I plan to develop a new standard of living in this area, where WE are nurturers to it's nature and it's inhabitants. Essentially, I want to live by example in this place by practicing open-mindedness towards all and being ecologically minded.

    I have created a non-profit organization to share this passion. The project is still in it's youth but I really look forward to continue developing it with all who want to partner up with me on this journey.

    I am looking for people with these skills:

    - Farming
    - Working with livestock: chickens, cows, and sheep
    - Carpentry
    - Electrical
    - Plumbing
    - Masonry
    - Building
    - Project management
    - Forestry
    - Sustainable living
    - Not afraid to work with you hands
    - IT knowledge
    - Festival planning

    However, I believe everyone has something special to offer. So if you are not skilled in any of these areas suggested, as long as you have inspiration and a desire to learn new things please contact me. I want all kinds of people to come share their stories, so that it can be added to the story of this place.

    Interests may include:

    - Culture
    - Language
    - Heritage
    - Art
    - Music
    - Philosophy
    - But most importantly a passion for life and learning new things

    Will you be apart of this experiment with me ?

  • Langues parlées

    Danish: Courant
    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    Currently, there is only one room, which is in the main house nearest to the kitchen. You will also have your own batchroom with single vanity and shower that overlooks the east side of the house where my gardens lay.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    As stated earlier, this area is just jam packed with beauty and adventure. And it is only a 10 minute drive outside of the city, Thisted. You can look forward to having all kinds of fun on your days off. I suggest that you take advantage of all the many opportunities available in this area. There are forests for hunting, beaches with great surf spots like the notorious Cold Hawaii in Klitmøller, fjords full of fish and seals, lakes with designated bird watching territory and many quaint cities and villages located in this part of Jutland. We simply have it all, no matter who you are you will find something that interests you. I have a car and a bicycle but there are also regular trains, buses, and ferries that can easily take you anywhere you wish to go. Traveling is easy and convenient in Denmark. Just use...

    For traveling visit - (english version available)

    For travel ideas visit - (english version available)

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 884126265893