Rénovation d'une propriété dans la campagne de Veliko Turnovo en Bulgarie

  • Enregistré comme favori 7 fois
  • Activité récente: 16 juil. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum



  • Description


    NOT CURRENTLY ACCEPTING VOLUNTEERS. I'm 32 and have at least 4 workawayers at a time to create a sociable atmosphere, so must enjoy meeting new people. Varied chores available including less physically-demanding roles including cooking.

    (I usually reply to inquiry e-mails within one day, so you won't be left hanging around not knowing what's going on)

    I’m Paul. I’m a 32 year old Brit and have been renovating a house in Bulgaria on and off over the past few years. When there, fortunately I am not living on site, but in another (good condition) house in the same village.

    The property is in need of total renovation: We have so far replaced the roof, taken down most of the internal walls, constructed an extension, concreted the downstairs floor and replaced all of the windows with new UPVc double glazing. In 2013, 2015 and 2017, workawayers were instrumental in laying the upstairs floor, building internal stud walls, finishing the french drain, assisting with putting up ceilings, creating a suspended concrete terrace, building stone walls and re-pointing stonework. As you can tell, there is ample opportunity to learn new skills.

    I started the project in 2013 and lived here for 7 months, before returning in 2015 for 3 months, and again in 2017 for 3 months. I tend to start work at 8:30am before enjoying a leisurely lunch and siesta (in one of the hammocks if you desire) and then either potter around or do some sport once the afternoon sun has cooled. Nothing too strenuous...

    We have extremely fast fibre optic broadband and wifi is available in the garden and everywhere in the house. I have a table tennis table in the barn and there is a ‘stadium’ in the village where football is played most weekends. I try to do Yoga at least a few times a week as well as other fitness pursuits including running, cycling and varied YouTube HIIT workouts (does Zumba count as HIIT??). Crucially, I have recently purchased Spikeball.

    I ask that you work 20 hours a week and I provide food and accommodation. I have done stints as a workawayer myself and so know the importance of having an enjoyable setting in which to work and also appreciate the importance of "downtime". I find that working 5 days of 4 hours a day works best; typically Mon-Fri 08:30/09:00-12:30/13:00 with a break in the middle.

    I’m interested in most things but am particularly passionate about sport and music (instruments are welcome - I have both a right-handed and left-handed guitar at the house, as well as a couple of harmonicas and a decent electric piano), if you are laid back and like good weather, beautiful scenery and lazing around in a hammock watching the stars and listening to the sounds of nature, I am sure you will love it here. Any length of stay is welcome and will be a great help - I really look forward to hearing from you.

    On days off (usually Saturdays and Sundays) we will try and organise fun trips: to waterfalls, to the local cities and hiking (amongst other things) - whatever the majority of people would like to do (including just lying around in the sun at the local swimming pool - though unfortunately this closes in mid-Septemberl!).

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️I could always use a cook to take over responsibility for the meals here to allow me more time to focus on the renovation. Your responsibilities will be to prepare a snack for lunch and a main meal at dinner time. *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    Also, as a workawayer myself, I know the importance of building up a profile with good feedback and so I always leave feedback for those who have volunteered for me, almost always within a week of them leaving.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The village is Polski Senovets and the nearest town is Polski Trambesh which is only about 7km away. If you need a cosmopolitan fix, Veliko Tarnovo is about a 30 minute drive away – it’s a beautiful historic city and has a number of bars, restaurants and live music venues as well as some great – and very affordable – shops. Buses run to both of these places.

    The Village itself has a few cafes, bars and shops; a post office, chemist etc. There are 750 or so residents in the village but the weekends are much busier with young people coming home from the cities and towns to spend time with their families. There are local buses and trains which are both cheap and frequent. I also have insured transport for anyone with a driving licence to use.

    I had friends and workawayers stay for varying periods in 2013, 2015 and 2017, and all enjoyed ‘living’ here as much as I have done. The pace of life is slow and laid back, the people are friendly and incredibly generous, and the cost of living is incredibly cheap. Even if you are just in the country on a flying visit – drop by for a night or two – all I ask is a few hours labour and some friendly conversation.

  • Aide


    The main project is the complete renovation of an old house.

    Here are some specific segments of the project which we worked on during July, August and September 2017:

    • Give the "living house" a deep, “spring” clean. DONE
    • Paint shower room in “living house”. DONE
    • Construct a private, outdoor solar shower (wooden structure capable of supporting a water “butt”). DONE
    • Install plasterboard for the downstairs ceiling. COMPLETE
    • Sand down the original Oak ceiling beams to leave them exposed. COMPLETE
    • Complete installation of the drainage/waste system by finishing the digging of the trench, and laying the waste pipe before refilling with soil. COMPLETE
    • Construction of internal stud walls. IN PROGRESS
    • Fit bathroom: tiling, plumbing and installation of (electric) boiler. IN PROGRESS
    • Dig foundations for balcony support pillars. COMPLETE
    • Build shuttering in preparation of constructing a large concrete balcony. COMPLETE
    • Construction of driveway area and creation of stone walls. IN PROGRESS
    • Repointing internal stone walls. COMPLETE

    Projects for September and October 2020:

    • Give the "renovation house" a good tidy and re-organise everything. COMPLETE
    • Clear the front garden. IN PROGRESS
    • Clear the back garden - lots of tree pruning and strimming of weeds. IN PROGRESS
    • Render the pillars of the concrete terrace.
    • Finish the construction of driveway area and stone walls.
    • Finish the internal stud walls.
    • Creation of herb garden.
    • Dig foundation for large retaining wall in back garden.
    • Lay concrete foundation for retaining wall.
    • Lay blocks and build retraining wall.
    • Clear soil and rubble from back garden.
    • Planning and making garden pathways.
    • Assist with laying electricity cables.
    • Assist with fitting a kitchen.
    • Internal rendering
    • Internal plastering
    • Install insulation board to outside of the house.

    As the project progresses, a few examples of the varied projects that will be required are: digging, plastering, bricklaying, carpentry, chopping wood and mixing concrete/mortar, as well as making a start on landscaping the garden - all creativity welcome.

    There is also the opportunity to do some work on the ‘main’ house where we live. This house has an enormous (2500sqm) garden with plenty to keep a keen gardener occupied. The house has a few outbuildings that could do with a good clean and sort.

    Finally, you are more than welcome to take over cooking duties if you would like.

    No experience is necessary, just initiative, enthusiasm, and the ability to share a joke. Smokers and people with special dietary requirements are welcome.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Bulgarian: Intermédiaire
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Français: Débutant

  • Hébergement


    I have a nice room that can accommodate up to four people on two single beds (these are 'proper' beds with thick, comfy mattresses) and a bunk bed - again with proper mattresses. There is a further bedroom that can accommodate at least another two people, one on a single bed and the other in a large double bed; couples might have the option of having their own room (would need to be staying at least a week for this private arrangement). Alternatively, you can camp in the garden (I have 2 x 4 man tents and good quality air beds). There is a kitchen with all white goods. The toilet is outside (don’t worry - it is enclosed and has a roof), and the shower is either a "solar shower" in amongst the fruit trees and grape vines or, if the that is a little too 'at one with nature' for you, an indoor shower - although this doesn't have hot water; not too much of a problem at 2pm when it's 30c.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    In the local area there is the chance to go climbing, walking, bike riding and fishing. I have two bicycles if you want to explore the local area on two wheels.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    As the property is pretty rural, there is plenty of space directly outside for a camper van.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues


N° de référence hôte : 877938217278

Feedback (16)



Get in tune with nature, mountain home, organic garden and bees in Sofia, Bulgaria
Besoin d'aide dans une petite base équestre familiale sur les contreforts du massif du Sakar, Topolovgrad, en Bulgarie