Join us and help on a hippie, vegan eco-farm near Riga, Latvia

Country

Lettonie

Enregistré comme favori 274 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    05.03.2021

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    469

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Open minded flower child trying to live in the countryside. My profession is designer, but I can not stand the rush, noise, stress in the city, so I have changed my lifestyle in something beautiful here on peaceful land surrounded by nature to create my own world. I love to dig my hands in the ground and eat what mother earth provides. I love to breathe fresh air and to connect with nature. I am inviting anyone who loves nature, gardening, self-sustainable living, eco-building, arts, music, hippie lifestyle, self-expression, creativity, traveling, healthy lifestyle or just happiness to join me for summer.

    My mornings start with yoga- you are welcome to join and when my mom is here (who is sertified yoga instructor), she can lead longer yoga sessions than my morning ritual. During the day I spend in garden (would like to have more time for creating some beautiful art, but garden takes so much time).
    My garden is 1 ha of vegetables (hopefully it will look like a huge mandala from universe) and bigger plantation with meadow_to_be and corner of forest. I do not have animals (except my dog, who does not live here every week and we are considering adopting a cat) and I do not eat animal products. But I can cook the most delicious and nutritient full plant-based (vegan) meals even for skeptics.
    On weekends I sometimes work as a nature guide and you can join me if it is non-commercial hike. But I live very close to one of the most beautiful Nature Parks in Latvia and can definitely have a tour over there. I love my country, its history and culture and maybe I am the best who can tell you how beautiful and magical it is. We are pagans and you can experience rituals in my farm, whenever it is time for them. But camp fire with self made music (it doesn't matter if you don't know how to play, just try) and chilled evenings are a must here.

    I live here with friend of mine, whos passion is viking and pagan culture. He can call himself a beer brewer. He is calm and settled guy and helps me a lot here.

    We have a project on mind connected with a land here and hopefully we will start building it this year.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    Pratique d’une langue
    Projets artistiques

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You can learn through doing about eco-friendly gardening, building. I can teach or exchange some delicious vegan recipes. When it is right season, we are going to forest to pick berries and mushrooms- I can teach you about edible plants for eating and medicine. You can get to know and practice our paganic traditions, culture. I can tell you a lot about our early history and hopefully show how different our culture is from other Europe. If I have time, I can bring you on a hike, drive around region. Big part of my life is outdoors- so bushcraft, camping and being in the nature is all part of it. Can promisse you evening by the fire, hopefully with self- made music, art performances, poetry, meditation, rituals. I can also make and teach how to make dreadlocks, we can make henna artworks all over your body, create jewellery (I know macrame technique, but love to learn some new).

  • Aide

    Aide

    We have just returned to our farm after spending winter working. We have already made some improvements on the house- our 2 rooms for guests looks much better than when we started to live here 2 years ago. We have started to build a bathing house, but did not know that sand-bag buildings takes soooo much time. So we are still in progress and meanwhile have a "bucket shower" in the tree in the nature (feel free to ask for details). We have also started to build our own tiny homes. So we would appreciate help with building, renovating and improving. We also want to make a new toilet in big old tree as our toilet now is quite scary (both are composting).
    Spring is also a time to plant everything in the garden. Also summer will be busy with growing our food. Second part of summer- harvest and forage (mushrooms and berries from forest).
    Help in cooking is expected as we do it in turns when there are more people (the same as dishes), but on those days when it is your turn you are expected to do nothing else.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Latvian (Lettish): Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The farm is very old and nobody has lived here since 70s. So do not expect much- we have made it prettier from inside but could not call it "renovation" by what you could expect (and yes, the building behind us in the photo is the house we live in). We do not have a running water from tap- there is a well. We do not have flushing toilet- it is composting and outside. We do not have easy shower (hopefully will during the summer)- it is portable shower under the clear sky. We provide bed linen, shampoo and soaps (as we want you to use only eco friendly), towels.
    We are vegans and will have meals together with you. You can go and grab a veggie from the garden at any time.
    We have wi-fi, but could not say that connection is good all the time (it is fine for regular applications and daily use).
    We do not smoke, but do not care if you do. I used to be a smoker so it is fine for me if you smoke outside.
    We do not have pets, but sometimes my dog is around. We have mosquitos (typical for this country) and bugs- they come also inside of the home. We are thinking about adopting a cat to keep mice away. There are a lot of wild animals. If you are lucky- you will see deers, foxes, rabbits, badger, snakes and cats, goats from neighbours home. If you are traveling with a pet- welcome!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    I do not want people to feel like they come here to work. I want them to feel like part of this. Like in community- we share work, we share harvest, we share space and we share happiness. I value any interesting ideas, you can come with your own projects. I have so much space and I want to share it. I prefer artistic, open-minded, kind free spirits, who feels to be on the same wave with me. Flower power!
    In your free time you can hang around here- meadow, forest, pond, lake, slack-line, play music, make art. Walk or bike to the nearest village (they only have 1 shop and cafe). We have a few bicycles that you can borrow. With bicycle or bus you can go on a day trip to closest town Sigulda (it is very famos from all tourism brouchures), it is also located in National Park, where you can see the biggest cave in Latvia and have some great hikes with lot of sightseeing, see one of the oldest medieval castles. There is also short hike quite close with picturesque views. Sea side with very popular beach town is 25 km away from here. We can go there by car or if you are in good physical shape you can go there by bicycle (the road is flat and straight). When there are some interesting events in this region, we can drive there by car.

    And we have decided to have age limit. Sorry! (: So you have to be at least 22 years old (because we are not so young anymore) and it just feels like we could have less in common with people who have just finished highschool. But if you can convience us with your previous experience or story of life or mindset, you are still welcome to send us a request (we have had good and bad experience with young people).

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    work as you feel (max 25 hours)














N° de référence hôte : 827463293385