Besoin d'un coup de main pour divers projets et avec nos adorables chiens à Bentworth, GB



Enregistré comme favori 765 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

  • Description


    We are currently looking for a volunteer or volunteers to come as soon as possible and help us for the month of March.

    We are a married couple who have shared our home and our lives with young people aged 17 to 62, from overseas, for the last 30 years. The property is older and we need help with general maintenance and the development of our kitchen garden which we are constantly redesigning to provide an interesting and artistic space from which to enjoy our rural views and fill our kitchen with fresh herbs and other produce.
    We have a lot of friendly, family dogs who live with us in our house so committed dog - lovers are essential. We are committed to recycling, reducing waste and to trying to use natural products wherever practical. We very much appreciate when our Workawayers cook for the family as we run evening dog training classes several times a week. We have hosted many vegetarians over the years and that is not a problem provided they don't expect expensive "premium" foods. Vegetarians are welcome to prepare their own dishes if our main meal contains foods they do not eat but they must also be willing to prepare meals for non vegetarians.


    We have very good high speed internet.
    We usually spend some evenings each week playing word games such as Bananagrams, other board games or playing Pool and we enjoy far ranging conversations over dinner. Our environment is very busy most of the time and because we are a very busy household with 6 people usually living here and many visitors and volunteers coming and going, enthusiasm and a strong community spirit are essential.
    We often have several people, from different part of the world, living here together so anyone who lives with us must be happy to join our big diverse family and help out as part of a supportive team. Workawayers need to have common sense and not be too needy and we cannot accommodate lazy or precious people.
    We take health and safety very seriously and Workawayers must understand and embrace the safety of our dogs and everyone else on premises.

    Our home is a great place to practise and improve English conversation, Workawayers who will benefit most are those who have a reasonable knowledge of school/college English and wish to improve their usage through conversation.

    Our vegetable garden is just starting up for the year so anyone with a knowledge and passion for organic gardening, permaculture and fruit and vegetable growing, both under glass and outdoors, will be particularly welcome, we shall be very busy as we raise a new season of crops for out kitchen.
    We greatly appreciate the help that our Workwayers offer and pride ourselves on being flexible enough to find the right help for the right person whether it be helping maintain our paintwork, weeding or helping to keep the property clean and tidy.

    Our dogs love to be fussed and we also have puppies who enjoy lots of human contact and cuddles. We have no kennels, all the dogs live with us in the home as part of the family so anyone living in our family must love dogs and enjoy close daily contact with them.

    We appreciate our Workawayers cooking an occasional meal, preferable something typical of their own local or national cuisine.

    We offer a real opportunity to enjoy family life in a tranquil, rural, English village setting, far from the stresses of day to day life.

    Our Workawayers share our home life and leisure activities, eat their meals with us and live in our home so that they are able to appreciate the English lifestyle and culture and practice their language skills throughout the day, every day. Of course, we also respect our Workawayers privacy and their need for time for themselves.

    We have (and hope to again post-Covid) travelled a lot ourselves and greatly value the exchange of culture and learning opportunities that our Workawayers bring to our home.

    Pre Covid/lockdown we have taken our Workawayers on day trips around the local area and up to London, to the Hawk Conservancy, Stonehenge, the Dorset Coast and local towns and cities. We hope in the future to be able to do so again.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are a very busy household with permanent staff as well as Workaways and regular visits from our past helpers who live overseas from Sweden to Australia, our home is a real cultural melting pot.
    We are about 20 minutes by car from Basingstoke which is 45 minutes by fast train from Central London (Waterloo), 20 minutes by car from the ancient city of Winchester and 40 minutes by car from Southampton, we drive to London every few weeks for a day out so can sometimes give a ride to the city. We have enjoyed the live-in company of overseas visitors for over 30 years and many have become life-long friends, we like to share our culture and learn about the culture of others in a family environment with a lot of good humour and discussion.

    Workawayers are welcome to join in our dog training and dog agility classes as, when, and if they wish to do so and will share family life with us and our divers family.

    We have a couple of local pubs within walking distance which our Workawayers sometimes visit and seem to enjoy.

    We enjoy hearing about traveller's lives and experiences and sharing cultural aspects of each others lives. We are keen to help and encourage our overseas friends to learn English. If they wish, our Workawayers are very welcome to prepare short talks in English for us to learn about life in their homelands and to give us an opportunity to help them to polish their English skills.

    We are open to offers from both solo travellers and couples.

  • Aide


    Our fruit and vegetable garden is just still in its infancy but developing fast so anyone with a knowledge and passion for organic gardening, permaculture and fruit and vegetable growing, both under glass and outdoors, will be particularly welcome, we shall be very busy as we raise crops for our kitchen and freezer.

    Some of the projects we would like you to help us with include;

    Keeping the property clean and organised,
    Recycling things that would otherwise go to waste to make interesting and useful artefacts for our home and garden,
    Helping to grow organic fruit and vegetables, outdoors and under-glass, to make our home more self sufficient
    Maintaining our grounds and property
    Helping around the house with ad hoc jobs
    Cuddling puppies (if appropriate)

    If they wish and have sufficient competence, Workawayers are welcome to help walking our pet dogs on the many kilometres of leafy bridal paths and footpaths that wind through the beautiful, hilly countryside that surrounds us.

    What we do is often dictated by the weather so our activities are varied and always interesting.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    Own room (or shared if a couple) in one of our charming chalets beside the house. Chalets are heated, cosy and well equipped with fast internet access, USB ports and plenty of storage, please note that the chalets are quite small so if you are a couple you won't have a lot of extra room. Washing & lavatory facilities are in the house which is 2m away. We eat together as a family each evening and share "family" time together talking, playing cards, word games, pool, snooker or billards. We have high speed internet access, wifi and an "Open Use" iMac computer. Food is provided and cooking is shared so that our workawayers cook for us all usually once a week. We have a good fitness room with various machines for those who want to get super-fit although the area where we live is great for walking, running and cycling. Lots of dogs share the main part of the house so our home is only suitable for true dog lovers. We are very environmentally aware and try to keep a low environmental profile so like minded souls are a particular pleasure.

    WE DO NOT HOST SMOKERS so if you smoke please don't approach us for hosting.

    We are open to offers from both solo travellers and couples.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Local public transport is mediocre but we can sometimes, during daytime hours, drop off and pick up from the nearest large town (Basingstoke) which has a good shopping centre, leisure centres, ice skating, cinemas, go carting, sky diving, bowling, trampolining, dining etc. and fast trains to London (45 minutes). We are in a rural location with an extensive network of footpaths, the area is very popular with on-road and cross country cyclists as well as runners and hikers. Our nearest town is smaller and within easy cycling distance and reasonable walking distance, it offers a more limited range of activities but has a good leisure centre. We are quite close Jane Austin's house at Chawton, Gilbert White's House at Selbourne and the historic Cities of Winchester and Southampton, our local railway station, which is within walking distance, is on the Watercress Line and operates steam locomotives.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We offer a private room, in one of our cosy chalets, with fast internet connection and flexible working to accommodate digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Workawayers with Campervans are welcome to park on the premises and can hook up to our electrical supply.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We love dogs, in fact we have a house full of dogs who, like us welcome friendly, sociable canines as much as we welcome humans. Like our human family, dogs must be respectful of our neighbours and not disturb the peace.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 778196934411