Help at an Artist Retreat in Sidi Ali El Mekki, Tunisia

Country

Tunisie

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 70 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    22.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    89.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 5 jours

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am Soufïa. Interdisciplinary artist. I just opened a retreat residency for artists. Presence, attentive listening are at the core of this space. Being in relationship-to/related-with is at the foundation of the residency's art-life.

    The name of the retreat is "It's The Moment Residency". I had the chance to live in different countries and cultures, practicing engineering, communication then art. Born in Tunisia, I studied in France then lived in Canada these 20 last years. Now I settled in a house between sea and mountain at the North Coast of Tunisia, surrendering to the beauty of who we are in our authentic and deep expression. Honoring the union of the vulnerability and the power within each of us.

    4-5h of maintenance service for the well being of the house are suggested in exchange of the accomodation. There are 3 bedrooms and 2 independant rooms and it can receive 1 to 3 artists at a time.

    I highly recommand a minimum of 3 weeks stay. Experience taught me that a creative breakthrough often happens at the 3rd week. Workawayer do not need practicing profesionnaly art but sensitive to art process and a creative perception of life, as their presence contributes to the soul of the residency.

    The land measures around 5 000 m2. There are wonderful trees. A well. A fertile soil to cultivate vegetables in Autumn and Winter. There are also some young fruit trees: fig and prickly pear in summer, pommegrenate and pear in autumn, lemon in autumn and winter, olive in winter and mulberry in spring. There are wild kitties on the land, frogs, birds and all kind of life.

    The house is at 500 m of the beach. Small shops and a weekly market are in the village at 5-10 min driving from home. It is at 1h driving from Tunis. 1:30 from Carthage. On the northern coast it is close by a historic village called Ghar el Melh / Porto Farina.

    Internet is available through any cell phone plan, which is quite cheap in Tunisia. The network is generally efficient in the area.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Enseignement
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You could benefit from sharings and insights of an experienced artist and human being. You might feel regenerated with a way of living that honor intimate listening within. Living in a rural environment, by the mountain and by the sea is highly resourceful. You might cultivate and enjoy expressing who you are, sharing and receiving other authentic expressions.

    It might be the Moment for you to retreat in nature.

    I myself crossed french, tunisian, canadian cultures. Lived in an engineering environment, institutional, artistic and underground art cultures.

    Set your intention. What would you love to learn in this journey?

    Why are you feeling called to participate in this project?

  • Aide

    Aide

    The help requested is mainly house keeping: cleaning spaces, windows, laundry, dishes, sometimes help for cooking.
    Also an experienced help is needed for gardening, planting, watering the plants, weeding, prune trees, grow vegetables and flowers. This requests a sufficiant experience of the workawayer to be autonomous to take care of the garden and the trees.
    Other help might arises as painting, small repairs, DIY installations.

    The space is big and might be an auspicious retreat for a creator workawayer who needs a quiet environment in nature to take also care of their creative practice and life within.

    A weekly concious communication circle is opened between residents to share what needs to be expressed.

    The most important for me is to gather a small community with a grounded presence in a day to day living.

    If you feel called, I'll be happy to meet you first online.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Arabe: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Italien: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Two Independant Studios, 12 m2 each with bathroom and shower. The studio is at the Ground level of the house, Facing geraniums, a veranda, the garden with trees. All is freshly renovated spring-summer 2021. Food is cooked at the shared kitchen a few stairs up in the main house. There is also a small outside kitchen with basic fridge and gaz.

    We might share cooking sometimes and take care of our own cooking other times. Just feeling the need of the moment.

    The house is non smoking and without TV. I quit smoking and drinking 15 years ago. I cook gluten free and diary free for myself for health issue. Know that gluten free industrial stuff are still rare and expansive in Tunisia. Cooked food is mainly vegetarian with sometimes fish and local vegetables and fruits.

    I have an early morning routine : Meditation. Morning writings. Physical exercice that begins the day. If this inspires you we might share the space routine.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    What is available to be explored by your own and how to get there:

    There is a bike to go to the village Ghar el Melh with cafés, old walls of anciant forts, a port and some small groceries.

    The beach is at a walking distance. The mountain behind can be explored. The area is known for its grottes that were the shelters for holy men in the last centuries. They are still sacred places visited by locals. Sidi Ali el Mekki is one of them. (It is also the name of the beach and the area where is the house).

    Fresh fish might be available at a biking distance, around 10min.

    There is also at the other side of the mountain Raf Raf Forest. Known for its pine trees. And it’s amazing view on the top. Count half a day or a day for hiking there.

    The biggest village nearby is at 30 minutes driving. Ras Jebel. A taxi can be called (40 dinars the round trip). In Ras Jbel, there is a big market and all kind of groceries.

    The capital Tunis is at 1h driving and it can be reached by collective taxi called Louage. Very cheap. Round trip around 15-20 dinars.

    The country is in my own experience safe even for women.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 746468129891