Apprenez le français ou l'anglais à nos enfants et profitez de Barcelone, Tarragone et des superbes plages alentour.

Country

Espagne

Enregistré comme favori 966 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    49  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    26.09.2019

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    91.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact S'inscrire
  2019 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Please, read all the info and check the calendar before applying for any position! This way, you and us will save time and energy! Thanks in advance and happy travels!

    We are looking for different positions because there are different possibilities of helping us, as we are remodelling our home, We are looking for travellers that can do the tasks listed below without guidance, as for most of them we won't be able to help you that much.

    We would swap 2 hours of honest help a day for a first class accommodation (no meals) in a sunny studio in Vilanova i la Geltrú with your own kitchenette, bathroom and terrace, in a pedestrian street and close to everywhere! Barcelona's city centre is at just 45 minutes by a cheap train and the station is at 4 minutes walking from our home.

    Vicent (teaches German) and Imma (works with teenagers) are the parents of Marçal (19 years old, at present studying Physics in Mallorca) and Arnau (17 years old smiley boy fond of ski and computers). Although Vicent and I divorced, we keep a good relationship, so workawayers might expect to help at home or at Vicent's home.

    We all love travelling and enjoy hosting travellers at home. We travel swapping homes, as we like living as locals, and we are fond of languages. We are open minded people that like enrolling in open air activities: going to the beach, hiking, skiing, reading and learning new skills. Both our sons are also interested in computers and robotics.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Construction
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Vilanova is a safe and lively place, half way and quite close to Barcelona and Tarragona, two UNESCO world's heritage cities. We are also just next to Sitges, a picturesque Mediterranean town. The theme park of Port Aventura () is also nearby.

    From our home you can visit, in daily trips, most of what our region has to offer: from the Pyrenees mountains to the Ebro river's delta, old ancient monasteries, such as Montserrat, Poblet or Santes Creus, medieval cities like Montblanc, the beautiful Costa Brava, the wine caves in Sant Sadurní d'Anoia, the roman city of Tarragona..., just to talk about a few places we are sure you will love. If interested, we can provide you with information about what to see and to do and can help you plan your stay according to your interests.

    Depending on when you join us, you will be able to take part in popular feasts, see human towers (castells) or do water sports.

    For the beach lovers: our home is just at 7 minutes walk from a large beach and the weather here is sunny all year long and never really cold (even in the coldest days of winter, never under 10ºC during the day or 5ºC on the coldest nights, and the sea water in winter is around 15ºC).

    If you like hiking, there is a lovely walking path by the sea and along the cliffs that links Vilanova and Sitges .

    On the other hand, if languages are important for you, take into account that we won't teach you Spanish, We will speak English/French with our sons when we host you at home (we always speak Catalan at home, so it's just too weird for us to speak in Spanish to each other. As we have hosted many English people, we find it easy to speak with our sons and hosts in English or in French, rather than doing it in Spanish).

  • Aide

    Aide

    We need help to do repairs around the house and/or to clean up. Please be honest, as we won't be able to teach you! But it's obvious that you do not need to cover all the skills for the tasks mentioned below. Tell us what could you do for us and let's see if we can be a good match!

    Plastering and painting : At present we need sanding and painting some ancient windows, doors and walls. Please, do not apply if you don't have experience in doing it. Our home has ancient walls and woods, so it's a bit tricky!

    Plumbing: We need help draining radiators, cleaning them by the inside and maybe replacing one of them or some draining pieces, to prepare our central heating system for next winter. (This must be done in September)

    Carpentry: We need to add lockers to some doors in a flat we own in Barcelona, so that we can rent bedrooms instead of the whole flat. We also need repairing the lockers on our aluminium shutters at home.

    Electrical Repairs : We need repairing a freezer, and adding a new socket in a bedroom. If you know how to install a "delesteur automatique" (I do not know how do you call it in English), it would be great, as we need to cut off in power expenses. We also have an old video-DVD that we would like to bring back to life if possible. And need to install ceiling fans in a couple of bedrooms.

    Bricklayer: We look for someone able to work with mortar, in order to repair the fence of our patio.

    Help around the house: You could also be helpful if you can help us with sewing and cleaning up. If you speak Spanish, we could also host someone willing to help us creating adds on wallapop to sell some of our clothes, books and toys through this app, as the boys need getting rid of things that they don't use any more, and making some money would be useful for their holidays.

    We need you to be a person with a good work's ethic, easy-going and NON SMOKER. We get on well with smiling, open-minded and honest people.

    IMPORTANT: when applying TELL US what YOUR SKILLS are, the approximate DATES of your stay and HOW LONG would you like staying with us. If you are not really skilled to do any of the tasks we need help with, please do not contact us. We know that hotels are expensive, but we really need skilled helpers, as we cannot do it ourselves. This is why we won't be able to host you if you are not. So, please, don't waist you time contacting us and don't force me to have to reject you application, it always makes me sad!

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    English, Frech, Catalan, Spanish, Italian, German

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    In Vilanova i la Geltrú we offer you kind of a studio in the second floor of our home: it's a sunny double bedroom with your own inside bathroom, terrace and kitchenette with a 2 hobs vitro ceramic kitchen and a fridge. There is also free high speed wifi. Ours is a 1900's ancient house in a pedestrian area. In fact we are in a leafy street, right in the centre of our city, Vilanova i la Geltrú, in an area full of shops and cafes, but still very quiet at night. From our home, you have everything (shops, market, library, cinema, beach, train station....) at less than 10 minutes on foot.

    In case it's important for you, please, take into account that the wifi is only switched on until around 22 hours, as we switch it off at night. We can make an exception now and then, but not on a regular basis.

    You will have plenty of time for you to go around and, if you wish, you can work 4 hours one day and have next day free. But you will have to buy and cook your own food. Anyway, there's a kitchenette in your bedroom, a supermarket next door and a market really close by! We are very respectful with the working amount of time and let you arrange your timetable, so that you can get the most of your stay in our home.

    On the other hand, do not forget that, at present, we can only offer you accommodation, but no meals, in exchange for 2 hours of help a day (so 14h per week). Please, note that, if you are 2 people, you will share a 140x200cm bed and will have to help 2h/day each, unless one of you works 4h/day. The same applies for parents and kids.

    Trains are frequent, very cheap (2,8€ to Barcelona with a 10 one way travel bonotren ticket) and comfortable, and we live close to the railway station, so you can go around by public transportation. There are also buses that brings yo to many places, including the airport and Barcelona.

    Closest airports: Barcelona's airport and Reus airport. Many low cost companies land on them, such as Ryannair, Easyjet, Vueling, Air Berlin, etc. The train connects the airport with our home: nearest train station: Vilanova i la Geltrú.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Maybe it's obvious to say it, but we are a family, not a hotel, so we are sure that you will act as you would do at home (so you will clean up after yourself, let your bedroom in perfect conditions the day of your departure, switch off lights and/or fan when not in the studio, etc).

    We enjoy having a coffee cup with our guests and are willing to answer to your questions about living in our country, but just don't have time to show them round Barcelona and/or provide entertainment. This is why we tend to get on better with couples or self sufficient singles. We can host individuals, couples and families with their son/daughter (we could add a kid's mattress in the studio if needed), but NOT THREE ADULTS. You will have your own privacy and we expect to have ours, too.

    On the other hand, if you just want to have a vacation or a place for a stop over, we can also consider renting you the bedroom. But we would of course prefer someone willing to exchange his/her skills for a place you can consider your home!

    We wish you safe, inspiring and happy travels... and a wonderful experience in Catalonia! :-)

    And thanks for reading!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 14 hours per week - food not provided

Comfortable double bedroom in the studio in Vilanova i la Geltrú.
the sunny terrace of the studio facing the inner patios.
We have recently painted the studio walls in a blue and beige colour, so they are not green any more :-)
The coast on your way from Sitges to Vilanova, a lovely hicking trail by the Mediterranean sea!
Big shower in your bathroom.
La Pedrera, one of Gaudi's famous buildings in Barcelona! you are there in 40 minutes from home by a cheap train!
Sitges, a white Mediterranean town with many Art Nouveau villas. It is also a gay friendly place and the town has a beautiful, long board walking from Vilanova to Sitges, you can go walking along the coast!!
We are a family of 4: Vicent and Imma and two sons: Arnau and Marçal.
Lovely spots nearby: Sitges, Barcelona, Tarragona, Montserrat, Poblet, Vic, Torredembarra, Port Aventura, Delta de l'Ebre, .... you can go everywhere by train or bus.
Vilanova i la Geltru from the air!
Vilanova's beaches and the studio we offer you

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




























N° de référence hôte : 687653292599