Ecofriendly and International community starting up in the hills of Romania in Hunendoara.

Country

Roumanie

Enregistré comme favori 992 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    44  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    15.10.2019

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact S'inscrire
  2019 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    As a traveler and world citizen I love to meet and host other broadminded and adventurous people. I offer accommodation, good food and company and I appreciate all help given. I live a mainly vegetarian and eco-friendly lifestyle keeping the balance between idealistic and realistic, theory and practice as much as I can. I am not into smoking and drinking alcohol at all, I eat and drink for good health. I am not a fanatic freak but a hard working and life enjoying human with a warm heart for all life on earth.
    Since a bit more than 2 years I live in this little valley, my neighbors are my son David and his girlfriend Iris, my grandson Felix and some travelers that are settling or passing by, in spring and especially in summertime some nice volunteers join us and live with us for a while. David & Iris' land was given the name of ' Gradina Edenului' by the former inhabitants wich means 'Garden of Eden' in Rumanian. I think everyone wants to live in a peaceful and harmonious heaven (home) and wants to be part of an community where everyone is friends. Together with volunteers and friends that come and go, or stay, we are restoring and bringing new life in this beautiful and somewhat remote valley. It is nice and quiet, nature shows a tremendous biodiversity and gives abundantly. There is a nice variety of land: flatland, forest, hills, since short a small lake and a small river that runs occasionally. The community that used to live here some 40 years ago was called 'Bratea', we made some signs with that name to show the way uphill coming from the village of Balşa in the district of Hunendoara.

    The land and buildings on my part have been neglected for quite some time, the barns are ruined but the main house is worth restoring and building out. Next to that with your help we'll build a ('Tarzan & Jane' -) tree-villa, we'll set up a big Teepee and we'll build a glass house or two, maybe some underground house somewhere in the hills. Also we plan to rebuild an authentic wooden house from the district of Maramures (north Romania) on a hill nearby and we might find time to fix some gates and plant some trees on the way.
    I am inspired by the principles of 'earthships' and the use of recycled and natural materials. The main house is now re-connected to the electricity-grid and has limited Wifi, all the other buildings will be more or less 'off grid'. Electricity will come from solar panels to be stored in car batteries. In summer we'll set up some tents for who wants to sleep in the wild. Washing is done next to the lake or with water from the wells we have around. I call the circumstances 'off grid' which means, technically no triple A comfort except in your bed, improvising and surviving in the wild. We cook on wood fires or in an electric oven, we recycle our food in a 'compost' toilet. Very good drinking water comes from a well 100 meters below the main house. One of the things we will work on is making these facilities better. In spring we start working on the veggie gardens. If you are motivated to take the challenge I guarantee that you will get used to the circumstances and that you will enjoy the energy and freedom that will be released from within.

    We'll have an organic way of working and a structured way of spending the day . This means no fixed working times, things have to be done when needed and only with pleasure. Sometimes there is lots of things to do and some times it will be time for resting partying and chilling. this will depend on weather conditions and the amount of energy in the group. In principle we'll get up fairly early to start with an hour of silence meditation, from 08.00 to 09.00, for who wants to join. After breakfast everyone will do what he or she thinks is the best contribution to the whole including oneself. In the afternoon we can again have an hour of silence meditation between 2.30 and 3.30, after that a good lunch and some more work. In the evening another hour of meditation between 8.00 and 9.00pm after wich no big meal but a snack and drink for who needs and the possibility to watch a documentary on good stuff, a movie or some explanation going with the meditation. Within this structure everyone is completely free to join or not although it is essential and highly appreciated if you are part of the team.

    We'll get most of our food from our land to eat raw or prepared. Every Saturday morning we'll go down to the town of Orastie to buy what is really needed on the local market, shops and supermarkets.

    Last spring, thanks to some great volunteers, a beautiful vegetable garden was created and we got some chickens to enliven it and lay an egg every now and then. In the house a chimney was build and a big stove was placed to survive King Winter, for this we regularly need to collect and store lots of dry wood. Next to that we'll work on controlling the water flows in the land. The main flows will have to be directed to the new lake in order to fill it to the max. Hopefully we'll be able to swim when the weather is hot.
    These jobs next to maintaining the garden in good condition, collecting food, cooking, cleaning the house, getting drinking water, baking bread, doing the dishes, maintaining what works and making things nicer will be there to keep us busy and to feed the good spirit of being connected.

    Further in the future we: -develop permaculture gardens and fruit forests; -make a big kitchen; -rebuild and restore authentic Romanian houses, tiny houses; gipsy wagons, tree houses and other ecologically ok houses for guests and volunteers; organize festivals and workshops;
    All of this will take years as we work from scratch with our hands, our knowledge, our experience, our love, our budget and our friends and volunteering friends to be. We have tools and materials and if needed we go out to work elsewhere to earn money and to collect useful stuff.

    We offer all this to join in and to be part of. We offer a place to sleep, good company, good food, camp fires,
    sometimes with live music, day trips, beautiful hikes, sunday feasts and good weather all the time, even when it rains, and, not to forget, gratitude, love and friendship.

    We ask for a minimum stay of 1 month because we want to do some serious developing together, we ask commitment, individuality, proactivity, motivation and willingness to contribute. If you look for a place to stay longer or to settle down push the button now and send your message straight away.

    We will have space and things to do for about 8 or more volunteers in the summer, and 1 in the wintertime, depending on the weather and the amount of sleeping places (house, tents, teepee). All ages and cultures are welcome and we prefer skilled people and musicians (bring your instrument) but most important is commitment and a smile. We seriously ask for strong motivation, willingness to work, open communication and independent responsable behaviour, men and women.

    If any questions or wishes, let me know
    Looking forward to welcome you and work with you,

    Mike and company

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Cuisine / courses
    Aide à la ferme
    Autres
    Eco-volontariat
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux
    Projet artistique
    Aide informatique / Internet
    Enseignement

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will have a very good time and unforgettable experiences.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We'll take good care of you. We'll discuss what kind of tasks you like to do. We'll give you the time you want to discover the environment and the country. We'll help you to get the experience that you are looking for. We'll see that you have a good time being part of the team.

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    English, Dutch, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, Rumanian, .. language of Love and of Silence.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You'll get a sleeping place for your self, in a tent or in the house.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We will do whatever we can to give you a good time and to fulfill your wishes. Hikings, bike rides, dinners together, campfires, cooling down in the river, ...live music, ..go to the swimming pool nearby, .. visit sites,

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    about 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

campfire
Wintertime
games
nice hikes
volunteers transportation
bench making
Preparing the veggie garden
teaming up for the job. Lots to do & learn.
Rainbow house
view from the hill
Join us and enjoy


























N° de référence hôte : 677317723941